We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Como Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Como B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our family of five stayed over from 9 Aug evening to 11 Aug evening. The hosts Helen and Don Barrett were excellent in making us feel welcome and at home. The accommodation was immaculately clean, maintaining the standards of a good hotel except that the setting of two connecting rooms and a small living area with a balcony made you feel right at home. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking an inexpensive yet comfortable short stay in Perth.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank SivaramanLetchumanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comobed, Manager at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you S & S for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you and your three very polite children stay with us here. We would be happy to welcome you all here to stay with us in the future. Regards Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Como Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 125 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here so briefly on an overnight stopover, but were delighted with our choice. We usually stay close to the airport, but all "airport accommodation" was booked out, so we needed to look a little further afield. We arrived late from the airport, received a very warm welcome and orientation to our rooms, were provided with taxi phone numbers and then left to our quiet, luxurious accommodation - immaculately clean, stylish, and roomy, with a bedroom, ensuite robe, toilet, large bathroom with choice of bath or shower, lounge with big TV and kitchenette with ample tea, coffee and breakfast supplies. The big comfortable bed and quiet surrounds afforded much needed sleep. When we tried to creep out without disturbing anyone at 4.30am for our taxi back to the airport, our host kindly materialised to open the door and wave us goodbye. Brilliant accommodation! We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiddleAgedHippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comobed, Manager at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you J for your review. It was the shortest stay we have ever had and I hope that your flights were on time for you. We would surely enjoy having you return to stay with us in the future. Regards Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Como Bed and Breakfast, the first day we arrived in Perth. We arrived early in the morning. Helen had given my wife clear instructions on how to get to Como. Thankfully to my GPS and Helen's instructions, we arrived safely. It's a beautiful 2 storey house in a very safe suburb.
Helen's husband even made the effort to wake up at 2am to greet us and made sure we were comfortable. The room was lovely, bathroom extremely clean and comfortable. Outside the room, is a small pantry where you can find milk, bread, water, coffee and almost everything you need. There's a order form for you to indicate your preference for breakfast.
In the morning, Helen cooked up a storm and prepared one of the most wonderful breakfast my wife and I have ever had. The waffles were lovely. So was the English breakfast.
Too bad she was booked through the week. We were hoping to stay with them again after our trip to Margaret River.
If you ever visit Perth, do stay with Helen. It's money well spent and you'll feel very much at home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilfyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comobed, Owner at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you both so much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us. It was a pity that I could only give you the one night. I hope we can welcome you to stay on some other occasion though. Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here just after my long flight. The hosts are so lovely and helpful. Very quite, clean and peaceful place. Wonderful breakfast after great sleep!!! Wish I could stay longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harumi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time out in your busy life to write such a lovely review. I really appreciate it. Hope to see you again. Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My stay at Como B&B was fantastic and what you see in the photos on the website are what you get. VERY CLEAN. Breakfast was delicious and Helen the host was very helpful and accommodating in all aspects. I had a hire car and parking was so easy and convenient. Also walked to the river and over Mt Henry bridge, lovely location. I stayed solo but would love to take my family back for any short stays that we have in Perth, so much more home like than a hotel and great with a park across the road. Bed was very comfortable and had an electric blanket. Also had heating and a split system that I could use as I pleased, great for the very cold days when I was there. Helen also added an extra blanket for me when it got colder. Thanks for a lovely stay Helen.

Room Tip: Book off the COMO B&B website, if you are a single the price is cheaper than other sites if they...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FREDmc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

We hope to see you and perhaps all the family next time. Thank you for making the time to write such a great review for us. Regards Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Wonderful hosts, great location, exquisite service, fantastic breakfast. Yep, must admit this is the best B&B we have stayed at for a very long time. Myself, wife and daughter stayed at the Como B&B for one night in early June 2012 and now wish we had stayed longer. Nothing was too much trouble. Helen will definitely pamper you all the way, without being intrusive. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable and the rooms are of a good size. The B&B area is located privately upstairs at the front of the house with views from the balcony to the park. Parking for a car is provided. Public Transport (Bus stops) are nearby. The decor is wonderful and the quality of furniture and fittings is excellent. Everything is provided for a comfortable stay, including a good size fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle, etc. The bathroom is roomy with double sink, bath and large shower, with ceiling heat lamps for those chilly mornings. The breakfast is varied from full English breakfast or delicious pancakes down to just toast. An assortment of breakfast cereals and jams are provided in the kitchenette section, along with milk, butter and yogurt in the fridge, plus an assortment of teabags and coffee. A separate lounge/dining area is very pleasant, with an assortment of DVD movies available to watch on the flat screen TV. The balcony is accessed from the lounge and is provided with a table and chairs, so you can enjoy your breakfast from the balcony if preferred. On our arrival we were greeted by orchids and a chocolate on the beds, and a platter of fresh fruit, with the addition of the morning newspaper provided complementary ... It's the little extra thought that counts. Five BIG STARS !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevs-Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you Kevin for your wonderful review. I really do appreciate the time you have taken to write this and I hope that future guests will be able to book with confidence after reading your detailed review. We certianly enjoyed having the three of you stay with us and hope to see you again when you need a Perth stay over.
Regards Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were looking for a comfortable accommodation close to the city for just one night before driving down to Margaret River. I decided on Como B&B after reading all the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor. We were lucky that there was availability on that one day (3 June) as Como B&B is very popular and it looks like most people book way ahead.

Como B&B is everything the other reviewers have said and more. You get the entire upstairs to yourselves as Helen only takes one booking at a time. This was ideal as we were travelling with our 2 kids (aged 13 and 15). It felt like home, having your own sitting area with sofas and TV, a dining table with kitchenette (including a fridge and microwave). The 2 bedrooms have a shared ensuite and both bedrooms come with air-conditioners. I must say that the beds were the most comfortable I've slept on in Perth as most beds in WA accommodation tend to be too soft for my liking. The fridge is stocked with juice, milk, butter, bread (for breakfast) but you can have it anytime you want, really. When we returned from dinner, Helen came by with a plate of cut fruits. Though it meant for breakfast, she figured that we might want it for dessert while watching TV; and she was right!

The big plus for the kids was the wi-fi access. In most WA hotels/serviced apartment chains, there is a separate charge for this and more annoyingly, the 3rd party service provider for wi-fi often allow only one device to be connected at a time. At Como, the wi-fi works like the wi-fi at home, so the ipods, ipad, iphones, laptops all connected easily.

Breakfast was delicious and Helen even brought us the papers and a freshly made cappuccino when we were done. We felt thoroughly spoilt!

We will definitely be staying here the next time we're in Perth.. Thank you Helen!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplePleasures_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comobed, Owner at Como Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you Vanessa for your lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We would love to welcome you and your charming children again to stay.
PS. Thanks for the power point instruction.
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metro Hotel Perth
#1 of 3 in South Perth
514 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 65 in Perth
299 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Como Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Como Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2A Bickley Cres, Como, Western Australia 6152, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Como
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range: $126 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Como Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Como Bed and Breakfast is only 10 minutes by car from the CBD in Perth. It is situated in a quiet suburban street opposite a beautiful park and lake with children's playground and facilities. It has most of the facilities that you would find in any hotel with spacious rooms and en-suite. Menu cooked breakfast is complimentary along with a platter of fresh sliced seasonal fruits each day. Unlimited tea and coffee, free WIFI, free parking, robes, toiletries and day's newspaper are just some of the little extras that are all included. Only one booking is taken at a time so whether you are a single person or a family of up to five you do not share facilities with other guests having your own lounge/dining area and private balcony. Breakfast is served to you upstairs each morning. We are Family Friendly too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Como Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing