We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treat we hope to repeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A treat we hope to repeat!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I chose a two day getaway at Rainbow Trail Chalets as a surprise for my partner's birthday and he was suitably impressed - as was I. Beautifully appointed chalet with gorgeous bush views. We were in Chalet No. 2 which had the dam and paddocks nearby so lots of pleasure watching the animals. It was also quite stunning for view of the sunsets and sunrises! Everything we needed was provided. We cooked for ourselves a couple of times and found the kitchen well equipped. Heating was fabulous, a godsend for some very cold nights and mornings. The chalet was very spacious, warm and comfy which made it hard to leave. It was very tempting to just stay in and relax rather than get out and explore the local area! The other 3 chalets were all booked but we didn't really hear the other gueses, which was impressive. All in all, we loved the whole experience and we'll be going back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripleMOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbowtrailchalets, Owner at Rainbow Trail Chalets, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for your fantastic review and uploading the great photos, hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I chose the Chalets based upon the amazing reviews it received on Trip Advisor. For the most part we were pleased with our stay but could not give it 5 stars due to a couple of shortcomings.

Pros: Great location. The chalets are situated on a small farm land with peaceful surroundings. They are well designed and offer most mod cons. The owners were friendly and helpful. The views over farmland were relaxing and the accommodation was comfortable.

Cons: We booked these chalets based upon so many 5 star reviews. However, there are some shortcomings which affected us:
1. Toiletries. We stayed for three nights and received only one tiny piece of soap for the entire duration. We had to drive into town to purchase additional toiletries because that supplied was
inadequate.

2. No Dishwasher. The Chalets are clean upon arrival but guests must clean themselves for the duration of their stay. This is normal for this type of accommodation in the region but there was no dishwasher. While this impediment can be overcome by hand washing everything, it is not 5 star luxury when you don't have the basic amenities that you do at home.

3. Heating. One of the major attractions for us was it had a gas log fire. It was a particularly cold spell when we stayed there and used the fire constantly. However, it was modified to only operate on the lowest setting, apparently to save gas. This meant that each night we had to use the air conditioning to warm the chalet, but on milder nights, this might not be necessary.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and would recommend the property to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rainbow Trail Chalets, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor for Rainbow Trail Chalets, all feedback is valuable and we try to act on everything where practical and possible. Steve and I aim to provide the highest standard possible and have an excellent cleaning staff who work hard to maintain the standards we set. I know that in order to make a 5 star rating there is certain facilities you need and that is why we have never rated Rainbow Trail Chalets as five star. The four and a half rating given by trip advisor is purely based on guest reviews, I would really like to know where you have seen the five star rating so I can ammend it, our rates certainly don't reflect five star pricing. I have put a fairly thorough list on our website as to what our chalets contain but might have to make it clearer that it doesn't contain a dishwasher. We are on rain water and not scheme water and our chalet's spa's already tax our water tanks quite heavily, a dishwasher is a luxury that no accommodation provider outside of the town can afford due to water availability. We provide condiments to get guests started such as tea, coffee, sugar, shampoo, conditiner, body wash and hand soap but as we are chalets and not a hotel we do not service our chalets daily while someone is staying in them, that is normal for any chalet accommodation throughout the state. We respect guests privacy and try not to go down to our chalets at all while people are staying (unless there is a problem of course) as we don't want them to feel we are checking on them and invade their privacy. I am glad that you got good use out of the gas log fire and the reverse cycle air-conditioner, I hope that you used your electric blanket as well, we are smack in the middle of winter and yes we have definitely had some cold spells down here lately. Thanks again for your response and for staying with us during your stay in Pemberton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Rainbow Trail Chalets over Easter. The Chalets are absolutely beautiful,spotlessly clean and very very comfortable. From the timber floors, comfy bed to the decadent corner spa, the chalets are a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing romantic retreat. The kitchen is fully equipped and modern, there isn't a full stove only a cooktop and convection /microwave oven but that was adequate. There is also a barbie on the wooden deck which overlooks the forest. We spent the days bush walking all the wonderful tracks around Pemberton and before dinner would walk on the Rainbow trail which is accessed from the property before heading back for a spa and a wine or two ! Bliss. Steve was very helpful we had a slight problem with the TV which he fixed, (he even came from a BBQ to do so, !!) We only met Katrina on the way home. All in all a wonderful trip.
One little tip it was very hot over Easter, there is an air conditioner but make sure you close the blinds before leaving for the day to keep the sun out as the chalet can get quite hot.
Thank you Steve and Katrina we have already recommended you and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: We stayed in chalet number 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbowtrailchalets, Owner at Rainbow Trail Chalets, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Sue

Thanks for the great review on our chalets, you made our day. Really happy that you were able to balance out the effect of the wine on the balcony with lots of bushwalking, that means you go home guilt free. Hope to see you both again in the future sometime. PS: If you like bushwalking, October is also a great time to come because all the wildflowers are out and everything is still green.

Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Sandra and I had spent one Saturday and evening in Pemberton a couple of weeks ago, in budget accomodation. We fell in love with the town and surrounding area and vowed ro return for a long stay. A stay we have just returned from.

This time around, we wanted to treat ourselves to the best accomodation we could find and, after quite a bit of research on the web, selected RAINBOW TRAIL CHALETS.

Steve greated us warmly at reception and gave us the keys to our Chalet.

Sandra and I opened the glass entry door (after removing our shoes) and both uttered one word in unison...

WOW!!!

The chalets don't look that big from the outside, but step inside and you will be suprised. A large central living area with polished floor boards (hence no shoes), soaring raked ceiling and well appointed kitchen greated us.

To the left was a large bedroom with a massive king bed. Adjoining was an ensuite that has to be seen to be believed - even the generous 2 person deep spa is "tucked" away in one corner.

Just when you think things just couldn't get any better, we stepped out onto the balcony. The steeply declining paddock that the chalets are nested onto slides away into a valley with thick, lush vegetation hiding the Rainbow Trail section of the BIbbulmun Track. Behind, tall, ram rod straight Karri Trees clamber up the other side of the valley. Completing the amphitheatre effect.

WOW number 2!!!

Unfortunately, we never got a chance to meet Katrina (next time!) but Steve was fantastic! A warm, generous, caring and congenial host. Nothing was too much trouble.

I wanted to extend our 5 day stay forever and so did my wife Sandra!

If you are thinking of staying in Pemberton, or using it as a base to emerse yourself in everything in the area (and there is a surprising number of things to do that with!) then RAINBOW TRAIL CHALETS is THE place to stay.

Simply magnificent!

Thank you Steve and Katrina!

10 out of 10 - easily!!!

Room Tip: Please leave as clean as you found it - these Chalets are imaculately turned out and deserve to be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_MOLLOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbowtrailchalets, Owner at Rainbow Trail Chalets, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Hi Colin

Thanks for your great feedback, Steve and I are really glad you were comfortable and able to relax. Sorry I didn't get to meet you both and that you had to put with Steve (joking), next time I will make sure I get down to your chalet to meet you.

All the best and don't work too hard.

Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My partner and I just enjoyed a wonderful stay at Rainbow Trail Chalets for the Pemberton Classic long weekend. It was beautiful. I opened the car door and stepped onto the beautiful wood deck and just started shrieking to my partner "I can't believe this!". We opened the door onto beautiful south west timber floors, and a spotless living area with fully equipped kitchen. I was already in love. A quick look around and I found the generous bathroom and balcony, with spectacular views of the Rainbow Trail. What stayed with us the most is the meticulous attention to detail in the finish of the chalets - from magentic shower doors to the HUGE mattress and gorgeous linen. I could go on and on!
Our hosts were delightful - didn't see or hear a boo from anyone while we were in our chalet but we knew with just a quick call or drop in any problem we had would be sorted straight away.
I've always wanted to find accommodation where you felt like you were experiencing the 'bush', but without having to camp out! From the views on the balcony, the grasshoppers, red gravel roads and livestock everywhere (including kangaroos!), it was everything we wanted and more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbowtrailchalets, Owner at Rainbow Trail Chalets, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Hi Caris

Thanks for all the really nice comments (I am especially glad you liked our grasshoppers), hope to see you again sometime. You guys motivated me to 'think about' riding my bike again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

First class hosts and first class accommodation. Spacious chalets located near beautiful walk trails and only a few kilometres from the centre of Pemberton. We are very fastidious when it comes to cleanliness of holiday accommodation - our chalet would have passed the white glove test at any time.

Chalets don't look overly large from a distance (or from a photo) but are surprisingly spacious when you get inside. The design/layout flows beautifully and all fittings are first class. The bed was very comfortable and the location is very quiet and peacefull.

You need to stay at least two night to fully experience this relaxing environment and to enjoy the many sights in and around Pemberton. Happy to pay $200 a night - the quality is excellent - but would look for a discount on that price if staying, say, five nights or more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudgementDay666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbowtrailchalets, Owner at Rainbow Trail Chalets, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thanks for the fantastic review, you have just made Steves and my day. We aim to have the highest standard we can when it comes to cleanliness of our chalets and it's great that it doesn't go unnoticed.

We recently had a special on, Stay 4 nights and pay for 3 and currently have a stay 7 nights and pay for 6 deal on, so keep an eye on the specials box on our website as I will keep that updated. But I agree, always ask for a special deal if you are staying a long time somewhere, it can't hurt to try.

Thanks again for your time to review our chalets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Recently spent four nights at Rainbow Trail. Very comfortable accommodation in a delightful setting. Close to town and all attractions. Chalet was spotless and well equipped for self catering. Steve and Katrina both very helpful people. Great area at this time of year for the wildflowers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomax100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbowtrailchalets, Owner at Rainbow Trail Chalets, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Thanks for your fantastic review, really happy that you both enjoyed yourself and according to your 'sleep factor' rating, got a good night sleep. Hope to see you again in the future sometime.

Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
2.1 mi away
Forest Lodge Resort
Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
162 reviews
8.8 mi away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
458 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pemberton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Scarlet Woods Chalets
Scarlet Woods Chalets
#4 of 27 in Pemberton
91 reviews
2.2 mi away
Big Brook Cottages
Big Brook Cottages
#2 of 27 in Pemberton
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pump Hill Farm Cottages
Pump Hill Farm Cottages
#5 of 27 in Pemberton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Trail Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Trail Chalets

Property: Rainbow Trail Chalets
Address: Lot 7724 Pump Hill Road, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainbow Trail Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Trail Chalets have four luxury spa chalets located adjacent to magnificent Karri forest with stunning views that overlook the Lefroy Brook Valley. Each chalet has a single bedroom with king size bedroom suite, fully self contained kitchen, electric blanket, gas logged fire, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Nespresso Coffee machine, dishwasher, TV/DVD, twin spa, elegant decor and private balcony with gas BBQ. Situated only 2km from town, Rainbow Trail Chalets is central to all of Pemberton's favourite destinations. Take a beautiful walk through the Karri forest along the Bibbulmun Track's Rainbow Trail without having to drive anywhere and finish off your day in your spa with a glass of local red wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Trail Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing