We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Week stay at the Silver Sands Resort.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Sands Resort
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 Week stay at the Silver Sands Resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our family stayed at the Silver Sands from 02/05/14 until 16/05/14. Arrived after hours but no problem accessing our unit as we had contacted them and advised our arrival time. Our unit was one of the ones yet to be refurbished on a top level overlooking the pool. The were 5 of us staying and the unit was clean and comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful, (especially reception). Minor issues were delt to, and the resort has great amenities, is well cared for and maintained. The only issue is car parking, (only one car per unit). We had two cars and had to pay extra to park our second car on land owned by the resort. It was expensive and I had never come across this before in any other resort we stayed at.
Our unit was serviced between the 2 weeks and we had a good time staying there.

Room Tip: Choose a top unit as they have much better views over the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with Silver Sands Resort and for sharing your experience with us. It is our pleasure to receive comments and good ratings. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    60
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

As a timesahare member of this resort we have only great things to say about it,
the maintence is of very high standard,it still looks the same as when we joined over 30 yrs ago, just amazing, the outdoor pool area has that exotic resort feel about it, the units have all been refurbished many times over the years and are spacious, clean and ample kitchen appliances and utensils..
Their are 3 outdoor spas and 1 indoor along with the heated indoor pool and sauna.
Also a squash court, tennis court and half court tennis.
Would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wanty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Silver Sands Resort and for the good rating and high praise that you gave us. We are delighted that you have been enjoying the Resort for so many years and look forward to many more visits from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Have just spent a week at this resort in the off season, so it was not swimming weather. Even though it was full, it was very quiet.
Arrived in pouring rain, but managed to get one of the under cover bays next to the front entrance.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Not being a hotel, there are no luggage porters, but trolleys are available. Our unit was downstairs so no real hassles with luggage.

The 2-bedroom unit was reasonably spacious with a kitchen/diner, lounge, two bathrooms and laundry. Doesn't look too bad as the resort is nearly 30 years old.
It is fully airconditioned, though we didn't need to use it during our stay.
TV has all the Perth digital channels and some Foxtel. Also a DVD player and there is a DVD library at reception. Perth newspaper can be delivered every day.
The mattresses were rather hard to us (as in most hotels). We are tuned to latex.
Other aspects of the apartment were not totally perfect. See comments at the end.

The inward-looking resort has a superb pool area, but probably noisy during day time school holidays. Most units have a view over the pool area.
A number of other facilities are available, including tennis, squash, mini golf, sauna etc. Every Tuesday evening there is a trip to the local greyhound races. Lot of fun. Good value.

A car is essential for touring, but you could stay here without one as there is a shopping centre just across the road, a Bottle Shop and Tavern next door and the Silver Sands ocean Beach is about half a Km from the Resort. A 2Km walk is needed to get you to the main estuary and old town centre.

Comments and suggestions:
The old style kitchen cupboards are very noisy on closing. Easily fixed with nylon noise buffers.
The main benchtop is taken up with the TV. The TV should be on a mobile trolley.
There are no printed instructions for the TV or DVD player.
There are no wall hooks for coats and hats etc. Suggest some near front door and in both bedrooms.
A second suitcase rack in each bedroom would be useful.
No WiFi available in apartments.
Future furniture addition: A small table and office chair for a laptop.

Room Tip: Downstairs units easier with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Silver Sands Resort. We are pleased to receive comments and reviews such as yours and we are glad that you were delighted by our service and our Resort.

We couldn't agree more that there is lots of great things to keep you entertained at the Resort and in the Peel region.

We looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We found Silver Sands to be a wonderful place to stay, with its resort atmosphere but also feels like your at home and not in some motel. The pool's and spa's are beautiful and the games rooms, tennis courts and squash court are a fantastic bonus that other places don't usually offer, the kids as well as adults can have fun without even having to leave the resort. The staff are friendly, the rooms are lovely and the extra bathroom and huge bath are great, also the convenience of the location to Mandurah's inner hub is fantastic. We woulnd't hesitate to stay here again and again, Rochelle, Darren, Shakira and Heath :-)

Room Tip: We stayed on the main road side up stairs which is a little noisy with the traffic but if you shut t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rochelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with Silver Sands Resort and for sharing your experience with us. It is our pleasure to receive comments and good ratings. We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The resort is small, with units arranged around the pools, on two levels. Most of the units are 2 bedrooms, and are very spacious with plenty of cupboard and shelf space. The outdoor amenities are lovely, with sparkling pools and waterfalls, and also an indoor pool. The reception area is very well laid out and reminiscent of a top hotel, but it is the staff who really make this place special. I have read the bad reviews about the staff and cannot believe them, as we found everyone super friendly, helpful and always a smile. Every question was answered courteously and immediately, and we had lots of help with luggage to and from our upper floor unit. You only have to ask! There were always staff around the grounds cleaning and tidying, and the unit itself was spotless. Definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinkydi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your time in providing this review and also for your lovely words regarding our staff and resort. The management and staff are very proud of our property are always willing to assist you wherever possible.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location in Mandurah. The beach is a few minutes walk away. A few minutes drive to the foreshore and town centre. The Resort was nice with nice pools, spas and a sauna. Good room with full kitchen.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for providing your review of Silver Sands Resort. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful spot in Mandurah that is so close to the sensational Silver Sands Beach and the main shopping and dining precinct of Mandurah. We take great pride in providing a wide range of top class amenities for the use of all of our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed the use of some of them during your stay. We look forward to greeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

>> Clean and tidy.
>> Furniture not updated since probably the 1980's - 1990's.
>> Receptionist didn't even as much as say a hello when I arrived at front desk. She just continued to do her work despite knowing that someone had approached the reception. So much for a "warm welcome"!! A major turn-off!!!
>> Pool is well maintained.
>> Foxtel is available.
>> Nothing stands out that would bring me back here. Quite a few other fish in the sea!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Silver Sands Resort.
As with many hotels we run a refurbishment program at Silver Sands Resort which enables us to refurbish our apartments on a rotating basis. This year we will be refurbishing all of our one bedroom apartments.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our pools as we carried out extensive renovations on those areas in 2013.
We hope that you will consider visiting with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandurah hotels
0.7 mi away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dolphin Quay Apartment Hotel
3.1 mi away
Mandurah Quay Resort
Mandurah Quay Resort
#7 of 16 in Mandurah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Resort

Property: Silver Sands Resort
Address: Corner Mandurah Terrace & Adonis Road, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Mandurah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self-contained apartment accommodation is the ideal way to experience one of Western Australia’s most popular coastal destinations. Just one hour’s drive south of Perth, life in Mandurah is centered around its vast inland waterways and abundance of beaches. Surrounding this estuary is the beautiful Peel Region with the City of Mandurah its epicentre. Boasting an astonishing aquatic playground and cosmopolitan lifestyle it's no wonder Mandurah is so popular to visit and one of WA’s best tourist destinations.With delightful restaurants and cafes, crystal clear blue water, and an abundance of activities for the whole family, Mandurah makes for a great getaway!Silver Sands Resort includes the folowing free facilities to all of our guests:•Play a round of Mini Golf•Take a dip in the indoor or outdoor heated pools•Relaxing in the indoor or outdoor heated spas•Sweat it out in the dry heat sauna•Have a hit on the full size tennis courts or if that’s too much try the half court •Take a stroll on the walking machines•Get the tastebuds sizzling at one of our 4 BBQs•Challenge the kids in the children’s games room•Or maybe hide from the kids in the adults only games room•Borrow a book from our club lounge library•Have a drink with the Resort Manager (Monday Welcome Drinks)•Free tour and attraction booking serviceTennis Courts and Squash Courts are available from 8am – 6pm daily. Use your own equipment or free hire of Resort equipment (excluding tennis balls). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Silver Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Timeshare Hotel Mandurah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing