We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pagoda Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Como
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice rooms, friendly staff. Good shallow area in pool for young kids to play in - though the pool is definitely not heated as claimed. Mini bar is ridiculous - over $5 for a chocolate??!!
Expensive rooms but nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 276 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

When visiting Perth, beggers can't be choosers. This place was the right price and provided you don't need to be in the city, it's not a bad option. The rooms were okay and I chose not to dine onsite. I had a look at the prices for dinner and the buffet for breakfast and choose neither. A breakfast menu would have been nice. A short walk to the Como shops on preston st will keep you out of trouble.  

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VH-MJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Compared to many other hotels in Perth, we found the Esplanade River Suites in Como to offer excellent value for money.
Our room was well equipped with two fridges, coffee making facilities, a spa!!
Very clean and spacious.
Check-in and out was quick and easy.
I will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in a balcony room overlooking the pool area. The staff member upon check in didn't explain anything to me like how to get to the pool area or where the lifts were or access to the restaurant etc. The rooms use cards that need to be inserted to ensure that electrics can be switched on, it would have been ice to have been told this. The room was small, the washing machine is abutted up next to the toilet and the toilet paper is on the far wall making it impossible to reach. The bed didn't have a Doona/ cover just a sheet which is fine in the e ening but freezing in the small hours. The mini bar is over priced with a $10 bottle of white wine being $30 and cans of soft drink $6 and water $5.50. The fridge in the room wasn't working properly. The wifi is not free as as advertised and is $27 for 24 hours and parking is an extra $15. For the $390 I paid for the room I definitely would have expected more. The toaster Nd kettle were old and dirty. I have stayed I. A lot of hotels all over WA and you can get much better value for money.

Room Tip: The third floor was boiling hot and the tiny balcony was facing the afternoon sun making it impossib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks on a business trip. The location was excellent with easy access to the city, and with good local amenities - shops, restaurants etc. Despite being next to the freeway it was quiet inside, and especially in our room at the back. The interior of the room was okay - nothing special but perfectly adequate and clean. The only real problem was the tiny fridge, and that the studio apartments are not really meant for cooking in. The bathroom was okay and the washer worked fine. The spa bath was a bit unnecessary given the water shortage in Perth but the shower over the bath was much better than the usual shower over a regular bath.
The weather was very hot whilst we were there so having the pool to cool down in at the end of the afternoon was good - quite a nice pool but they could do with cleaning the plant debris out more frequently.
We ate once at the pagoda restaurant - my food was pretty ordinary - whilst my wife's seemed to be better, but the prices were I thought a bit more than they could justify for the quality of food, but then food prices in Perth are pretty silly now.
My biggest gripe was the charge for wifi, and with so many places now offering free wifi I really can't see why this doesn't become standard. It doesn't cost much to provide and the charges are simple greed and profiteering. The website I booked with advertised free wifi so I wasn't pleased to be asked to pay.
Overall it was a good place to stay, not perfect but compared with prices in the CBD not too bad value.

Room Tip: probably best facing away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a room at the rear of the property on the second floor. It was exceptionally quiet. Every aspect of our stay was excellent. Smooth check in and check out. Delightful staff. The service in the dining room was flawless. Nice pool. Reasonable priced off street, secure, easy access parking. Very close to the city and zoo. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Skip the view and request a nice quiet room out the back with a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enjoy-the-nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My room overlooked the Freeway & the Swan River. Noise level was fine. Service was just OK. When I checked out the staff member processed my credit card transaction, handed me the receipt & after I said "thanks" she just put her head down & kept working. No thanks or goodbye from her so off I went. Room service for dinner was fine although my tray was still outside the door in the morning. Free parking in the street is great. The rooms are OK although a little "90's" & getting tired. When the hotel is refurbished one day it will be fantastic as it is such a great location & it feels safe & secure while you are there. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tess1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
0.3 mi away
Broadwater Resort Apartments
1.4 mi away
The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
1.7 mi away
Metro Hotel Perth
Metro Hotel Perth
#1 of 3 in South Perth
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Novotel Perth Langley
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,419 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Resort & Spa

Address: 112 Melville Pde, Como, Western Australia 6152, Australia (Formerly Esplanade River Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Como
Price Range: $110 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pagoda Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pagoda Resort & Spa is superbly nestled on the banks of Perth's spectacular Swan River just 5 minutes to the CBD in South Perth, with easy access to freeways North and South, Perth Zoo and local restaurants and cafes. Offering a choice of Superior and Deluxe Rooms, One and Two Bedroom Apartments and Suites,all with spa baths and some with river, pool or parkland views. With extensive facilites available onsite including heated outdoor pool, fitness centre, conference and business facilities, secure car parking or free street parking and Waterwall Restaurant & Bar, Pagoda Resort & Spa is the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pagoda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade River Hotel Como
Broadwater Pagoda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing