We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Delicious”

The Flying Nun Cafe
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Samford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $27
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dine inside Samford's old Uniting Church - a converted rainforest cafe garden with colourful stained glass windows, mosaics and sculptures galore. Taste chef's seasonal menu of produce from the veggie patch out back washed down with wine and craft beers. There's also sweets such as unique cordials, syrups and tea for sale.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A lovely way to spend Morning tea with friends. The Toffee Apple cake was just beautiful, melted in my mouth. Quaint atmosphere with a lovely gift shop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeaganPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    97
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This lovely place is great.. Used to be church.. Eccentric set up.. Went for breakfast and the food was lovely .. Service was great and we even ordered a slice of their chocolate cake to go.. And it was divine.. Can't fault this place! Friendly staff.. Recommend booking as there is a constant flow of people..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great little gem for a weekend breakfast.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This place has great coffee and good food! Gets really busy on weekends but worth a wait.
Home made/ real honest food is the key to its success.
Nice atmosphere and comfortable tables to spend a Sunday morning at.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gastronachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
634 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Brunch is delicious and the design of the restaurant/ambience makes the experience even better. It gets quite busy so I recommend booking in advance. There's cute gifts available to purchase too. The food is reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kristyrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quirky, busy... fabulous!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stumbled upon this little gem, only to recall that we had heard good things about it in the past.

Being a Saturday lunch time, the place was packed...and despite us not having a reservation, they squeezed us inside. Quick, attentive service.

The menu was a delightful surprise, packed full of healthy, tasty, modern café options...beautifully presented and delicious! We ordered the prawn melt with salad (and grilled chicken on the side, which I'd like to add was THE BEST grilled chicken I have ever eaten...anywhere, ever. ) and the dip trio with crusty bread. A nice iced chocolate and great cappuccino coffee topped it off.

Next time, I will order a slice of the amazing-looking 'moist raspberry and coconut cake' displayed in the cabinet! Mouth-watering...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyni_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Nun Cafe also viewed

Samford, Queensland
Samford, Queensland
 
Samford, Queensland
 

Been to The Flying Nun Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing