We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from Home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Marri House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pemberton, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
noblips
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

After a few nights at Marri House we didn't want to leave!
The house is aesthetically gorgeous, with modern furnishings, well-laid out living spaces both indoor and outdoor, excellently-equiped kitchen, and a native garden beyond the veranda. Stylish and so comfortable, with a peaceful corner to be found for for each guest.

The location is perfect, with forest in all directions, and the Gloucester Tree a short walk away. Kathy and Don are generous and wonderful hosts, friendly and helpful in every way. Our every need was met, and they had terrific recommendations for sightseeing in this beautiful region.

Hope to return again soon!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_jAmster...
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with a group and felt so spoilt the whole time. Wonderful hosts and wonderful accommodation. Hopefully we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llwarren2...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Magnificent getaway in the trees”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We recently spent two wonderful nights at Marri House in Pemberton. The house was modern and clean, comfortably accommodating our large group. Marri House has a well-equipped kitchen and an excellent outdoor dining and bbq area - we were delighted to make use of it. Loved the oversized outdoor hammock - best spot in the house to relax, except for maybe in front of the fireplace. And what a treat to enjoy fresh eggs each morning from their gorgeous chooks.

We loved our trip to the Gloucester Tree and exploring other surrounding gems; the waterfall, national park, organic winery/ciderhouse, galleries and boutique cafes with delicious house-smoked comestibles.

Kath and Don were thoughtful and generous hosts. We loved our time at Marri House and only wish we could have stayed longer! An idyllic, peaceful retreat.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrie D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A colourful & delicious fruit platter of enormous proportion, the fire set & ready for the match to be struck, fridge stocked with home grown eggs, local milk & wine not to mention tea & coffee supplies, everything you could possibly wish for on arrival. Oh & I shouldn't forget such splendid inclusions as game boards & colouring items for the children as well as wireless internet & Foxtel TV. Together with a spotlessly clean home, comfortable beds, great bathrooms, nothing was lacking. We were truly overwhelmed by the attention to detail & the wonderful hospitality of our hosts Kathy & Don.This is quintessential Australian country hospitality at it's finest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to stay in a wonderful home with all the family.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgrope...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second time back. Had almost forgotten how good this place is!”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Arrived and was struck again by how clean, tidy and well setup the house is. Stumbled across the complimentary fruit bowl which had some of the most amazing stone fruits I have tasted. The fire was set ready to go, and the fridge was stocked with fresh eggs from the chickens and some milk ready for breakfast. Super comfortable beds and luxurious linen made for a very comfortable stay. Seems the region is really embracing its foodie culture with some great local produce.
Great house, great location. Will be back again for sure. Thanks again Kathy and Don.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2015
Thanks, Blaise - we look forward to seeing you back again soon & hope to have some fresh new seasonal produce from the garden for you!
Kind regards,
Kathy & Don
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandview...
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“WOW! We were blown away!”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From my first inquiry Kathy has been prompt, warm and welcoming with her responses.

We were arriving late on a cold afternoon. Kathy kindly provided us with detailed instructions on how to navigate to Marri House, let ourselves in and light the fire that only required a lit match to get it going because she wasn't going to be back until after our anticipated arrival.

We also had a flock of Kookaburra's greet us in her absence - 6 in total. How impressive!

Marri House is stunning. We had planned to do a number of walks during our 3 night stay but only managed 2. We loved hanging out at Marri House. So relaxing and peaceful.

Nothing has been overlooked and I mean NOTHING. Everything you could want for is there which makes self catering delightful.

90% of our holiday accommodation is always in self-catering properties and we have never come across anything like Marri House in our travels here in Australia or overseas.

Congratulations Don and Kathy for creating a very special place for visitors to enjoy. A home away from home in fact.

We will certainly be telling all our friends and will certainly not hesitate in staying at Marri House should we be visiting the area in the future.

We were so sad that we only had 3 nights here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful & relaxing ambience; how beautifully furnished, equipped and welcoming Marri House is.
Liked least: If I had to be picky - no window furnishings on the windows/door from kitchen to outdoor area.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgewas...
1 review
“Awesome accommodation, home away from home.”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Kathy is amazing!! Goes above and beyond!! Beautiful house, beautiful service. Will make your stay well and truly worth the value. Can't wait for next year x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2015
What a lovely comment - thank you. It is our pleasure to look after all of our wonderful guests. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing