We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“K.V.R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karri Valley Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemberton
busselton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“K.V.R”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed at Karri Valley one or twice a year for a few years now and always have an enjoyable stay. Working at a resort myself I know of a few things they could fine tune to make it an even better stay,the analog T.V and $20 Dvd player are nothing short of a bad joke,a smallish flat screen/Dvd combo should be the minimum standard for all rooms. The Bbqs need an upgrade to at least a push button (larger) model,I've seen people switch the gas bottle on then mess about looking for matches,quite dangerous.
The lake itself should be stocked more often,I realise the standard answer is the Trout are either spawning or following the cold water but the reality is the lake is now rarely stocked since they have abandoned their own hatchery. They should introduce Redfin in to the lake to have a catch and release fish that should be prolific all year round.
The area around the mini golf where the old hatchery and a long abandoned kiosk is really needs a clean up to attract people down there and look a little more professional. Apart from that Karri Valley has to one of the most beautiful resorts in W.A and I would recommend it to anyone.
We ate once in the restaurant and found the meal o.k ,the view at night is stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJohnss8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review and the constructive feedback you have provided.

We are over the coming months looking at replacing a number of our televisions, however this process may take some time to complete and hope to have new units in all our rooms in the very near future. Your comments relating to the BBQs have also been taken on board and agree that safety is paramount and this issue will be reviewed with our maintenance department to see what modifications should be made to these facilities.

The feedback relating to our Trout levels in the lake is certainly understandable. We do try to add stock when ever possible, however this will on occasions depend on availability through local suppliers. The old Trout Farm and surrounding decommissioned buildings located at the Mini Golf area are certainly a challenge and agree that they are due for another clean up which we hope to schedule shortly.

Thank you again for your positive and constructive feedback and hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    180
    98
    41
    32
See reviews for
149
232
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Prior to booking at the Karri Valley Resort I read the reviews on this site and my initial thought was "Do I or Don't I"? A number of the reviews discussed poor service, poor food and room issues. I am glad that I put them to one side and experience Karri Valley and decide for myself. My conclusion !! Very Very Satisfied. Yes I can see why some of the comments may have been put, but over all, my experience was first class. How did I come to this view? I looked past the trivia and took in the reason why we went to Karri Valley, and that was to enjoy our Southern Forrest. I have no issue with the staff and their service they were all pleasant and obliging. We took the Continental Breakfast option included in our tarrif and found it ample and satisfactory. My experience tells me buffets only really work in high volume establishments where there is a high turn over in consumption so as stated the CB was sufficient for our needs. Our room was clean and comfortable the only questions being the dinky CRT Telly from the 90's has no place in 2013 and the room lay out was dated. All this paled into insignificance once we took to the walking trails. The forest is spectacular and that in it self was reason enough.

We will return to KVR and hope the tellies have been updated for the footy fanatics and to take in once again our southern forest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments after your recent visit.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was overall an enjoyable one and that you were able to take advantage of our facilities here at Karri Valley Resort. The surrounding forest and walk trails as you mentioned, are truly spectacular and it’s great to hear that they were a highlight of your stay.

Your feedback regarding our televisions is certainly noted, however we are scheduling to replace these over the next few months, which will hopefully assist in enhancing our guests stay.

Please be assured that your complimentary comments relating to the service and overall experience here will be passed onto the team.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The environment is so peaceful. We stayed in the chalet facing the lake and it was awesome. The food at the restaurant is very good and the service is excellent. Too bad we only stay in one night, it wasn't long enough. For sure I will stay there again at least 2 nights, to enjoy all the activities in the resort. At last, the reason of truly retreat in Karri Valley Resort is: NO signal of mobile, so no email, no facebook, no youtube, no internet at all. Even TV, only have channel 7 & channel 10. So what to do? Reading, chatting with family, playing card, a real time with your family or friends. This is what nowadays people need to keep away from all these "connection" in order to get a complete rest.
Only one complaint is the carpet is a bit dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nangism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you loved your stay and enjoyed the restaurant meals. It is a treat to be free of internet and mobile phone connection and reconnect with each other. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed there for two nights for our anniversary weekend, bad decision! Although it looks nice and romantic on the advertisement, the place was nothing like it. We had continental breakfast included in our room so we paid $10/person for upgrade to the full buffet breakfast and it was disgusting. Bacon was cold, eggs were over seasoned, wouldn't even pay $2 if we knew how bad it was. We tried to get a table for dinner as the resort is far away from everything else but were told they were fully booked. We were told to either order from the in house dining menu or eat out to Pemberton. If we wanted to eat in Pemberton, we would have stayed there instead of driving further to Karri Valley. At his point, we had started drinking so we couldn't drive, we were quiet annoyed and hungry so we decided to order from the in house dining menu. Guess what..we were told to go pick it up from the restaurant when the meals are ready! And the meals was once again terrible!
Would not recommend this place to anyone, except for families with children. Make sure you bring plenty of food though because getting a table for dinner there seems impossible even though you're in house guests. And don't expect to get any kind of service because the staff could not care less!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aROSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and of course we are very disappointed that your stay did not meet with your expectations.

Your comments relating to our buffet breakfast will be addressed with our Head Chef so that the shortcomings you have highlighted are rectified and we are able to prevent a further recurrence.

Unfortunately during weekends our restaurant does become fully booked very quickly and we regret that you were not able to dine on this occasion. The in-room dining menu is an alternative option for our guests and is offered when we are unable to take any more bookings in the restaurant, however due to the nature of the resort we do not provide room service. Your feedback regarding the disappointing in-house meal will also be share with our head chef.

Thank you again for the review and for allowing us the opportunity to follow up and address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pemberton hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here a few times in the last 6 years. The food at the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. Staff very helpful and friendly.
The location is perfect and the surroundings are magnificent. The rooms however are very basic. The carpet is very dirty and needs to be cleaned. The shower is also dirty and stained. Bed linen and sheets also dirty with stains. TVs are prehistoric with no reception. Would be better off with no TV. Rooms are very old and have not been renovated for a long time. Very hard to get a good nights sleep as you can hear snoring and any other noises from other rooms. All in all very disappointing this time around. Not worth the price we paid!
Would not stay again unless the place undergoes serious renovations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter as you do not hear footsteps and movements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knindza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for the review. Our carpets are stained from the winter mud and are undergoing a thorough steam clean shortly. The sheets and other issues have been followed up with our linen laundry. We are pleased that the service was greqat as we try to ensure all guests have a good experience at Karri Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have been staying at Karri Valley Resort every year for about 6 years. We go with another family and always enjoy these holidays immensely. Loads of activities for the kids and the whole family. Our kids love the archery, table tennis hut and the kayaks. We love the walk up to Beedleup waterfall. Great to get the family away from the internet and mobile phones. Wonderful forrest location with balconeys frequently visited by kookaburras and parrots. Wood fired pot belly gives great warmth on cold winter nights. Cooking facilities basic but adequate. Staff friendly and helpful, a mix of down to earth Aussies and European travellers. Our dinner in the restaurant was delectable this year. The kids love the buffet breakfast (kids 12 and under eat free with their parents). Shared with another family the cost is very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one.

The forest and surrounding areas are certainly lush and green, particularly at this time of the year and it’s great that the children were able to partake in a number of the activities that we have available on the resort. I am also pleased that you enjoyed dining in our Lakeside restaurant and were able to take advantage of the “Kids Eat Free” promotion which we currently have on offer. Your complimentary comments will most certainly be passed onto the kitchen team.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed first time in 2003 and then again in 2004, we fell in love with the place, views and staff. The food was unforgettable...in an awesome way. 10 years on and its gone to pieces. Our room was neat but the carpets were yuck. One of our bedside lamps tripped a fuse and they told us just to reset it!! Is that not what we paid $290 for the night for?? Sent a email to the Resort Manager and still haven't got a reply!
Stay somewhere else people!!! We are NEVER going back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dieselndust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the review dieselndust. We are sorry that we did not live up to your past experience and we will address the issues you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
10.9 mi away
The Forest Lodge Resort
The Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
176 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Pemberton Hotel
10.3 mi away
Karri Forest Motel
Karri Forest Motel
#4 of 6 in Pemberton
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Karri Valley Chalets
Karri Valley Chalets
#19 of 27 in Pemberton
48 reviews
7.2 mi away
Big Brook Cottages
Big Brook Cottages
#2 of 27 in Pemberton
109 reviews
20.1 mi away
Scarlet Woods Chalets
Scarlet Woods Chalets
#4 of 27 in Pemberton
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karri Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karri Valley Resort

Property: Karri Valley Resort
Address: Vasse Highway, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karri Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karri Valley Resort is a 3.5 star family resort in a beautiful, natural forest setting. Choose from a self contained 2 or 3 bedroom rustic chalet or a hotel style room on the edge of the Lake. The setting is spectacular, amongst towering karri trees bordering trout filled Lake Beedelup. Kookaburras, kangaroos, emus – truly an Australian getaway. Activities and facilities include: Canoeing, trout fishing, mini golf, archery, tennis, feeding the farm animals, bush walks, restaurant, basic general store and bottle shop.We are situated in an area where we have no mobile phone or internet coverage, so you can really escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karri Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karri Valley Hotel Pemberton
Karri Valley Pemberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing