We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location.....but lacking......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karri Valley Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemberton
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed first time in 2003 and then again in 2004, we fell in love with the place, views and staff. The food was unforgettable...in an awesome way. 10 years on and its gone to pieces. Our room was neat but the carpets were yuck. One of our bedside lamps tripped a fuse and they told us just to reset it!! Is that not what we paid $290 for the night for?? Sent a email to the Resort Manager and still haven't got a reply!
Stay somewhere else people!!! We are NEVER going back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dieselndust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for the review dieselndust. We are sorry that we did not live up to your past experience and we will address the issues you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 499 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here in the Jan 2013. While the location is stunning the resort is shabby, grungy and in desperate need of an update. The rooms were ok but the carpets looked filthy. The food in the restaurant was mediocre and at breakfast the plates and cups were dirty. Someone needs to buy this place and refurbish the lot. Sadly like many places in WA we have these stunning locations with very average facilities. It doesn't have to be 5 star but 'family' accommodation can be so much better. There is so much potential here. When your outside it's wonderful but when you go inside that sense is abruptly left at the door. We certainly would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owley05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. The property is under constant maintenance to ensure all the features that keep us at 3.5 star standard are maintained. Whilst our property is over 30 years old, it is kept clean and comfortable, with everything in good working order. The location is spectacular as you say and is the reason why guests stay here and return over and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just spend a couple of nights in the 3 bedroom chalet.
The location is fantastic as it is tucked away in the Karri Forest which gives you plenty of tranquility and privacy. However, it lacks of the basics.

It has NO:
-mobile signals
-Internet access
-TV reception

So if you intend to stay there, make sure you have your own entertainment.

Overall, the chalets are nice but cleanliness is a concern. The carpet seems stained and dirty.
It would be a perfect place to stay if there is internet and TV reception.

We had the locals (Kookaburras and Parrots) visiting us on our balcony wanting to be fed so that was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agape10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your review Jakobee. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have no mobile or internet reception at Karri Valley or TV reception in the chalets, we are sorry you were not aware before your arrival and will follow up your booking channel to ensure that the information is correct. Whilst the carpets are stained, due to the mud in winter, they are cleaned, as is the entire chalet, in between each stay. Our location is our outstanding feature, the wildlife and the karri tree forest is truly refreshing. It is a wonderful escape from all the noise and clutter of city life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

No room services, staff took it apon themselves to decide what choices you should make, beer & wine selection, they must think they are mind readers & very bad ones at that. Price of breakfast was ridiculously over priced.
Location perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Colleen L, Thank you for your review. Would you mind contacting the property to give more detail and enable us to follow up your concern? You are correct we do not have room service and we do recommend booking ahead for the restaurant. Our location is superb and we thank you for the 5/5 rating. We look forward to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in May in a lakeview room. It was a very comfortable, clean room with a balcony which put you above the lake edge and a georgeous view, particularly at dawn and dusk . Also allowed you to see up close the abundant numbers of birds which were lovely. The bed was comfortable plenty of pillows and blankets. The oil heater, while a bit tempermental, kept the room warm. The bathroom was very basic (toilet and shower in a narrow room), but clean. I was expecting a cabin in a nature retreat and thats what I got.

We had both dinner and full buffet breakfast in the comfortable dining room and found the meals reasonable both in food standard and price.

Unfortunately we were unable to try out the various walking tracks as it had rained heavily the previous couple of days.

No wifi in rooms and mobile service nonexistent, but again, we hadn't expected it.

We enjoyed our stay and were only disappointed that the weather was not better.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms are both private and provide fabulous outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear SF, Thank you for your good review. We are pleased that we met your expectations but sorry that the weather was not better for your stay. The birds at Karri Valley are so lovely and are a guarantee for everyone to see. We hope you return to stay again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stay in a 2 or 3 bed chalet at least once a year. The kids enjoy the bush walks, kookaburras and other birds that visit and sit on the balcony. Stunning view over the lake. Excellent spot to get away for a few days in front of a fire and just relax and watch DVDs in the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Sarah T, We have many families like you who return every year for their recharge, to escape the business of everyday life. It is blissful to be without internet and mobile phone connection for a few days and to enjoy nature. Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Unless you have primary school aged children or are on schoolies week I would not recommend this place. I stayed in a 3 bed chalet with two friends over the long weekend and couldn't wait to return home. The place is as basic as it gets and badly needs to be renovated - think school camp style from the 80s. The hot water was intermittent and the ambiance was non existent and not even the surroundings could make up for what the accommodation lacked. In short, if you are an adult, you will not feel comfortable here. The restaurant food is overpriced and my trout pasta with capers was so overloaded with capers that it was barely edible. The staff are friendly but the majority are backpackers with poor English skills which proves frustrating. Give it a miss.

Room Tip: Definitely do not choose a lakeside room as you hear everything your neighbours do, so if you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karri v, Manager at Karri Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for your review sarahlouise,
We are sorry that your expectations were not what we deliver. We do advertise that we are a 3.5 star family resort and when guests have that expectation, they are satisfied as that is what we deliver. Whilst our buildings have been in place for over 30 years, our maintenance is good and our accommodation is comfortable and cosy. You are correct in that some of our staff are international, which is helpful as they can converse well with our international visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
10.9 mi away
Forest Lodge Resort
Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
189 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Pemberton Hotel
10.3 mi away
Karri Forest Motel
Karri Forest Motel
#4 of 6 in Pemberton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Gloucester Motel & Restaurant
6.3 mi away
Mudstone Suites
Mudstone Suites
#4 of 4 in Pemberton
5 reviews
9.9 mi away
Beedelup House Cottages
Beedelup House Cottages
#13 of 28 in Pemberton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karri Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karri Valley Resort

Address: Vasse Highway, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemberton
Price Range: $141 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karri Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karri Valley Resort is a 3.5 star family resort in a beautiful, natural forest setting. Choose from a self contained 2 or 3 bedroom rustic chalet or a hotel style room on the edge of the Lake. The setting is spectacular, amongst towering karri trees bordering trout filled Lake Beedelup. Kookaburras, kangaroos, emus – truly an Australian getaway. Activities and facilities include: Canoeing, trout fishing, mini golf, archery, tennis, feeding the farm animals, bush walks, restaurant, basic general store and bottle shop.We are situated in an area where we have no mobile phone or internet coverage, so you can really escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karri Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karri Valley Hotel Pemberton
Karri Valley Pemberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing