We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Sands Resort
Nearby Hotels
Foreshore Motel(Mandurah)(Great Value!)
$65
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Sebel Mandurah(Mandurah)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quest Mandurah(Mandurah)(Great Value!)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seashells Mandurah(Mandurah)(Great Value!)
$220
$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinjarra Resort(Pinjarra)
$86
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Heritage Country Motel(Armadale)(Great Value!)
$87
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Be. Fremantle(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
$144
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
47
68
17
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
68
17
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfsquash courtindoor and outdoor poolspub next doortennis courtstime sharecooler daysmin walk to the beachchildren's gamesrelaxing family holidaya great weekshopping centrespent a weektable tennisa great place to stayr rself catering
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 139 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a timeshare week stay at Silver Sands and can recommend it if you prefer to be not too near the city centre.
Having been to several timeshare resorts/hotels, I must recommend the facilities provided (including the pool, the full kitchen and laundry/dryer facilities which we used and even the BBQ pits), and of course, the great service from both the front-desk and the maintenance staff. We corresponded first to check on public transport from the airport and Brian and his colleague gave very specific instructions very quickly. Then, having read the reviews about some units, I asked if we could have an upstairs unit preferably with an ocean view and was allocated Unit 2 which gave us a clear view of the ocean from the bedroom window!
Indeed upon arrival at Mandurah Station, we were fortunate to meet Paula who accompanied us up the bus and told the driver where to alight us. When we requested access to the Lounge (which was then closed) to borrow some books, the maintenance staff willingly waited for me to choose my books; and when we met him another day, he asked about our books! And when we arrived, someone offered to carry our luggage up the stairs if required. Another maintenance staff also responded speedily when we had problems unlocking the door.
While we were there, we saw other guests using the BBQ pits as well and they were considerate in cleaning up after their use.
Overall, it was a great relaxing holiday for us with enough days to take leisurely walks to the Mandurah Centre, join a cruise or two, take the train into Perth and Fremantle and even followed the Burswood shuttle, meeting many friendly and kind residents on this shuttle.

Room Tip: Unit 2 is an upstairs one-bedroom unit which gives a good view of the ocean from the bedroom -- it's also right at the exit leading to the beach and the carpark. It's away from the main road and the next-door tavern and overlooks the BBQ pits (great if you're cooking there) and the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James13t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay in WA and at Silver Sands Resort.
We will pass on your kind thoughts to Paula, Brian and all of our other staff and look forward to you visiting with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at Silver Sands in October 2013. AND we LOVED IT, the staff - all of them were so helpfull, nothing seemed to be to much trouble or an effort. The YOGA class was just brilliant & would have loved to have gone to the water airobics (but it was not on). Thank-you again Silver Sands for making our holiday so so so relaxing, time went so slow, we were so relaxed. AND would reccommend you to all that we have talked to since returning to Victoria

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharynt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Silver Sands Resort and for your kind words. We love to hear back from our guests and especially when we hear that we have ensured that their holidays are enjoyable as yours appears to have been.
We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I wish I knew prior , of the added "extras" needing to pay for, on top of the nightly rate!

So in the interest of other guests contemplating a stay, be prepared for the following:

-$2 per beach towel and strict use of bath towels at pool.
- no such thing as free Wifi here! Another added cost.
-no shampoo/conditioners/bath gel in bathrooms
- shower curtains and teeny tiny awkward shaped showers with no storage for amenities
-ALL the pools /spas in the complex close on a Friday for cleaning ( a strange choice of days, I think, why not choose a Monday or Tuesday?!) annoyingly, we were not told prior, when we checked in, the day before. A little common courtesy goes a long way when temperatures are reaching over 35 degrees! ( to their credit, they did offer a beach umbrella for me to walk to the beach with my 9 month old child as an alternative; this was only when I scoffed at the hide to charge for this too, on a day all the pools were closed!!!)
- reception closes at 5pm sharp ( this is absolutely fine, but so too, does the main entrance which is the centre of the arched layout for apartments, so you need to walk all the way round the complex if your apartment/s are closest to reception.
-The only entry after 5pm, is through the caged fences surrounding the property- it feels like a prison in broad daylight, at times!
- 2 bedroom apartment has only 1 car space, a 2nd car needs to be paid for.
- in the 4 days we stayed, no housekeeping came to the apartment to service or provide fresh linen- we didn't mind but we half expected maybe every 2nd day to have a touch up clean etc.
- a call ahead to apartments, they kindly explained that no cot linen would be provided, and that there would be a fee to provide the sheets, despite us bringing our own cot. We opted to BYO.
- no suitable trolleys to transport luggage to apartments ( sorry i don't count the few stolen IGA trolleys near reception as a mode of luggage transport !)
- access to entry to the apartments is stairs. There are 2 levels in complex, so if you were on 1 st floor apartments be prepared to carry baggage.
- the children's playground seems like an, after thought and Is in the back, dark corner of the complex, near the bottle shop and tavern. Not well maintained, and not appealing as in pics, even on a clear day.
- Friday / Saturday night the Tavern next door , promotes entertainment from 2pm, the "entertainment" is girls!
- continual walky talky communications can be heard throughout property, as the staff have the volume up very loud, on their receivers . So whilst in my apartment, with the doors closed, I could hear reception making contacting for maintainence / housekeeping requests via this communication method. Not so peaceful when laying beside the pool either.
Over all, there seem to be many many rules/ conditions for this property that interfere with allowing a young family to relax and enjoy a break away. It seems mostly occupied with elderly couples who seem to really enjoy the out dated decor and prison like, retirement village feel......just not for us, on this occasion or in the near future.its such a shame , as the outdoor pool is just a great feature for the property,and just as stunning, as in the pics!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the housekeeping storage room! Staff voices carry throughout complex.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SydneyGlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Normally we would welcome feedback, whether negative or positive, from guests as it allows us to ensure our business is run and developing to suit our clientele. However when we receive reviews such as this that are incorrect we feel it is only reasonable to point this out.

You state that the Resort has many hidden costs and extras however all guests to Silver Sands Resort receive an email or posted confirmation of their booking within 48 hours of the booking being confirmed. With a group booking this information is forward to the principal of the group for distribution.

With this confirmation we attach an information sheet that advises all guests of items such as:
• pool closures for Health Department regulatory maintenance
• parking availability and charges for additional vehicles
• sundry items provided in rooms (ie coffee, tea, soap, detergents)
• internet availability and charges
• other important information regarding their stay.

In addition to this we again email all guests 1 week prior to their arrival with an additional information sheet that again confirms this information and also advises guests of any special events or changes during the period of their stay.

We do request that people do not use our bathroom towels at the pool as the oils from suntan lotions and sunscreens are damaging and stain the materials. We do advise that as each apartment has a washer and dryer provided you can bring your own beach towels or alternatively we charge $2 per pool towel for the duration of your stay. This covers the costs of purchasing and laundering these extra towels.

A WiFi service has been purchased for guest usage and a small charge levied to cover the costs of the service and the additional computer and printer provided for our guests usage. Should you not wish to use this service you have an alternative to use your own WiFi or we are able to direct you to alternate internet cafes. However, I again remind you that your booking confirmation advised you of these charges prior to your arrival.

Our pools are closed for Health Department Regulatory maintenance on a Friday. As Silver Sands Resort is primarily a timeshare property the majority of our guest arrivals and departures are on a Friday and therefore the minimum number of guests are disrupted by the closure at these times. It is unfortunate that your stay was affected by this closure for the 5 hours the pools are closed.

As a family oriented property and a members club Silver Sands Resort is fenced in order to provide a secure property for the enjoyment of all of our guests. These gates also deter unauthorised people from entering the property and disturbing our guests’ holidays.

Silver Sands Resort apartments are serviced on a weekly basis. We can carry out additional servicing at the guests request. At no time did you make us aware of your requirement for an additional service on your apartment.

Silver Sands Resort had a number of luggage trolleys specifically manufactured for our guests usage should you have enquired at reception. We can only assume that at the time you arrived the trolleys were in use by other guests. We request that you remove your false accusation of theft from this review immediately.

Our apartments have a small number of steps to the second floor with a landing in between. Should you have requested one of our staff would have happily assisted you with carrying your luggage to your apartment.

Unfortunately the activities and entertainment of businesses around the Resort are not within our control. If you had an issue with noise or misconduct from patrons at the business next door you could have advise us and we would have made contact with the owner of the business next door.

I would like to take the opportunity to remind you that your stay at Silver Sands Resort was as part of a very large group and at a significantly discounted rate. Our staff worked extremely hard to accommodate all of the special requirements and requests that your group made and we are pleased to say that the response from your group was overwhelmingly positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Silver Sands is a Timeshare Resort that is open to members and is available to the general public. The facilities at Silver Sands, along with the friendly helpful staff always make for a great holiday. Visit http://www.silversandsresort.com.au/ and watch the video to get an idea of all that the resort has to offer. This resort is 20+ years old but is very well maintained and facilities are continually updated in keeping with current trends. It's great for a relaxing break with plenty to see and do in Mandurah itself or take easy drives to historic towns, wine growing and unique and picturesque coastal areas nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenanpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and positive feedback. The managers and staff work hard to keep the Resort looking fresh and inviting for all of our guests.
We agree that at Silver Sands you can take time out to unwind and relax or take advantage of the many things to see and do at the Resort and the surrounding region.
We look forward to seeing you and your family the next time you visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I actually visited Silver Sands Resort when i was about 16 (9 years ago now!!!), now that i have come across it by chance on Trip Advisor, the trip was so good, i can remember it quite vividly.

Upon arrival the receptionist was kind, helpful and i felt as though we would have had all our demands met if we requested it.

We were promptly shown to our room which was clean, spacious and the little balcony to which we enjoyed breakfast on almost every morning overlooking the pool was a pleasure.

The accomodation has a large enough pool and swimming facilities, is close enough to local shops and is a short walk down to the glorious, white sandy beach.

I would love to return and stay here again and i urge you to consider if you are staying as a couple or family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank your for taking the time to provide a review of your experience at Silver Sands Resort. We are always delighted when people have enjoyed their stay with us and are kind enough to share their memories with other travellers.
We hope that you can make it across to stay with us again some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews