We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abbey Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Admittedly we had to book last minute (as we were attending a funeral) so we probably got the last studio room in the worst location (room 120 right above the function rooms and next to the kitchen)- we stayed 2 nights in this room then had to book a 1 bed apartment ( room 190) for the last night due to lack of studio availability.

The rooms were well appointed, quite spacious and, although the bed is firmer than I have at home, I still found it comfortable enough. It isn't really up to the standard of other 4+ star hotels I've stayed at in the past, it is a little dated but they do keep the place very clean and the gardens well tended. The beach access at the rear of the resort was really nice also.

My main issue with the place was the other guests and the disrespect they showed for other guests. In our studio room we had to endure a night of a wedding function in function room directly below us and wedding guests rooming next to or very near our room- music until VERY late into the night/morning, talking and slamming doors down the hall, smoking (which we had to smell all day/night even though the hotel is "no smoking") really the last thing you want to put up with after an exhausting day attending a close relatives funeral. Considering the "rule book" when you get there clearly states respect for other guests and being quiet and courteous they clearly were too stupid to read or just plain rude. Guest behaviour is not really under the hotels control but having paper thin walls and locating us in that part of the hotel didn't help and that is something that could be controlled. If there's a function on don't stay in this room. I did ask the woman at the desk on checkout (of the studio) whether there had been a function the night before and she kind of laughed and said "I'm surprised you didn't hear it" I said I thought so and I did hear it thanks and was pretty unimpressed, that just proved to me that this is a problem they must deal with a lot. Maybe only check your wedding guests into these rooms so they can only annoy each other.

Other things that were minor annoyances included a leaking vanity tap, variable water pressure and temperature and being charged for newspapers we didn't receive and then on our last night in the 1 bed apartment getting a paper we didn't ask for. The 1 bed was much better in terms of noise and location, the toilet did run all night though- again the resort is just a little tired and fixtures/fittings a little outdated.

Overall I'm sure comparatively it's probably one of the nicer places to stay in Busselton but not up to scratch compared to other places I've stayed for a similar price and star rating, so maybe keep this in mind if you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 120 and ask if there's a function on and if there is to locate you on he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissy_cally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Brissy_cally. Thank you for your review from your stay with us from the weekend just gone.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not what you had expected of a 4.5 star resort such as ourselves. As a resort we do our utmost to room all our function guests & non function guests accordingly so that they are not affected by any travelling noise from the functions that maybe being held at the resort. This ensures that we do not receive noise complaints & is not an issue that we have to deal with on a regular occasion.

Furthermore we are more than happy to move any guests on request when there is a noise issue or they are not happy with their room location & would have been happy to of done so on this occasion for you. Although I would like to state that room 120 is not directly above the Ballroom where the function was taking place & the function guests had been roomed to reflect this.
It pleases us to hear that you found the rooms to be spacious & clean. As a resort we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the rooms & providing a daily services & maintaining the grounds so that they are in bloom all year round.

We are sorry to hear that your stay was inconvenienced by other guests. As previously mentioned we do our utmost to room function guests away from other guests but on occasions this is simply not possible although I would state again that there was no function directly below you on the night in question & from the investigating the duty logs from the weekend the offending guests were not actually guests attending the function at the resort. As a resort we do our utmost to give our guests a relaxing break & we have a number of policies in place to keep guest noise to a minimum. These policies were adhered to at the weekend by our staff on duty with our Night Porter speaking to the offending guests & the music being turned down on the 2nd occasion.

With regards guest smoking at the resort, as stated in the in-room compendium we do ask all our guests not to smoke in their rooms or on the balconies & to be considerate of other guests at the resort. We do have regular patrols both through the day & night to try to enforce this, but due to the size of the resort on occasions it is simply not possible to police 24 hours a day. As also mentioned in the in-room compendium, we are happy if requested to speak to the offending guests & ask them to stop immediately & we would have been more than happy to of done this for you at the weekend.

As you have stated yourself, Guest Behaviour is not under our control but we do have procedures in place to ensure all our guests have a relaxing stay, although we appreciate this may not have been achieved in your case.

I have spoken with our Maintenance Manager this morning regarding the maintenance issues that you have listed. As a resort we clean & maintain our rooms on a daily basis & such feedback as yours is invaluable to us in maintaining the resort to the 4.5 star standard that we set ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I are carers for my brain damaged sister so we don't get any time to ourselves. We were just SO lucky that a respite house came available for my sister for the weekend so we were able to get away just the two of us on our own. It was like a dream and although we have stayed at ABBEY BEACH RESORT before,this time was just fantastic. We used the spa twice and were able to relax and have a few drinks and a lovely time together just the two of us. After nearly 42 years of marriage it was a wonderful relaxing weekend for us. Thank you ABBEY BEACH RESORT for this restful time

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 060612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear 060612, Thank you for your fantastic comments on your recent stay with us.

There is nothing we enjoy more at Abbey Beach Resort than welcoming new guests & return guests alike & we are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable break away with us.

On a daily basis our staff across all departments does their utmost to provide our guests with the highest level of customer experience. Our aim is to be a welcoming home away from home, for our guests to relax & enjoy their holidays in the beautiful surrounds of the resort.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We're actually still here but this place is AMAZING. It's beautiful and peaceful.

food is great staff are great and a huge shout out to the cleaning department! Coming back to a made up room everyday is so different to the other places we have stayed! My only issue is actually with other holiday goers stomping around upstairs hopefully they move on soon :) other then that I cant fault anything! We will definitely be back hopefully for our anniversaries :p

Thank you so much :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c4bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear c4bd. Thank you for your comments on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. We love the fact you are enjoying your stay so much that you need to tell everyone about it!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful surrounds of the resort. Our maintenance department work tirelessly to ensure that our grounds are in bloom all year round. We also find being a large resort, the grounds create a peaceful ambiance for our guests who want to relax & enjoy their holidays.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us; we will certainly pass your comments onto our Food & Beverage Manager.

It is very pleasing to hear your comments on the cleanliness of your room. The cleanliness of the resort is something we have always prided ourselves on & providing our guests with a daily service, we believe sets us apart from other resorts in the region.

We very much look forward to welcome you back for many more anniversaries in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a 1 bedroom fully self contained apartment for 3 nights getaway, after our recent trip back from Singapore. Very clean, well equipped, comfortable, the room service was excellent, our room was lovely and clean with beds made up when we got back from our morning out. It was a pleasure to relax, and unwind, walking distance to the beach. The resort has great facilities, we had dinner in the restaurant on two occasions and found the food was excellent, staff were very friendly. Really enjoyed our stay, and will be back in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite overlooking the pool area very relaxing, higher floors have less a/c unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear John P. Thank you for your comments on you recent stay with us here at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are pleased to hear that during your stay you found the resort to be very clean. We take the cleanliness of the resort & our rooms very seriously & providing our guests with a daily service is something we pride ourselves on.

It is also pleasing to hear that you were able to relax & unwind whilst here with us & that you were able to appreciate the wide range of facilities that the resort offers. With our location close to the beach & on the main cycle way between Busselton & Dunsborough, we are glad to hear that you could immerse yourself in what the local area has to offer.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences at the resort. We aim to showcase through our menu all that the South West has to offer in local produce at an affordable price for our guests.

Across all departments our staff works tirelessly to provide our guests with the highest level of customer service so that our guests go back with great memories of their stay with us. It pleases us to hear that you found our staff to be friendly & helpful & we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The whole atmosphere here is outdated. I was with a group and we were greeted by a man in crumpled trousers who gave us a lecture on how to use our room keys. The in-room information folder contains reams of 'behave yourself while you are here' kind of instructions plus 'you are responsible for your property even while not here'. But there is no room safe provided. The so-called 'privacy lock' can self-lock, so you can return and find your room unserviced even if you haven't touched the lock yourself.

Wifi costs $10 for two hours, payable each day, but is only functional in the lobby. It is not Apple compatible. And it wasn't working at all while we were there...

Food was some of the worst I've had in Australia. Salmon was tasteless, served with an inedible grey mush they called mushroom risotto. A mousse desert was obviously bought in and tasted artificial. Picnic lunches were very basic and given to us in card boxes which when you picked them up the bottom fell out of.

If you don't mind these kinds of things then the rooms are spacious and comfortable. But they are devoid of any character whatsoever - very much a one-size-fits-all, out of an old-fashioned catalogue kind of place. Pots of plastic flowers around the garden just about sum up the tone of the place. Ghastly.

Some of the staff, especially at reception and in the cafe were friendly and did their best. I almost felt sorry for them working in such an out-dated place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An173dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear An173dy.

It is rather disappointing to hear your comments on your stay with us at the resort & that you found the resort to be ‘out-dated’. It is unfortunate that you feel the way you do, however many thousands of guests per year do enjoy the Resort and its facilities.

As a resort we welcome many coach groups annually & we always welcome our guests by giving a brief introduction to the resort & offer our guests welcome drinks on arrival. (Which I noticed you failed to mention in your review) We do this as we appreciate many of our guests have travelled a long distance on a coach & by introducing ourselves we like to think we offer guests a personal touch & a point of contact for their visit. We always receive great feedback from our tour leaders & guests alike for this service & never have we heard anyone comment that they felt they were being ‘lectured’.

I am sorry you took further umbrage to the in room compendium that you received. I think it is common practise for hotels around the world to advise guests to keep noise to a minimum. As a resort we cater for many different guests whether it is couples in for a relaxing weekend, families or wedding guests & on weekends the resort can often be noisy with guests enjoying the facilities we provide. We believe it is only courteous to make guests aware of our noise policy rather than risk noise complaints from other guests.

With regards the privacy locks that we provide at the resort. Having been operating for over 15 years we believe our door lock system works extremely well and we see no need to go down the path of in room safes. Not only is the privacy lock explained to our guests on your welcome introduction (another of the reasons we do it for our coach groups) it is also explained on your key pack. I have also just enquired with our Maintenance Manager who has informed me the locks are unable to self-lock & can only be set to the lock position by the guest. Although you would have noticed it is procedure after instructing the guest that we were unable to service the guest’s room due to the privacy lock being on, to offer guests an afternoon service if requested.

I would like to apologise that the wifi was unavailable during your stay. We have been experiencing difficulties with our service provider over the past few days & have been working closely with them to resolve the issues. Although you are incorrect in suggesting it is not Apple compatible & can be accessed by all devices at the resort. As a resort we are in final negotiations to supply resort wide wifi to cover all rooms at the resort. We were hoping to have this in place earlier in the year but due to the size & logistics of the resort it has been delayed. This being said we do hope to have it in place in early 2014.

It disappoints us to hear your comments on your food & beverage experience whilst at the resort. What we pride ourselves on at the resort is providing our guests with local produce that we make in-house so I can assure you the mousse dessert was not bought in. With regards the picnic boxes these were pre-approved by the tour company & were matched to the budget that they were willing to spend. I would suggest any grievances would be better directed towards them & the budget they are willing to spend on their tour guests.

I am saddened to hear your comments regarding the rooms. To suggest they are ‘one size fits all’ is incorrect when we have a number of different room types at the resort ranging from the Studio Spa Suite that you stayed in to a 3 Bedroom Lakeside Apartment. We would have been more than happy to of moved you to a different room location or room type had you made us, or your tour leader aware of the issues you had. It disappoints me that our rooms were not to your personal preference, but once again we do have thousands of guests every year who enjoy the spacious rooms that we provide.

We also take great pride in the surrounds of the resort that offers our guests a safe environment to relax & enjoy their holidays in. Our maintenance staff works tirelessly all year round to make sure are gardens are in bloom on a yearly basis. This being said living in the climate that we do, it is nearly impossible to constantly update all flowers & I am sorry that you found the plastic flowers around the pool area to be ‘ghastly.

As a resort we work tirelessly to provide our guests with the highest level of customer experience, so that our guests come back & enjoy the resort again & again which many have done & will continue to do. We understand that we are not every guests personal preference or satisfies guests specific needs, which at times can be unattainable not matter what service is provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We (two couples) stayed one night in a 2 bedroom fully self contained apartment. Very clean, comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The resort has great facilities that we unfortunately did not have time to use. Handy to the beach, easy walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cutties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Cutties. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.
We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our spacious Lakeside Apartments. Our aim is to provide our guests with a homely environment with all the amenities for if you were staying for a weekend or longer.

We are also pleased to hear that you found the apartment to be clean & comfortable. We believe that providing our guests with a daily service sets us apart from other resorts in the region & something we are very proud of.

With 3 pools including our indoor pool & spa, (heated to 28c) tennis courts, squash courts a gym & sauna, not to mention a children’s playground, we believe the facilities we provide mean guests who choose to stay within the surrounds of the resort have plenty of things to keep them
occupied.

For guests looking to explore the region our location at the gateway to the Margaret River region & being on the shores of the beautiful Geographe Bay, means we are only a short drive from all of the attractions the region has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My partner had a function at this resort for 84 people. My handbag was left in the room while I was in the Lobby trying to get Wireless Internet, because none available in the room, only to be informed I needed to pay for Internet service in the lobby area. I was out of the room for an hour when the room was cleaned. Only to discover about an hour later that $250 cash and been stolen out of my purse, which was zipped shut in my handbag. No safe provided in the rooms and customer service regarding the incident was pretty pathetic. I filed a police report also.
I only received a response after my partner contacted the hotel to discuss the incident a few days later. Don't bother.
So many nicer places to stay at with better customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Vanessa M,

Its disappointing to read your review which is contains additional comments and differing statements never mentioned whilst at the Resort or in correspondence since the alleged incident.
Thank you for being part of a group that visited the Resort that weekend. From our feedback forms it appears everyone enjoyed the weekend.
Your correct in that WIFI is not available in the rooms and only currently available in the Atrium and Café areas. Our advertising advises of this, so hardly seems appropriate to comment on it not being available where you want it to be, given we don’t advertise it being available in rooms, nor do we advertise it being free! We are currently finalising a proposal for WIFI to be rolled out in every room in the Resort, which should happen early next year.
I am certainly disappointed in regards to your comments about the alleged theft. Your comments about the Resort staff and management are simply not correct. I note that your initial contact was with the Food Service Manager in the early evening some hours after the alleged discovery and not the Duty Manager at the front counter, I wonder why it took several hours from the alleged discover to report the matter?
I have copies of emails, Management handover notes all of which show all staff at the Resort communicating with you. I accept there was a delay in corresponding with you on one occasion, but this was due to a staff emergency and was not forseen.
As discussed once the Duty Manager was informed, it was advised the Resort would cooperate fully with the Police and provide them with any information they require, to date we have not heard from them which leaves me wondering if a report was actually made to the Police?
The staff member who cleaned the room has been questioned by management and stood down from duties, awaiting contact from the Police. Unfortunately your comments, will only add to a possible case for her as there is no proof the money was in the room, nor that the staff member allegedly took it. Your public accusation could lead her to a pursue you in a court of law.
It disappoints me review sites such as Trip Advisor continue to publish factually incorrect reviews containing incorrect information. We continue to await contact from the Police, which as I have mentioned, to date has not been forthcoming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
650 reviews
16.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#9 of 14 in Busselton
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
412 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Address: 595 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range: $139 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary 100MB per 24 hours per person of Wi-Fi throughout the resort, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing