We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best breakfast in Mandurah” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Moka

Cafe Moka
Ranked #17 of 176 Restaurants in Mandurah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not the best breakfast in Mandurah”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

My first big complaint is that breakfast finishes far to early on the weekend and any cafe/restaurant that doesn't offer an all day breakfast on the weekend is alwasy going to struggle to make me happy.

That been said the service was ordinary, we constantly rushed to make an order and eventually quite tersly told by the floor manager that the kitchen was a bout to close (We had only been there 5 minutes and had already ordered our coffees). Even though we ordered our coffee's 5 minutes before our meal they didn't arrive until 5 minutes after out meal. My partner has the big breakfast and she was none impressed. I had the eggs menedict. The turkish bread was difficult to cut but OK, the eggs where good, the ham was cut to think for my likeing. The hollandaise sauce had far to much flavour and took over the whole dish. All in all an average effort at best.

If you're heading to breakfast one thweekend in Mandurah there are better places on offer both at the Marina and the town proper.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    54
    27
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Big Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We had Big Breakfast with 2 coffees. The breakfast came out quick. Which is good to see anywhere. But they have not concentrated on the quality of the meal and looks like only concentrated on Service. Coffee was nice to have

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonDoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food but you pay for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Went for breakfast, had fruit salad, big breakfast, eggs on toast & fresh watermelon juice. No fault what so ever with the food & it was lovely but we thought it was quite pricey - saying that would rather pay a bit more for the quality anyway...but have had just as good cheaper. Cake cabinet looked awesome but didn't have any. Nice staff.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimjespur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Have only been in for coffee a few times but found recent reviews interesting as I thought the service had also deteriorated at my last visit a couple of weeks ago.
Previously service was friendly, helpful and non-obtrusive. This past visit staff weren't attentive or friendly.
Coffee is okay for WA - not brilliant but not dishwater - mmm that sounds lovely but I am sure you will know what i mean.
There raspberry and pear friands are quite tasty.
During my visits there have been people having a late breakfast and others like my friend and i meeting up for a morning coffee. I haven't heard anyone making a fuss of the food being inadequate and the breakfasts at other tables have looked nicely presented.
I would recommend this place if you are visiting Mandurah just for the lovely location with views over the marina and small shopping area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lollipop888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rather be anywhere than here staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Simple takeaway breakfast and coffee doesn't carry an expectation of silver service and attentive and friendly wait staff, but a simple happy morning greeting and helpful attitude matches in with a so called holiday town atmosphere. Swapping out a coffee for an orange juice for the brekky roll and coffee deal required an extra $7! with no offer of the alternative of the bottled variety.....take it or move on was projected from the face of he who appeared to be shift manager. Coffee pushed over with a grunt by the finger licking barista and the one only shining light the heavily tatooed kitchen hand who at least offered a bag to carry all our food away in and carried out the task with a misplaced smile. W had considered going there for lunch or dinner but went on to the many other competitors.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Moka also viewed

Mandurah, Western Australia
Mandurah, Western Australia
 
Mandurah, Western Australia
 

Been to Cafe Moka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing