We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Busselton
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our two nights in a studio room was fantastic. Beautiful, clean room with great facilities and comfy beds. The spa was wonderful and the service good. Laundry nearby, pools, activities, near a supermarket, beach bar and restaurant, few minutes from busselton too! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 656 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was a surprise 2 night short stay for my wife & I to relax during the holiday season.
It was an overall pleasant stay for both of us as we could appreciate the difficulties of keeping all aspect up during peak holiday season.
The location was perfectly situated near the beach side, with enough on-site amenities to complement the family & couples alike. The staff were friendly enough but there is an underlying strains showing as they were not able to offer much assistance for some of our requests below:

Cons
- Even after requesting an earlier check-in at 12pm, we arrived at the normal check-in time of 2pm, but the room were still not available till nearly 4pm. We were advised the housekeeping were having troubles keeping up with the peak season. Thankfully, I was able to negotiate a slightly later check out time of 11am (10am normally)
- Room services were slow as the housekeeping were clearly snowed under during the peak season. Despite asking for housekeeping while we left the room at 11am, they were only able to attend to our room AFTER we arrived back after 3pm.
- insufficient car bays as there were clearly too many cars in the resort during this period. We had to park our car outside the resort complex for one night as a result.

Pros
- the double Spa in our spa studio apartment was ample for our enjoyment, the water pressure & tap was pleasantly large enough to fill the spa in a reasonable time
- free internet stations in the reception was a plus, though there were no WiFi access, a major disappointment as many hotels are now offering complimentary WiFi as a norm these days. The LAN access is limited unless you have laptop during holiday
- the indoor jacuzzi & swimming pool provides a welcome relief from the heat when the sun was boring down on the outdoor pool
- Bring your gym kit & running shoes as there are gymnasium, games room (ping pong), squash courts if you are feeling fitness inclined. There are also bikes for hire ($10/hr) but we didn't make use of it as we felt it was a bit pricey
- Short walk to the Broadwaters Bar & Cafe next door, which we enjoyed a great dining experience one night

Room Tip: - All the spa studio apartments are located in the front building near reception (Unit 64-88). - A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Sebel Busselton. It is pleasing that you had a pleasant stay and found the location to be perfect and the facilities to be appropriate for all types of travellers.

It is disappointing that your room was not ready when you arrived at the Resort and I would like to apologise to you for this. As you mention this time of year can be challenging and unfortunately there are times when we are caught short. In this instance the housekeeping team did find themselves unable to complete the cleaning of all of the rooms by 2.00pm. To ensure rooms are ready as early as possible for guest arrivals we do service our studio rooms in the afternoon however your request for someone to complete this at 11.00am should have been actioned before your return. Once again I would like to apologise for this.

With regards to parking at the resort we offer one car park per room and provide parking permits for guests staying in house. We do monitor this however we rely on our guests to ensure that they do not allow additional cars to park inside the complex.

We are pleased to note your positive comments regarding the spa in your room, the indoor pool, the games room, squash and tennis courts, bike hire and the location. We are working on a solution for Wi-Fi and hope to have this in place sometime during 2014. In the meantime we offer the complimentary internet stations in the lobby for our guests use.

Thank you once again for you feedback it is pleasing that overall you had an overall pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights which was long enough. On the upside rooms are modern and fresh with amenities and large bathroom with spa. Downside outdoor area very poor, courtyard was dirty and a cheap sitting setup. The cooking utensils are very basic, just enough for our stay and only a microwave for heating food. The kitchen area is seperated from the bedroom which is good for a studio. Not the hotels fault but be warned Busselton has a huge problem with flies. They are everywhere and definately spoilt our stay. The hotel staff are great, helpful and very friendly , they are a real plus for Sebel considering there is a lot of competition along this area of beach.

Room Tip: Try and avoid a room near the road where judder bars can be disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear OskarandSunny,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Busselton. It is very disappointing to read that you felt that the studios were of an average standard. We would like to investigate this further with you as this property has just undergone a full refurbishment and should certainly not have given you cause for disappointment. At your convenience, could we ask you to contact the General Manager at the property to advise which room number you stayed in and the dates you were there?
We apologise for the disappointment caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Always enjoy our stay at The Sebel (formerly Grand Mercure). Lovely pool, spa area and rooms well up to standard. Closeness to the beach is also an attraction for an early morning or evening stroll. Restaurant next door good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lesley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Lesley Y,
Welcome back! It is always great to hear from our repeat guests. So pleased to read that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Serviced apartment style accommodation with lots of room options to cater for all size travel parties.
We stayed in the studio room. Very nice, modern with large bathroom with spa.

Nice big tv and a kitchenette with everything you need to be self sufficient.
There are shops nearby and busselton is only a 10min drive
Walk to beach or pub next door.
Beautiful location. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bozz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Bozz a,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Busselton. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay. We agree - a beautiful location.
Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I booked my accomodation on the net a week prior to my visit. I got into Busselton much later in the day than planned and had difficulty locating the hotel. Why?? It had been renamed and no one had bothered to notify me. When I had booked it was named Mercure but the day of my stay, it had been rebranded. When I finally realised the address was correct but the name was different, I went into reception, only to be told the renaming had been that day!!!! I asked why it wasnt advised on the net and the receptionist said, but it only happened today. Come on, its not an overnight decision and would have been in the pipeline for ages. There could have been some notification on the booking site. Very disappointing after a long day and lots of driving. The room was okay, but tired. Very scuffed and lots of cracks in the paint. When I enquired about meals, was told abruptly there was a shop and restaurant next door. I was given a ticket to put on my dash to show I was allowed to park in the complex and told to take my pick of car spots near my room. Well, the pick was one of one. Not impressed at all.

Room Tip: No restaurant, no room service, in fact no service at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at The Sebel Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Sebel Busselton (formerly the Grand Mercure). I am very disappointed that you had such a poor experience when locating the property. We completely agree that you should have been made aware of the name change and we take full responsibility for this. Our Front Office team make a courtesy call to arriving guests the night before arrival and this is something they now highlight on the call.

With regards to your room the property is undergoing refurbishment with the 2 and 3 bedroom apartments having been completed. Our studio rooms are being painted and new lighting installed with phase 1 and 2 completed on 19 December and the remaining rooms scheduled for early next year.

Although we do not allocate parking for each room I am very disappointed that you were addressed in such an abrupt and unfriendly manner.

My apologies once again for your experience at the property this is not the manner in which we wish to welcome our guests hope you would consider staying again so we can show you the truly warm welcome we pride ourselves on providing to our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
16.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape View Beach Resort
Cape View Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in Busselton
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Busselton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Busselton

Address: The Sebel Busselton 553 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Busselton)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
#3 Green Hotel in Busselton
#4 Family Hotel in Busselton
Price Range: $117 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Busselton 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic 2 1/2 hour drive south of Perth, The Sebel Busselton offers a perfect beachfront escape on the edge of the gorgeous Geographe Bay. The hotel is your gateway to the amazing Margaret River wine region, featuring not only wineries but also restaurants, art galleries and stunning coastlines. Ideal for families and couples, the four star hotel features 75 self contained apartments, tennis and squash, heated indoor spa, heated indoor and outdoor pool, gym, bike paths, games room and kids club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Busselton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Busselton Hotel Busselton
Grand Accor Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing