We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Busselton
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We love the location of Geographe Bay for a family holiday and have stayed at other accommodation along this strip. The Sebel measures up with facilities and our stay for four nights was relaxing, easy and enjoyable. The location to the beach is by far the best feature. Our apartment was clean and well kept and the parking space out the front was very convenient. I have two gripes that I think need to be mentioned. Firstly, our family arrived at 2:30pm to check in only to be told that the room was not ready and would be about another hour. We finally checked in just after 4pm. The staff were hardly sympathetic and just complained about staff shortages. Not a great start to our stay. Secondly, I did not allow my kids to swim in the outdoor pool as there were hundreds of back swimmers (tiny water insects) thriving in the pool. This, in my experience, meant that the chlorene levels were far to low and I was worried about health issues that could come from a poorly maintained pool. We kept our swimming to the beautiful beach only two minutes walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_M74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Lisa_M74,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Busselton. We are sorry to read that you did not feel comfortable with allowing your children to use the swimming pool. Unfortunately the swimmers in the pool do occur during the peak of summer. Please be assured that the chemical levels are checked in line with the council guidelines. The insects are harmless and cleaning of the pool is increased during this period.
We do hope that despite this and the late check in you all enjoyed your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    289
    61
    18
    2
See reviews for
220
283
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

First I have to say that ordinarily I would have rated this hotel as very good. It has a great indoor and outdoor swimming pool complex and is right next door to a small IGA and a few restaurants. It is also walking distance (a bit further but barely 5 mins) to the Broadwater Beach Hotel Bar and restaurant which was very handy. There is also a young kids playroom and older kids playroom and tennis. The room was great with enough facilities and crockery and free BBQ outside as well. TV with a lot of the usual terrestrial and satellite channels and movies for kids and adults on dedicated channels. So why the poor rating I hear you ask? PARKING or lack of!! Each apartment has a single parking space but it is not numbered and on several occasions I had to park outside because there was no room - this was not an uncommon issue - each night if you were back later than about 16:00 - no parking space! When unloading and packing and getting kids in and out

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DadMum2SmlKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear DadMum2SmlKids,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Busselton. We are so sorry that the parking caused you dissatisfaction and inconvenience. Unfortunately over this peak season we did experience a number of guests not parking in the correct spaces.
We do hope that this did not detract from an otherwise enjoyable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment - number 15. It was clean, air conditioning worked well, nice bathrooms - no complaints at all. Check in was really quick and easy and we were given an excellent dinner recommendation. The absolute best thing was the location to the beach - the dedicated path was clearly marked and it was a very easy 2 minute walk to beach, which was very quiet on both of our visits, it felt a bit private and secluded, which we absolutely loved! We used this as our base to visit Margaret River and it was great, I'd go back again for sure and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazy4travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear crazy4travelgirl,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review after your stay at The Sebel Busselton. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the close proximity to the great beach.
Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

From the second we entered the lobby the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very tidy and well planned out. The resort is a quick walk to the beach plus they have everything there! Security cards to keep it to residents only was a nice touch. Loved it so much we stayed an extra night.

On the Bussel highway so getting around is really easy.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear anth g,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Busselton. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that you added an extra night.
We look forward to welcoming you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

we stayed here for the third time. this time for xmas.
took the whole family had a ball
lots to do pools, games room for the kids, 2 mins from beach
only 1 small issue some things need updating
have already booked for next xmas

Room Tip: make sure you take some extra cutlery if entertaining
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear steve c,
Welcome Back and thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Busselton. It is always great to hear from our repeat guests. The refurbishment of the apartments is now almost complete, so we are confident that for your next visit any things you felt needed updating will be addressed.
Again, we thank you and look forward to seeing you next Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

After arriving at 2.20pm we were told the room was not yet ready and they were short staffed (check in time is listed as 2pm). I may have believed this was a one-off had I not already read other reviews on this site noting that rooms were not ready on arrival. I asked when the room would be ready and I was told around 3pm and they would call us. It is now 3.50pm - still waiting for that call. A very disappointing experience already and we have not even checked in yet. And for the price? Inexcusable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Rachel B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologise profusely for the delay in check in upon your arrival. We trust that you did enjoyed your stay with us and that the late check in did not detract too much from a great holiday. Our General Manager has asked that you contact him directly should you wish to make a reservation to stay in the future.
Again, we apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
16.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
472 reviews
24.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Busselton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Busselton

Property: The Sebel Busselton
Address: The Sebel Busselton 553 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Busselton)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Green Hotel in Busselton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
#4 Family Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Busselton 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic 2 1/2 hour drive south of Perth, The Sebel Busselton offers a perfect beachfront escape on the edge of the gorgeous Geographe Bay. The hotel is your gateway to the amazing Margaret River wine region, featuring not only wineries but also restaurants, art galleries and stunning coastlines. Ideal for families and couples, the four star hotel features 75 self contained apartments, tennis and squash, heated indoor spa, heated indoor and outdoor pool, gym, bike paths, games room and kids club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Busselton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Busselton Hotel Busselton
Grand Accor Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing