We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was nice... Wouldn't say Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Busselton
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
WA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Was nice... Wouldn't say Great!”
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This hotel is nice but over priced. Heated indoor pool was very I mean very cold. Spa next to pool was lovely. No dryer in apartment. Booking came with 2 undercover car parks but only got one. Bed-heads were very dirty and there was rubbish under the bed. Bathrooms are very small in apartments. We had to get the maintenance man down 3 times on the first night, as the spa, air-con and TV didn't work. I would stay again but wouldn't pay $350 a night again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubystarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    289
    61
    18
    2
See reviews for
220
283
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Had a few issues with the GPS telling us the apartments were on the main highway. I called the hotel and they confirmed it happens alot but finally found it. Stayed one night in a Studio Spa Room close to the main gate. Nice room and very spacious with a big balcony and a good size bathroom. Hotel grounds were very nice and the beach at the back of the hotel is amazing, especially for sunsets. No restaurant in the grounds but its only a 7kms drive back into town. Paid $180 AUD on lastminute.com which I felt was good value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benched1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunbury wa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in a two bedroom appartment. It was very spacious and clean. Our children enjoyed the pool area very much. Indoor pool was just the right temperature. The only bad thing was an invasion of ants after the first night. We left our take away boxes on the kitchen sink and in the morning the were ants all over the kitchen bench. A quick call to the front desk and house keeping were there within 20 mins. They also cleaned up the dead ants when we went out for awhile. We will return with our bikes next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob64_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

After staying recently at the Bayview Geographe Bay Resort (right next door) I was thrilled at the level of service and amentities provided by this hotel.
The reception staff were lovely and couldn't be more helpful and it was GREAT to see smiling faces.
The room my husband and I occupied was just recently refurbished and it was beautiful.
It was modern and the decor tastfully done.
Thank you Grand Mercure for a delightful stay. We will be back....
As for the Bayview.....forget it.....you don't deserve a 4 star rating!!!!! Peek over the fence and see how a real hotel is run!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We ended up checking into the Grand Mercure because our orginial accomodation was so bad we had to leave. I phoned the Grand at 8pm at night to see if they could fit us in the next day, the lady on the front desk of the Grand couldn't have been more helpful. NOt only did she let us check in early the next day, but upgraded our room and in general ensured our holiday with the kids was something to remember. Our children love it, we had a great time our holiday had been saved, we will be back. Its good to see some resort are switch on to customer service - well done keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidstravelPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We booked a Studio Spa Room, with Continental Breakfast included in the tariff, for three nights in the school holiday period. We did not particularly want the breakfast included but had no choice of deleting it in the booking process. One of the features which attracted us to this hotel was the "two stunning pools (one indoor heated)" as we intended to entertain our 8 and 5 year old grandchildren over this period.
The studio room was as we would expect for a four star establishment. The breakfast, which had to be requested from an extremely short list by 7-00 pm the evening before, was derisory. A packet of cereal, two slices of bread, a sachet of batter and a sachet of jam and a sachet of instant coffee were placed outside the door between 7-00 and 7-15. Milk, kettle and toaster were provided in the room. We did not bother requesting this tray for the 2nd and 3rd mornings of our 3 day stay.
On the first day, the room was serviced around 2-30pm but on the second day it was not serviced at all. I was given clean towels (and an apology) at Reception when I asked for them at 5-00pm.
The first day there was cold and blustery. We took our grandchildren to the pool and, while the spa section was warm and popular, the pool was neither. It was too cold for anyone to stay in it for more than a couple of minutes during the time we were there.
Generally, the facilities were good for a holiday location but they were not geared to inclement weather. The serviced rooms were cleaned late or, worse still, not at all. The breakfast was deplorable. On checking out, when asked to comment on my stay, I ventured to comment on the failure to clean the room and was told that "they have been quite busy, you know."

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monika40Fremantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed at the Mercure Busselton in Aug 09 for only one night. Walk in rate seemed reasonable - $188, not including breakfast.

Room was a hotel room type and quite nice, big spa and shower quite big also.
Location was also very nice, right on the beach at Busselton, a few kilometres from the town centre.
I agree with a previous comment about the noise from other rooms – I noticed I could hear our next door neighbour watching the football. Lucky for me they turned it off early, but I can imagine if you were next to someone who watched TV quite late then there would be problems.

Lots of on-site entertainment for children, indoor and outdoor pools, games room, gym and squash.

My only issue was getting locked out in the morning after an early morning walk on the beach – I recommend anyone else doing this to check that their card has been programmed to get back in the security gates before they go out – it could be quite a long walk around to return to the front of the hotel. Lucky for me after about 20 minutes of roaming around trying all the locked doors and gates, another patron was coming back and let me in. My husband mentioned this to them on checkout and they really didn’t seem to care.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
16.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
472 reviews
24.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Busselton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Busselton

Property: The Sebel Busselton
Address: The Sebel Busselton 553 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Busselton)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
#3 Green Hotel in Busselton
#4 Family Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Busselton 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic 2 1/2 hour drive south of Perth, The Sebel Busselton offers a perfect beachfront escape on the edge of the gorgeous Geographe Bay. The hotel is your gateway to the amazing Margaret River wine region, featuring not only wineries but also restaurants, art galleries and stunning coastlines. Ideal for families and couples, the four star hotel features 75 self contained apartments, tennis and squash, heated indoor spa, heated indoor and outdoor pool, gym, bike paths, games room and kids club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Busselton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Busselton Hotel Busselton
Grand Accor Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing