We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must stay here if you travel to Pemberton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karri Valley Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karri Valley Chalets
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You must stay here if you travel to Pemberton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Wow. This was an incredible find for us as we really enjoy traveling down south in the Winter. The chalet was modern, clean, extremely warm with reverse cycle, a wood burning stove and electric blanket, spacious and just fantastic. The kangaroos outside were so nice to see each morning. So relaxing. So beautiful. The manager/owner is so friendly and helpful. We will absolutely return to this place soon and we have already told so many of our friends and relatives about this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We recently stayed at what we call “Paradise”. This was our 3rd visit, and we are now planning our 4th in October 2012, as we just love it there. We like to stay for about 10 days to really feel the benefit. We do this by only staying when it isn’t school holidays!!!

Our spacious ‘number 4 chalet’ is our home way from home, with all the comforts we require, plus plenty of privacy. The chalets are set up with everything you need. They are extremely clean with good quality furnishings, linen and towels.

One of the attractions for us is the masses of wildlife there; kangaroos (many with joeys), emus, kookaburras, parrots and rabbits (if you get up very early!!!), that roam freely around the property. So sitting on the veranda in the morning while have breakfast, or in the evening enjoying the gorgeous sunsets while sharing a drink and enjoying the view, is just the best way to start and end the day.

Debbie and Roger are a delightful couple, and the perfect hosts, making you most welcome, and taking care of all your needs. Their extensive knowledge and provision of flyers and brochures of what’s on offer in and around Pemberton, ensured we didn’t miss anything that was going on in the area through our stay.

Karri Valley Chalets is situated in an open location in the South West (much of the accommodation down there is in dense bush land), which has a distinctive landscape, with the magnificent karri trees hovering above you.

The town of Pemberton is 15 minutes away. Whilst it’s a small town, it has everything you require with lots of activities; hiking, trout fishing, tram and boat rides, golf and an abundance of great food to taste and wine to sip, as well as lots of friendly people to chat to. There is also resort nearby which has lots of activities and is open to non guests.

If you’re looking for a restful and relaxing holiday with peace and quiet in a “little piece of heaven”; then Karri Valley Chalets is for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Karri Valley Chalets are located some 18 km outside Pemberton in a peaceful clearing backed by majestic karri trees. Kookaburras, parrots and kangaroos can be seen regularly from the veranda and for those with a more active disposition, a path literally at the back of the chalets leads you to the Bibbulmun Track and the nearby Beedelup Falls. Pemberton itself has plenty to offer, from tram and boat rides, to wine tasting and fishing. The Bicentennial Tree (an old fire lookout that you can climb) and numerous hikes in the surrounding national parks should satisfy most outdoor enthusiasts. Bird and wildflower spotting possibilities abound (in season) and the Big Brook Dam is a good place to fish and see waterbirds. The owners of the resort were welcoming and pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful.

Location, wildlife and hosts all got top marks therefore. It was the chalet itself that let the side down. For starters the four chalets are set close together (on our first evening one of our neighbours played very loud music and we could smell their cigarette smoke from our veranda) and the one-way access road runs right in front of them, so whichever chalet you are in, you do hear cars coming and going (not that there are many as the drive is private). The narrow veranda doesn’t have room for a table (although there were two chairs) so eating outside isn’t comfortable. Inside, the chalet was clean but sterile and bleak, the bathroom was tiny and only soap was provided (no shampoo). The log-fire had been cleaned for the season (and perhaps also because of the bush fire threat, though we used the ones in the other places we stayed at), so we couldn’t use it even though the nights were still cold and we had to turn on the heating. The one bedroom that had been left unlocked (why lock the other rooms? We wouldn’t have used them, but having them closed made the place feel even more inhospitable) and faced onto the forest at the back. The kitchen was well equipped and the living room came with a TV/DVD player and a stereo, but with no TV network coverage, DVDs had to be rented from the extensive library at the reception. We didn’t mind the lack of a TV as we weren’t there to watch it, but we did mind the fact that DVDs cost $4 ($10 for 3). Surely they should be complementary (they were in other places we stayed at), especially when no TV is available (I’m thinking in particular of people with kids or of people with kids on rainy days!). And it’s not the price, it’s the principle.

We stayed at several other resorts with chalets on our trip, but we felt this one was the worse value for money (accommodation-wise) and the one we liked least unfortunately and although it was better than “average”, we didn’t find it “very good” either, so until Trip Advisor includes a “good”, an average it must be. I realise this is very subjective, but I do think the website is a tad misleading and the Karri Valley Chalets are certainly not my idea of Heaven on Earth. Sorry.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed at Karri Valley Chalets for 5 nites last month and was amazed by the diverse wildlife, beautiful forest, and the accommodating hosts, who pointed me to many sites of interest in the area. There is a huge mob of kangaroos and some emus that kept me enthralled. Accommodation was very comfortable and we loved the cosy log burning fire in our chalet. Well worth returning next time we're down this way.
Karin.
Perth, WA

Room Tip: Property is a wildlife reserve - no dogs or pets. All rooms have excellent vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I had made a booking for two nights around 20th January 2011 as part of a big trip to Australia from the UK. Unfortunately, due to personal circumstances we had to cancel our reservation. We had originally made the reservation at the end of November and cancelled the reservation only a week later. We were then informed that unless they could re-sell the chalet for the January date we had booked, we would have to pay one nights accommodation (which arguably it does state in the T&Cs but who really reads the T&Cs). We never heard anything back from the owners and can only assume that despite Jan being a peak period they did not manage to rent out our chalet and no refund was therefore made- although we were never notified either way, and who knows whether it was rented or not, given they have a number of chalets!

Whilst I understand the challenge independent hotel/B&B owners have with cancellations- we cancelled within a week!- and with 7 weeks notice!- Having stayed in 1000s of Hotels/B&Bs I have NEVER come across this kind of condition- perhaps with 24 hrs or 1 weeks notice but 7 weeks- its absurd. I think this is the first complaint I have ever made within hospitality but wanted to warn others and hope that the owners understand this is not the way to treat potential guests- we would without doubt have spent the money another time and stayed with you, but not now. Shame.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Highway_Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner_manager07, General Manager at Karri Valley Chalets, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
We recall the numerous emails and conversations on the phone we had with this customer. Our cancellation policy was mentioned at the beginning of this process and reiterated again. In addition, we provide a copy of our cancellation policy to all our valued client when the booking is made, as well as having it published on our website.
To be condemned for adhering to our cancellation policy is hardly fair. Most client book their accommodation well in advance during peak seasons, so in this particular case, we could not fill the vacancy due to the limited notice provided. Most of our well seasoned international visitors have travel insurance, which would cover any losses from cancellations of travel arrangements. Obviously, this person did not, and feels aggrieved at his loss. We are sorry it has caused him so much hurt, he felt it necessary to publish this comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

The chalet itself is somewhat average despite its excellent maintenance and its view on the lawn and the forest. The owners are really helpful and are doing their best to make your stay as perfect as possible, this is really remarkable. The chalet is very very quiet, and you can't miss the kangaroos and the emus + other wildlife. It is really worth spending there at least a few days to enjoy the Pemberton area and the company of the kangaroos in the evening. There is no such thing than drinking a beer on your terrace in front of twenty kangaroos playing around!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

We're stayed for 3D 2N, its awesome, its just right to get away from the busy city, Pemberton really nice to look out in sightseeing and the beauty of nature..Just love it!

So much to do in Pemberton, but we only did a cruise to a river...something new for me..as I am Malaysian...

something to share especially during the night, its really quiet and everyone have their own privacy...its really great!

but I'm a bit dissapointing around the lake been bothering by flies!
suggestion: the management have to do something about this..
Beleived,especially for families were having a BBQ during the day might not comfort by flies everywhere...don't you think?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess_fiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
1.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Resort
Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
10.2 mi away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
10.7 mi away
Scarlet Woods Chalets
Scarlet Woods Chalets
#4 of 28 in Pemberton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Rainbow Trail Chalets
#3 of 28 in Pemberton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Picture Theatre Holiday Apartments
5.7 mi away
Marima Cottages
Marima Cottages
#8 of 28 in Pemberton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karri Valley Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karri Valley Chalets

Property: Karri Valley Chalets
Address: Lot 12, Hopgarden Road, Karri Valley | PO Box 336, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Karri Valley Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Award Winning chalets are designed to satisfy the discerning guest who prefers new, quality accommodation, in the heart of Karri Valley on a private property away from crowds. Ideally located in the heart of the beautiful south-west, we are only 1 1/2 hours drive to the Tree Top Walk or Margaret River. Relax while listening to the birdsong and watching the kangaroos from your front veranda. Karri Valley Chalets provides you with a true eco-tourism experience and a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Karri Valley Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing