We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My family of four plus a baby stayed at the Silver Sand Resort for a week in Dec 2013. Silver Sand Resort is located at 178 Mandurah Terrace about 72km from Perth City Centre.

Our two room unit at the Silver Sand Resort is very comfortable and has full kitchen facilities, fridge, washing machine and dryers. The resort is well maintained and has a few barbecue pits, open and covered heated pools, games room, Tennis Courts, Children's Playground and some other facilities which we did not have time to utilize. There is a Shopping Centre, The Sand, located just across the road, a Bottle Shop and Tavern next door and the Silver Sand Beach just a few Blocks from the Resort.

Mandurah’s Attractions like the Board Walk, Dolphin Cruise and the Dolphin Quay are just nearby and there are many Restaurants and Eateries offering a wide range of food for your choice of meals. Fish and Chip Lovers will be spoiled for a choice as you can find Cicerello’s, Sharky’s, The Jetty’s and many other Fish and Chips Restaurants in Mandurah.

This is the second time we stayed at the Silver Sand Resort and we love it. We had a good time and wouldn’t mind staying at the Silver Sand Resort on our return visits to Mandurah.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyTay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your review of Silver Sands Resort and the Mandurah Precinct. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Mandurah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 127 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is an older style resort, resulting in generous living areas throughout the apartments; that are very well equipped for couples or family's. There is a beautiful outdoor pool area with numerous spas, complemented by an indoor heated pool and spa area. The only downfall with the pool is that the pool cannot be accessed before 8 o'clock in the mornings so serious swimming can be disrupted by early rising children. There are numerous immaculately kept barbecue areas, and seating is generous but shade can be of a premium. A car is necessary as major attractions in the area are not in close proximity to the resort: although a well stocked supermarket and a number of fast food outlets are just over the road . To top off the position there is a large pub next door with an extensive food menu, and plus for beach lovers a block away from an extensive beach area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and lovely comments regarding Silver Sands Resort. We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their holidays and the Resort facilities. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The positives for us were: Close to where our daughter lives, the space of the apartment, the pools and spas. Negatives were the very uncomfortable beds and pillows. We had hoped that our daughter would stay overnight with us, but the beds were so bad that she could not. Our son who flew over from NZ with us and stayed for the first week also said the beds were terrible. Comfortable beds should be a priority for people who are on vacation/holiday. The three seater sofa bed was also very uncomfortable to sit on. And, honestly the units need upgrading. Buy cheap, get cheap.

On the day when I wanted to go into the adult lounge to look for a book, there were workmen. I did not see the sign informing of it being closed and even if I had, I would not and cannot understand why I was not allowed to choose a book as the bookcase was just inside the door. I was informed that I may have tripped over something. Well at the time I was there, there was nothing to trip over and, in fact, what about all the stairs in the resort and the gardeners with carts? Could I not have tripped over them? Common sense would be great and customer service is everything.

We went to western Australia to celebrate our daughter's 21st and my 57th, but when on checking in I told the manager (?) that, I had no response. Wouldn't it be great if these timeshare places made people feel special. The fact that they didn't really celebrate the Melbourne Cup was a let down also. There are rules and rules and rules, but what about creating a sense of community!

Anyway, as my title stated, good memories. When people are on holiday they will put up with a lot. This resort is OK, its pool and spas are its selling point, but it could be a lot more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSRes, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay at Silver Sands Resort and your feedback regarding the furnishings.
Given the size of the Resort it is not financially feasible to refurnish every apartment at the same time. As with the majority of accommodation providers around the world, the resort does have a rolling replacement cycle for all furnishings which sees replacements carried out each and every year.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our pools and spas and we are very proud of what we have achieved with the refurbishment of these areas this year.
Unfortunately Workplace Health and Safety requirements prevent us from allowing guests into areas, internal or external, where maintenance is being carried out as was the case with our Adult lounge. This area was being repainted and contained scaffolding, ladders and other maintenance equipment and as such the decision to lock off the area was made with guest safety in mind. I do understand that you were provided with access to the adult lounge a few hours later to obtain a book from our free guest library.
Melbourne Cup is a wonderful day in Australia’s social calendar and we would love to be able to stop our normal day to day activities to provide special events on this day. Unfortunately, we do not have a function area on site which would facilitate these events and many guests and club members still require the attentions of our office staff to our normal daily duties.
We did ensure that all of our guests were aware that we were running a Melbourne Cup sweepstakes and of the many restaurants, pubs and cafés in Mandurah that were holding Melbourne Cup luncheons.
Overall it appears you enjoyed your time in Mandurah and have good memories to take home which is exactly what we all hope for from our holidays.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a timeshare week stay at Silver Sands and can recommend it if you prefer to be not too near the city centre.
Having been to several timeshare resorts/hotels, I must recommend the facilities provided (including the pool, the full kitchen and laundry/dryer facilities which we used and even the BBQ pits), and of course, the great service from both the front-desk and the maintenance staff. We corresponded first to check on public transport from the airport and Brian and his colleague gave very specific instructions very quickly. Then, having read the reviews about some units, I asked if we could have an upstairs unit preferably with an ocean view and was allocated Unit 2 which gave us a clear view of the ocean from the bedroom window!
Indeed upon arrival at Mandurah Station, we were fortunate to meet Paula who accompanied us up the bus and told the driver where to alight us. When we requested access to the Lounge (which was then closed) to borrow some books, the maintenance staff willingly waited for me to choose my books; and when we met him another day, he asked about our books! And when we arrived, someone offered to carry our luggage up the stairs if required. Another maintenance staff also responded speedily when we had problems unlocking the door.
While we were there, we saw other guests using the BBQ pits as well and they were considerate in cleaning up after their use.
Overall, it was a great relaxing holiday for us with enough days to take leisurely walks to the Mandurah Centre, join a cruise or two, take the train into Perth and Fremantle and even followed the Burswood shuttle, meeting many friendly and kind residents on this shuttle.

Room Tip: Unit 2 is an upstairs one-bedroom unit which gives a good view of the ocean from the bedroom -- it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James13t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay in WA and at Silver Sands Resort.
We will pass on your kind thoughts to Paula, Brian and all of our other staff and look forward to you visiting with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at Silver Sands in October 2013. AND we LOVED IT, the staff - all of them were so helpfull, nothing seemed to be to much trouble or an effort. The YOGA class was just brilliant & would have loved to have gone to the water airobics (but it was not on). Thank-you again Silver Sands for making our holiday so so so relaxing, time went so slow, we were so relaxed. AND would reccommend you to all that we have talked to since returning to Victoria

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharynt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Silver Sands Resort and for your kind words. We love to hear back from our guests and especially when we hear that we have ensured that their holidays are enjoyable as yours appears to have been.
We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I wish I knew prior , of the added "extras" needing to pay for, on top of the nightly rate!

So in the interest of other guests contemplating a stay, be prepared for the following:

-$2 per beach towel and strict use of bath towels at pool.
- no such thing as free Wifi here! Another added cost.
-no shampoo/conditioners/bath gel in bathrooms
- shower curtains and teeny tiny awkward shaped showers with no storage for amenities
-ALL the pools /spas in the complex close on a Friday for cleaning ( a strange choice of days, I think, why not choose a Monday or Tuesday?!) annoyingly, we were not told prior, when we checked in, the day before. A little common courtesy goes a long way when temperatures are reaching over 35 degrees! ( to their credit, they did offer a beach umbrella for me to walk to the beach with my 9 month old child as an alternative; this was only when I scoffed at the hide to charge for this too, on a day all the pools were closed!!!)
- reception closes at 5pm sharp ( this is absolutely fine, but so too, does the main entrance which is the centre of the arched layout for apartments, so you need to walk all the way round the complex if your apartment/s are closest to reception.
-The only entry after 5pm, is through the caged fences surrounding the property- it feels like a prison in broad daylight, at times!
- 2 bedroom apartment has only 1 car space, a 2nd car needs to be paid for.
- in the 4 days we stayed, no housekeeping came to the apartment to service or provide fresh linen- we didn't mind but we half expected maybe every 2nd day to have a touch up clean etc.
- a call ahead to apartments, they kindly explained that no cot linen would be provided, and that there would be a fee to provide the sheets, despite us bringing our own cot. We opted to BYO.
- no suitable trolleys to transport luggage to apartments ( sorry i don't count the few stolen IGA trolleys near reception as a mode of luggage transport !)
- access to entry to the apartments is stairs. There are 2 levels in complex, so if you were on 1 st floor apartments be prepared to carry baggage.
- the children's playground seems like an, after thought and Is in the back, dark corner of the complex, near the bottle shop and tavern. Not well maintained, and not appealing as in pics, even on a clear day.
- Friday / Saturday night the Tavern next door , promotes entertainment from 2pm, the "entertainment" is girls!
- continual walky talky communications can be heard throughout property, as the staff have the volume up very loud, on their receivers . So whilst in my apartment, with the doors closed, I could hear reception making contacting for maintainence / housekeeping requests via this communication method. Not so peaceful when laying beside the pool either.
Over all, there seem to be many many rules/ conditions for this property that interfere with allowing a young family to relax and enjoy a break away. It seems mostly occupied with elderly couples who seem to really enjoy the out dated decor and prison like, retirement village feel......just not for us, on this occasion or in the near future.its such a shame , as the outdoor pool is just a great feature for the property,and just as stunning, as in the pics!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the housekeeping storage room! Staff voices carry throughout complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SydneyGlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Normally we would welcome feedback, whether negative or positive, from guests as it allows us to ensure our business is run and developing to suit our clientele. However when we receive reviews such as this that are incorrect we feel it is only reasonable to point this out.

You state that the Resort has many hidden costs and extras however all guests to Silver Sands Resort receive an email or posted confirmation of their booking within 48 hours of the booking being confirmed. With a group booking this information is forward to the principal of the group for distribution.

With this confirmation we attach an information sheet that advises all guests of items such as:
• pool closures for Health Department regulatory maintenance
• parking availability and charges for additional vehicles
• sundry items provided in rooms (ie coffee, tea, soap, detergents)
• internet availability and charges
• other important information regarding their stay.

In addition to this we again email all guests 1 week prior to their arrival with an additional information sheet that again confirms this information and also advises guests of any special events or changes during the period of their stay.

We do request that people do not use our bathroom towels at the pool as the oils from suntan lotions and sunscreens are damaging and stain the materials. We do advise that as each apartment has a washer and dryer provided you can bring your own beach towels or alternatively we charge $2 per pool towel for the duration of your stay. This covers the costs of purchasing and laundering these extra towels.

A WiFi service has been purchased for guest usage and a small charge levied to cover the costs of the service and the additional computer and printer provided for our guests usage. Should you not wish to use this service you have an alternative to use your own WiFi or we are able to direct you to alternate internet cafes. However, I again remind you that your booking confirmation advised you of these charges prior to your arrival.

Our pools are closed for Health Department Regulatory maintenance on a Friday. As Silver Sands Resort is primarily a timeshare property the majority of our guest arrivals and departures are on a Friday and therefore the minimum number of guests are disrupted by the closure at these times. It is unfortunate that your stay was affected by this closure for the 5 hours the pools are closed.

As a family oriented property and a members club Silver Sands Resort is fenced in order to provide a secure property for the enjoyment of all of our guests. These gates also deter unauthorised people from entering the property and disturbing our guests’ holidays.

Silver Sands Resort apartments are serviced on a weekly basis. We can carry out additional servicing at the guests request. At no time did you make us aware of your requirement for an additional service on your apartment.

Silver Sands Resort had a number of luggage trolleys specifically manufactured for our guests usage should you have enquired at reception. We can only assume that at the time you arrived the trolleys were in use by other guests. We request that you remove your false accusation of theft from this review immediately.

Our apartments have a small number of steps to the second floor with a landing in between. Should you have requested one of our staff would have happily assisted you with carrying your luggage to your apartment.

Unfortunately the activities and entertainment of businesses around the Resort are not within our control. If you had an issue with noise or misconduct from patrons at the business next door you could have advise us and we would have made contact with the owner of the business next door.

I would like to take the opportunity to remind you that your stay at Silver Sands Resort was as part of a very large group and at a significantly discounted rate. Our staff worked extremely hard to accommodate all of the special requirements and requests that your group made and we are pleased to say that the response from your group was overwhelmingly positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Silver Sands is a Timeshare Resort that is open to members and is available to the general public. The facilities at Silver Sands, along with the friendly helpful staff always make for a great holiday. Visit http://www.silversandsresort.com.au/ and watch the video to get an idea of all that the resort has to offer. This resort is 20+ years old but is very well maintained and facilities are continually updated in keeping with current trends. It's great for a relaxing break with plenty to see and do in Mandurah itself or take easy drives to historic towns, wine growing and unique and picturesque coastal areas nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenanpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and positive feedback. The managers and staff work hard to keep the Resort looking fresh and inviting for all of our guests.
We agree that at Silver Sands you can take time out to unwind and relax or take advantage of the many things to see and do at the Resort and the surrounding region.
We look forward to seeing you and your family the next time you visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandurah hotels
0.7 mi away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
548 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
1,009 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandurah Family Resort
Mandurah Family Resort
#6 of 7 in Mandurah
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dolphin Quay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Resort

Address: Corner Mandurah Terrace & Adonis Road, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mandurah
Price Range: $143 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self-contained apartment accommodation is the ideal way to experience one of Western Australia’s most popular coastal destinations. Just one hour’s drive south of Perth, life in Mandurah is centered around its vast inland waterways and abundance of beaches. Surrounding this estuary is the beautiful Peel Region with the City of Mandurah its epicentre. Boasting an astonishing aquatic playground and cosmopolitan lifestyle it's no wonder Mandurah is so popular to visit and one of WA’s best tourist destinations.With delightful restaurants and cafes, crystal clear blue water, and an abundance of activities for the whole family, Mandurah makes for a great getaway!Silver Sands Resort includes the folowing free facilities to all of our guests:•Play a round of Mini Golf•Take a dip in the indoor or outdoor heated pools•Relaxing in the indoor or outdoor heated spas•Sweat it out in the dry heat sauna•Have a hit on the full size tennis courts or if that’s too much try the half court •Take a stroll on the walking machines•Get the tastebuds sizzling at one of our 4 BBQs•Challenge the kids in the children’s games room•Or maybe hide from the kids in the adults only games room•Borrow a book from our club lounge library•Have a drink with the Resort Manager (Monday Welcome Drinks)•Free tour and attraction booking serviceTennis Courts and Squash Courts are available from 8am – 6pm daily. Use your own equipment or free hire of Resort equipment (excluding tennis balls). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Timeshare Hotel Mandurah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing