We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable Bar Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandurah Quay Resort
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the resort over the weekend for a wedding.
The reception staff were lovely, however they did point us in the wrong direction for the wedding which was being conducted on their grounds. The apartment itself was nice and clean, but didnt much like the fact we had to put the outdoor furniture on the veranda ourselves. the stairwell leading up to the room could do with a bit of personality and a good clean. We ound the bar staff to be surly and miserable, I have neer been to a wedding where you are told that they couldnt serve drinks at the bar as they were too busy serving food, which was at best a poor average, the prawn bisque tasted like tomato soup with a piece of prawn toast placed in the middle, we couldnt find the potato gnocchi in the mains and the cheese board looked like the selection ones you buy from Woolies when you are having a bbq. The bar closed at 9.30 - the staff were tired.. poor servce guys - not recommended..

Room Tip: There is nothing I can recommend - the resort is right on the water's edge, but the rooms do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthTravelmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f0110wer, Director of Sales at Mandurah Quay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hi there

We would like to say thanks to you for your comments both constructive and positive. On hearing of your issues from your guest comment we did try to contact you, and left messages but unfortunately at this stage we have not had any response.
As part of our philosophy, if a guest does not feel they recieve the best service then we like to follow this up with our staff members as we understand that we are only as good as our weakest link. Therefore follow up is important to us.

It is very disapointing that you were not happy with the bisque, it is a dish that is an aquired taste. In a wedding we are very mindful that all meals go out as quickly as possible so have all hands on deck to ensure the nights timeline goes on as close to plan as possible. However, your feedback has definately been noted and we will look to ensure that someone remains in the bar during service of food in case of this sort of event occurs again.

The bar did close at 9.30pm as that was the request of the wedding party on that particular evening. However, we really wanted to speak to you personally on this as you would have been able to purchase your own drinks if you required to do so.

Once again our team really appreciates all feedback so thanks for taking the time to let us know

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have stayed at this resort for an annual conference for the past three years and always love returning. The apartments are spacious with really comfortable king size beds in the master room. We also love the spa bath :). What particularly stands out for me compared to other apartment hotels we've stayed at in WA is the service. The staff at the front desk and particularly the restaurant are so friendly and helpful. They bend over backwards to help and were very accommodating of our baby. We always look forward to staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stresslesscate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We went to this resort as it was supposed to be 4 star. I would say it is more like 2 or 3 star. The concept is good, nice apartments all overlooking the pool and gym, but it has been left to age. The gym was worn, treadmill not working and a rowing machine with blocks of wood as the footrests. The apartment had everything you need, but ours smelt very musky. The dining room seats were holed. Even the bedspread had holes to the liner. Such a shame, because this place could be great.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank sazzle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We have stayed here many times to visit family in the area, we are from interstate, It is in a nice quiet area but away from the CBD so you will need a car to get around. The apartments are clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff are friendly and you can enjoy a coffee and cake at their on site restaurant by the water. The kitchen is fully equipped, but there are no ovens. The pool area is lovely and there is a tennis court and gym. We won't stay anywhere else in Mandurah.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedkellie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We needed a break and took up their eco kids package the accommodation was great for the kids they had time swimming in the pool and played tennis. We took the kids on the walkway although we did not do the whole distance it was great for the kids to try and find the birds. the rooms where comfortable and clean too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kianna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Just had 3 days with family in Mandurah Quays. Paid $160 per night for a midweek special. Had essential items (no oven) and was clean, probably what you should expect a 3 star rated place should be (don't know it's rating). Our kids loved the pool / warm spa (they should uproot that scabby green fake grass stuff though) and we used tennis courts. The kids could ride scooters around the apartments.
Dont stay here if you value a sleep in as you can hear kids very early in the morning and it's also light in the rooms. We ate at restaurant for breakfast twice. The first time was great and my son loved the French toast and the second time was disgusting with raw omlettes served, my "fresh fruit" platter had mouldy strawberries. They VERY obviously had different chefs both times as one was presented so much better than the other - shame. Staff alll nice and helpful. Would stay again for a "cheap" few nights away. Main thing is the kids enjoyed it. Oh, and you will have to park your car in the dirt track behind apartment if you want to be close to rooms.....weird!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We recently stayed at this resort and cannot disagree more strongly with the "scabby" reviewer.
This resort was absolutley fantastic. Great staff, restaurant, pool, views, facilities etc.
The rooms are about 10 years old, but currently under refurbishment and are clean and comfortable.
The rooms were absolutely spotless and are a credit to the housekeepers.
All resort staff were friendly and polite and could not be more helpful. I am definitely returning in the summer so that I can make full use of the beautiful pool/spa and tennis courts.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jennie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandurah hotels
2.7 mi away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
542 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
1,001 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
390 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mandurah Family Resort
Mandurah Family Resort
#5 of 7 in Mandurah
37 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Quay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandurah Quay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandurah Quay Resort

Address: 40 Marina Quay Dr | Erskine, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Mandurah
Price Range: $159 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandurah Quay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful Peel Inlet beach, Located only 70 km from Perth airport. Mandurah Quay Resort is the perfect place for your holidays or a corporate getaway. The Mandurah resort and marina sit on 155 sq kilometres of protected inland waterways. It is surrounded by unspoiled bird conservation areas with great hiking trails. Mandurah Quay Resort offers a spectacular function centre and accommodation which holds up to 200 people. Located in a beautiful setting, delectable cuisine and great service goes hand in hand at Mandurah Quay Resort. The self contained spa villas offer spacious accommodation whether it be for a corporate business person, or a family of 6. All the Villas overlook: 22 metre free form swimming pool Gymnasium 2 full sized tennis courts. The ambiance of the Waterside Restaurant located at Mandurah Quay Resort allows guests to relax outdoors or in, while gazing at the beautiful private marina and estuary. The cuisine is the focus of this restaurant and the team look forward to creating a memorable dining experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandurah Quay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Mandurah
Mandurah Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing