We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced, Over rated, Dont Bother!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abbey Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced, Over rated, Dont Bother!!!!”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed here with other wedding guests for a weekend. Booked 5 months in advance and asked for adjoining rooms.... didn't happen, staff were extremely rude and unhelpful! A case of 'we have your money we dont care'. Credit where credit is due though, great hotel grounds, plenty of space. Room layout was great but cleanliness was unacceptable. Unable to see the value for money at this hotel. Cafe was overpriced and average food. Reception was unorganised and to top it off charged us double for our room and proceeded to inform us they couldn't refund for 7 days....... Look for alternative accommodation!!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elitehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    424
    196
    81
    59
See reviews for
402
604
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious for four adults.
Having two bathrooms was a bonus particularly as one of them had a spa. We also had our own washing machine which was a big advantage as we were touring. The view over the lake was pleasant and it was only a short walk to the beach. We did not eat on site as we thought the prices were rather high. We also had our own parking space

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Hotel is overrated, the rooms are dated, we overlooked a swamp (sorry i mean the lake), the spa was cold, the prices in the cafe were appalling $25 for a hamburger that took 50 minutes to arrive when there were only a few couples in the cafe, daughters bun was rock hard on hotdog, she almost chipped a tooth, when we complained they changed it and brought her out a hot dog that was frozen thats right it still had ice on it!!!I think they were mad we complained so were being obnoxious. I complained to the general manager and they took that meal off our bill and gave us a wine. Then we ordered choc mousses that were so bland my little kids wouldnt eat them !! that is saying something, ive never had such bad food at ridiculous prices ever, we will never stay here again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macemesmumPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

This "resort" did not live up to expectations, as we were told it was fantastic, gorgeous rooms, had recently been updated etc etc. We were quite disappointed with the whole experience. The included hot buffet breakfast was really not worth having. The indoor pool was used by my partner. I don't like lukewarm swimming. The spa was lovely. The housekeeping was abit slack, the tea/coffee in room was not refreshed and we had to buy fresh milk if we wanted to use something other than the longlife. Our overalll impression was a 3 star motel trying to be a 4 or 5 star resort and not quite making the grade.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

After reading some reviews we were a little sceptical about staying here but we have just returned from 4 nights and we had a lovely time.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It had everything a family could need and was incredibly spacious. We had our own parking bay outside our apartment and a lovely balcony overlooking the man-made lake. Yes, the decor is outdated but for the price it was great and honestly we didn't spend much time worrying about it! The double spa is huge, the bathrooms are great, the beach access is great and the indoor pool was warm and clean. The resort itself has massive potential which is sadly not being used. The restaurants are overpriced and in an early 90's time-warp with the decor. The resort does not have a public computer or internet access which is a bit strange in this day and age but the location, spacious rooms, wonderful grounds and beautiful beach access make it well worth the stay. Only major issue for us was the safety of the balcony as a small child could fall through easily and the possum problem is something that needs dealing with as we had two try to break in through the fly screen in the middle of the night! The bed was squishy and lumpy and the pillows were bad but still I would go back (with my own pillows next time!) Rooms are serviced and the inclusion of a dishwasher was pure heaven!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

OK, so I have been staying at the Abbey Beach resort for about 10 years now. We basically get there once a year for varying stays of 2 - 4 nights. We drive down from the northern suburbs of Perth and with a 15 - 30 minute stop and driving the speed limit, takes about 4 hours to get there. I have myself, my wife and 3 kids aged 8, 4 and just over 1.

We love Abbey Beach resort - we love the choice of 3 pools, 2 outdoor which aare normally too cold to swim in, and 1 indoor heated pool. We love the space in the 2 bedroom apartments. We love that we get a designated parking space when you stay in the apartments, we love the playground and we love escaping Perth for a few days.

Other people may say that the decor is dated and the rooms are looking a little tired, and that may be correct. But we don't stay here for the interior decorating, if that was what we wanted, we would stay at Quay West Bunker Bay or visit a furniature shop, we keep going back for the free barbecues that are provided, our kids love the beach and swimming in the pools, we hardly ever play tennis, but as the kids grow older I am sure that we will, and we go because unlike many other places, the rooms are large and it comes with everything we need.

We look forward to this short getaway each year and as long as you don't have high expectations, you will have a great time. I would not call it 5 star, more of a 4 star really.

My only 2 critisisms are that the Reflections Cafe is severely overpriced and it seems like 15 year old are running the place and attitudes and care factors reflect this (should be called Bad Reflections Cafe), and the other restaurant near the lobby is even pricier with fancy dishes such as braised duck and always seems to be empty. If they served normal food and lowered the prices, they will actually have people eating in it. The other thing is the rates for Saturday nights are horrendous, but then again they are always booked out on Saturday nights so I guess that is understandable.

If anyone would like any honest, up front info about this place, please send me a message as I do know it inside out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaWilsonMTATravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed at the Abbey Reach Resort for a relaxing getaway weekend.
The room (studio) was alright but outdated. Views to the car park.
The bathroom with spa bath was nice.
Very poor reception for radio or internet.
The kitchenette( fridge and microwave oven) was alright.
The matress was terrible, we both woke up with back pain.
The outdoor pools were closed for the winter season. The heated indoor pool was very nice but the spa bath was too cold. The area around the pool was cold and wet. If they would clean and dry the chairs and lounges and maybe provide some patio heaters one could spend more time there on a rainy winters day.
The gym is absolutely outdated and of no use. The treadmill was out of order and the other equipment had historic character.
The lounge/bar/lobby/restaurant has no athmosphere. It is very cold and functional. Not a place you want to spend some time. And the prices are over the top. $12.50 for a glass of wine.
The buffet breakfast is $ 37 per person!
We had bacon and eggs breakfast in a local cafe/resaturant for $ 15 which was excellent.
Overall we think this place is overrated with 4.5 stars. It needs a complete re-vamp and a bit more atmosphere for a romantic getaway resort.
It's ok for an overnight stay if you get a good internet rate but not worth spending more time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wa6230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
447 reviews
16.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
311 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Property: Abbey Beach Resort
Address: Abbey Beach Resort 595 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary Wi-Fi in the Atrium, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing