We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best romantic getaway”
Review of Big Brook Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Brook Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide
1 review
“Best romantic getaway”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The cottages are beautifully presented and the owners have paid attention to every detail, right down to Natio products in the bathroom, coffee machines with pods, sheridan sheets and towels. Everything is spotless.

The cottages are surrounded by flowers, birdlife (blue wrens danced across the verandah) and sweeping grounds. it is quiet and private.

There is a lovely veggie patch nearby which is available to the guests.

Nearby is a lovely walk to the Big Brook Dam and lovely Pemberton. And of course, giant Karri, Marri and Jarrah (Barri) trees to wonder at. This is god's country.

The owners are delightful and very friendly and we highly recommend this location for couples and that much needed re-charge and re-connection with your loved one.

FIVE stars.

SQ

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Big Brook Cottages for two nights in October 2013. It was our second stay in three years and we will definitely come back to the area and stay in the cottages again soon.
Great location, beautifully decorated, superbly appointed, spotless, quiet, close to town but not too close, really luxurious accommmodation without the high price tag.
The area is lovely at any time of the year and Pemberton has everything you need for a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSCVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the wonderful Big Brook cottages for 2 nights, and could have stayed an eternity. The setting is incredible, and matched entirely by the service and comfort provided by the cabins and their owners. The cottages are just lovely, perfectly appointed, warm and inviting. Wonderful to wake in the morning to the call of birds, and to enjoy a quiet cuppa while surveying the tranquil scene just outside your window. If the cabins weren't enough to guarantee a return, Fred and Sarah went well beyond the call of duty to ensure our needs were more than catered for. Can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

A beautiful stay with nothing a miss. Every expectation met and more. Wanting to return to this beautiful hideaway. So clean and inviting a great escape for couples needing to rejuvenate. Well appointed kitchen, pod coffee machine and milk meant we didn't need to go out to get our daily fix. The grounds are simply stunning, such a variety of plants and so well maintained. The bird bathout outside the lounge/dinning window was a great source of entertainment with a fabulous array of bird species. Will be letting ally friends and family know about this little slice of tranquility.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPassfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It’s no exaggeration to call The Big Brook Cottages truly superb and Pemberton is absolutely world class. Don’t waste your time going anywhere else.

We stayed for four nights over the Queen’s Birthday long weekend (WA), arriving in the early evening after getting a bit lost, so make sure you take a copy of the directions (der!).

Spring had been outmuscled by the tardy winter so we made good use of the Kent fire, the Nespresso machine and local red wine. The spa helped soothe sore bush walking and Gloucester Tree climbing muscles!

We loved the flexibility and choice of the ‘self-catering’ aspect of the cottages. The local IGA supermarket is well stocked and with the road-side stalls of local growers we found fresh eggs, fruit and vegetables to feast on. Amongst the usual offerings the cottage was thoughtfully supplied with such things that are easy to forget such as salt & pepper, foil and plastic wrap. And, everything was scrupulously clean and new looking.

The large French doors framed the view perfectly. It’s an extravagant view: in the not-so-distant background the fabulous daunting Karri forest looms large while in the foreground the cleverly planted gardens provide both habitat and playground for an exquisite array of birdlife such as the Splendid Fairy Wren.

When I first arrived I thought the cottages would be too close together but this proved to be wrong. Apparently there was “no vacancies” but I could have sworn we were the only ones there! No doubt clever building and garden design plus the ‘adults only’ policy all contributed to a secluded private retreat.

The cottages are very well located: you can be as far or as close as you want and you will experience something lovely. The town is just minutes away by car with friendly tourist advice, a supermarket, bakery, cafes etc. The Big Brook Dam is a great walk through the forest and parts of the Bibbulman Track are very close. The Karri Forrest Explorer Drive is well worth while.

Serioudly, let the maddening crowd go to Margaret River and Bali. This is the bee’s knees!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle_6532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a truly beautiful place. We stayed for a week & didn't want to come home. The cottage was beautifully appointed, wanting for nothing & the display of birds was breath taking. The surrounding gardens were almost in full flower for spring & was a play ground for so much bird life. Was hard to pull ourselves away from the window's. Will definitely be back again. Thank you Fred & Sarah for a really lovely time. Your place is a little treasure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenton12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

perfect, amazing gardens and scenery. Cottage was big, spacious, and luxurious. top quality with lots of special touches (fire ready to be lit, nespresso machines and free pods, milk provided etc). Absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isobellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
7.2 mi away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
485 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Forest Lodge Resort
The Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
178 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Pemberton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Rainbow Trail Chalets
#3 of 27 in Pemberton
93 reviews
12.9 mi away
Scarlet Woods Chalets
Scarlet Woods Chalets
#5 of 27 in Pemberton
93 reviews
10.4 mi away
Diamond Forest Farm Stay
Diamond Forest Farm Stay
#1 of 27 in Pemberton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Brook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Brook Cottages

Property: Big Brook Cottages
Address: 489 Stirling Rd, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Brook Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and romantic accommodation. Experience the comfort and style of these rammed limestone and timber chalets, only 6kms from Pemberton. With views over Big Brook Forest, these chalets are beautifully decorated and appointed. You will love their light and airy atmosphere. Features include covered Alfresco barbeque areas, log fire, TV, DVD, electric blankets & fully equipped kitchen. They are available in 1 brm with spa, or 2 brm without spa. Enjoy the nearby walk trails and Bibbulman track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Big Brook Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing