We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pagoda Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Como
Tom Price, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Business trip”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

great location, good parking. shower was a bit old, starting to show signs of wear and tear. Was pleased to see that you dont get much road noise as front rooms look over freeway. nice and quiet rooms. bit disappointed with room service, took a long time and when it finally arrived was cold. was too tired to have to wait again so just put up with it. food was good and was impressed with selection on menu. close to zoo and to shops and restaurants. close to city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigrr1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    98
    68
    22
    13
See reviews for
39
96
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently stayed at the Pagoda & found it to be very nice.
Just a warning on the mini bar. We made ourselves a cuppa & ate the packaged biscuits not realising that they were part of the mini bar, just assuming they were complimentary with the tea & coffee as we have found in other hotels we have stayed at.
When it came to paying the bill at the end ...... $9.30!!!! That's enough to buy 2-3 packets of biscuits. Outrageous!!
Also beware of the small packaged milk in the fridge ... A couple of ours must have been out of date as they curdled when poured into the tea and that was a pain as we didn't have many tea bags!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I was booked into Pagoda Resort and Spa for work recently and stayed two nights. I was given room 103 which faced the road. I was a little concerned that the room faced the highway and that there would be road noise which would prevent me from having a decent nights sleep. My concern was misplaced.
The rooms have double glazing which wipes out any outside noise, the bedrooms are lovely and large and the beds are comfy. The bathroom is a little dated, but spotless and perfectly serviceable. There was a washing machine in the room so would be great if you were staying for a few days and needed to do laundry.
I didnt use the spa, gym or pool facilities so will not comment on them.
I didn't order room service, but did have a look at the Room Bar prices. They are on the high side.
The restaurant is a bit hit and miss - the first night I had a great meal, the second night was 'just okay' - nothing fab. A pint of coke (pulled from a machine - not bottled) cost me $7.

Breakfast was good. A bit pricey for what you get, but that is Perth for you!
Staff service was excellent.
Would I stay there again - if I wanted to be located between Perth City and Freo - yes!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBehavingAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I purchased two nights accommodation under their "Hot Weekends" offer, which meant I paid $390. This was for the two nights in a king size room, with a spa, buffet breakfast daily, and a bottle of sparkling on arrival!

The hotel is nice and clean, a swift check-in, free street parking is available, or pay $15 per night for secure parking.

The room was a decent size, being on the first floor, we had a great view of the Freeway! From higher up you would be able to see more of the river I am sure. The bottle of wine included in the package was $45 on the wine list, so nice to see they didn't give us the cheapest available. There is a washing machine/dryer which would be perfect if staying longer, and two little fridges. I have to say, the price of the mini-bar is absolutely outrageous! $5.65 for a 600ml bottle of still water, $9.90 for a sports drink, $9.95 for a small bag of cashews, or a cup of instant noodles! I would normally have at least waters, maybe other snacks or beverages out of the mini-bar, but certainly not at those prices! The bathroom was a good size, all nice and clean, bed was quite comfy, but the pillows - not so much.

On the first night we ordered room service, $20 for a margarita pizza, $27.50 for a beef burger, $22 for a steak sandwich, and two desserts at $15.50 each - all not too terrible, despite the high price for the burger - everything was cooked nicely though and quite tasty!

The buffet breakfast was great! Very nice selections both hot and cold, nice breakfast room setting, not much staff about though when I wanted some additional napkins!

We went to have a few drinks before heading out for dinner on the second night, the restuarant and bar area was closed for a wedding function, so they had made a make-shift restaurtant/bar in a smaller function room down the back. This was not ideal, and they were not making cocktails that required a blender. Poor service, just because there is a wedding on does not mean you neglect the rest of the hotel guests! We decided to go to the Windsor for pre-dinner drinks instead.

Decent price for a spa room, nice location, pleasant and comfortable, will keep in mind for other weekend getaways!

Room Tip: Go for the Hot Weekends package, very good deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danik_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel was quite pleasant although we had the room with a balcony overlooking the pool..big mistake! Very noisy until late at night.The bed was very comfy and the room lovely and clean.Most of the staff were very friendly but a couple could have done with a personality makeover.Our problem with this hotel is the price of the rooms!Definately over priced!Would we stay again??probably not.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeaniesue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here one night early June to attend a business seminar. I had room 229 on the second floor and at the rear of the establishment. Very quiet, no noise and great to sleep. No views at all but that didn't bother me because I was there for work reasons. I found the room to be more than adequate with two bar fridges, one full of million dollar items and one empty so you can stow your own items. That was a good idea. Also my room had a washer dryer in bathroom and again another good idea for a longer stay. Although my room was a bit dated, it was very clean and very comfortable. I agree with other posts here in regard to age, the pool and so on, but the Pagoda is brilliantly located to be just out of the city but nearby to the river, shops, zoo and a cinema. I stayed at the Pagoda years ago with my family for a week or so and I thought it was a bit more 'alive' during that time. In regards to the business venue, it is typical of any establishment that hosts workshops, seminars and meetings and it had all the usual facilities to do so. I would rate it as average simply because it is no different to others I have been to. The main downside to the Pagoda is the cost. I felt the cost for meals and drinks to be just short of declared theft. For example a stubby (small bottle) of VB beer cost just under $10 at around 9.60 I think. So if you purchased a carton of 24 you would pay $230!! and for those of you reading this from overseas, the same carton would cost around $44 at a local liquor shop. Now the price of someone passing you that beer across the bar or walking to your table, still would not justify the price. Other than the cost for meals and drinks, I still feel the Pagoda to be one of the better establishments I have stayed.

Room Tip: Towards the rear of the hotel for a quiet room, but overlooking the pool if you want a bit of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoatGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very romantic secluded place. Very clean. Happy, friendly staff. Room was adequate with large bed, good views and a relaxing spa. Value for money. Hotel is close to city, which is adequately located to tourist attractions and fantastic restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernesto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metro Hotel Perth
#1 of 3 in South Perth
477 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Resort & Spa

Property: Pagoda Resort & Spa
Address: 112 Melville Pde, Como, Western Australia 6152, Australia (Formerly Esplanade River Suites)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pagoda Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pagoda Resort & Spa is superbly nestled on the banks of Perth's spectacular Swan River just 5 minutes to the CBD in South Perth, with easy access to freeways North and South, Perth Zoo and local restaurants and cafes. Offering a choice of Superior and Deluxe Rooms, One and Two Bedroom Apartments and Suites,all with spa baths and some with river, pool or parkland views. With extensive facilites available onsite including heated outdoor pool, fitness centre, conference and business facilities, secure car parking or free street parking and Waterwall Restaurant & Bar, Pagoda Resort & Spa is the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pagoda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade River Hotel Como
Broadwater Pagoda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing