We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Fantastic reosrt"”
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Donnybrook, Australia
1 review
“"Fantastic reosrt"”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very friendly staff, fantastic rooms and great service. Nothing was too much trouble. Very well kept with heaps of things to do both in and out of the hotel. Will definitely be staying here again in future. I highly recommend this resort to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Julie R. Thank you for your glowing feedback on your recent stay with us. It is really pleasing to hear from guests who were able to appreciate the resort to the full.

At Abbey Beach Resort we aim to provide to the best customer service to our guests & for our staff to be a welcoming & helpful guide to the resort & the region. We are glad you enjoyed our well-proportioned rooms. We believe our spacious rooms give our guests the ideal environment to be able to relax & enjoy the surrounds of the resort.

Being at the gateway to the Margaret River wine region & a short drive to the Busselton CBD & Dunsborough, we believe we provide the perfect base for guests looking to explore the South West. Also not to mention being a stone's throw from the beach within the beautiful Geographe Bay, there is plenty for guests to appreciate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    429
    197
    82
    60
See reviews for
407
610
31
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wonderful 3 night stay. From check-in to checkout we experienced a very clean, comfortable and well managed establishment. The resort is ideally placed for sightseeing in the Margaret River region of WA. The only drawback is not all lounge and dining options are available on a Sunday evening but this provides an excellent opportunity to try other good food and wine options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear JohnnBev. Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had such a wonderful stay.

I am pleased that you appreciated the range of facilities that the resort has to offer. I am also glad you enjoyed our well-proportioned rooms. We are very proud that every room has its own private spa & sets us apart from other resorts in the region.

At Abbey Beach Resort we pride ourselves on providing our guests with the best customer experience possible; throughout all our departments in the beleif we can create memories for our guests that they will remember.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the location of the resort. Being at the gateway to the Margaret River wine region & a short drive from the Busselton CBD & Dunsborough makes us ideal for guests looking to explore what the region has to offer.

We are sorry to hear that you were unable to appreciate all of the facilites, but all opening times of the cafe's & bars at the resort are seasonal & we look forward to welcoming you back again to the resort in the future to appreciate all the dining options to the full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we have not been to this part of the country for a long time
we used this hotel as a base and made day trips around the south west

the rooms where a good size with everything in them that we required
the air-conditioner made a bit of noise and we think could need some attention

the staff where great
the hotel was very quite with not many people around

bit cold to swim but they did have indoor heated pool if wanted to swin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidnJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear DavidnJoy. Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.

Welcome back to the region! Being at the gateway to the Margaret River region & a short drive from the Busselton CBD & Dunsborough we believe we are ideal for guests looking to explore what the South West has to offer.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & appreciated our well-proportioned rooms. Our aim is to provide our guests with a spacious environment to relax in & enjoy the facilities (such as our indoor pool) that the resort provides.

Thank you for your feedback on the air-conditioner in your room. It is such feedback that helps us maintain the resort to the standard that our guest expects. As a resort we pride ourselves on the level of customer service that we provide our guests.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Friendly and efficient service, Great rates and clean and tidy. The walls were a bit thin where I stayed but apart from that! Fantastic!! I highly recommend this resort for any of your traveling needs.

Room Tip: Book a room better then a studio - You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Luke T. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you found the staff at Abbey Beach Resort up to the standard expected of a 4.5 star resort such as ourselves. At Abbey Beach Resort we pride ourselves on the level of customer service we provide throughout our departments.

I am also pleased to hear that you found the resort & our rooms clean & tidy. Providing our guests with a daily service is something we believe sets us apart from other resorts in the region.

We also recommend to our guests to book direct with us for the best rates on all our room types. As a resort we do not charge credit card booking fees & know our guests prefer dealing directly with the resort rather than a 3rd party operator.

We are glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay & we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a 3 b/r apartment with family. When we arrived we got greated with "Sorry your room isn't ready yet but will be ready in half an hour". We went back in 15 minutes to find out if the room was ready by any chance, they called up room service and it would be another 15 minutes or he could just change the room that we were in. I'm curious to know why he couldn't do that in the first place.
We received very poor service from the resorts cafe staff as they took extremely long to deliver our order and even then it was staggered by 5-10 minutes for different parts of our order. We had enough of waiting and asked for the money back for the things we had not received and their reply was no as they had already made the drinks but did not deliver them. So we argued the point until the manager got involved and gave us most of our money back.
Another flaw with the resort is that they do not do room service to any of the apartments, so we decided to to give the cafe another chance as it was about 6:30pm and the cafe said it was open til about 9:00pm. We went there, it was closed. So we just ordered takeaway.
For the first morning there we had requested not to have our room serviced as we do not like other people in our rooms, the hotel was happy to oblige and the room wasn't serviced. On the second morning we made the same request. Not only was our room serviced but our outside door was left wide open leaving a lot of our valubles vulnerable.
Overall it was a nice place to stay but our experience with the service that we received was terrible and because of that we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KE17HY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear KE17HY. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.
As a resort we like to respond & act on all feedback positive & negative, factual or factually incorrect.

As per our correspondence since your stay, I would once again like to apologise for the fact you were made to wait to be able to check in. The situation came about due to a very busy day of checkouts and then turning the rooms over for checkins on another busy day. Unfortunately staff called in sick and this meant housekeeping were under pressure to get the rooms ready on time. We would not allow guests to checkin to a room that has not been fully cleaned and inspected for a new arrival.

The staff advised you that your room was not yet ready, as the system showed this was the next unit coming clean and inspected, hence less wait time. As it turned out another unit was available first so this is why you were offered a room move, l we were just trying to avoid you waiting longer for the room we thought would be available first, I have since spoken with both the Head of Housekeeping & Front Office Manager to avoid this happening in the future, but believe we were offering the correct customer service, in trying to check you into a clean, inspected apartment when it was available. .

I am disappointed to hear of the service you received from the café, but note you did not mention this in any of the further correspondence we have had since you left? As you have stated as a resort we do provide room service to our hotel section but not to the apartments given they are all self catering. We have never offered this service nor advertise it so wonder why you would be surprised to find this out? We do offer a takeaway service where our guest can collect any meals they order & eat them in the spacious & homely environment that our apartments provide.

We believe this not to be a flaw but to be a better system, and works extremely well for the majority of guests who visit the Resort on a yearly basis. I note that you did utilise the takeaway option & trust that the food received was up to the standard expected of a 4.5 star resort such as ourselves.

With regards your comments on the café opening time, it is clearly stated on all entrances to the café and on the newsletter each arrival receives on checkin that during the week the café is open from our Atrium area upstairs. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to read these signs unlike the other diners who eat in the resort that night.

I would also like to address your comments regarding the issues you had with your room services. As you correctly state on the first morning you requested to have no service for that morning to which we duly obliged. There was no such request made to either reception or to the room attendants regarding ‘the same request’. Having investigated at length with the Head of Housekeeping, the 2 room attendants that serviced your apartment & checked the duty logs that are kept on a daily basis, the outside door to your balcony was actually already left wide open when the room was entered to be serviced. (The logs state that the room was freezing due to the door being open)

You complained at checkout (some days later) about a wallet going missing on the day the door was allegedly left open and we suggested you contact the police. As yet we are still waiting to hear from the police on this matter, but please be assured we will cooperate with them fully in the investigation of the matter. As you are aware and was discussed with you the balcony entrance door is 5 foot from the ground & that the resort is patrolled regularly we find it hard to believe someone has jumped the balcony let themselves into the room, taken only the wallet and then gone back out the same way, all this assuming the person who jumped onto the balcony, knew there was no one in the apartment at the time, which this hard to believe.

As all our room attendants are professional cleaners & on a daily basis do their utmost to service apartments to the best of their abilities you can imagine the distress when such accusations are made against them.

As a resort we openly accept feedback both positive & negative in the belief that such feedback will help us improve & fulfil our guest’s expectations. What we find difficult to deal with is feedback where from the outset issues are raised as a way to gain compensation or to knowingly be used against us at a later date on review sites such as this as a way of gaining compensation. Review site such as this one should take a harder view on ‘blackmail’ attempts rather than publishing factually incorrect reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a very relaxing and beautiful resort. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and it was perfect for a couple. The rooms were immaculatley clean and very comfortable. The setting is just perfect and we loved the short walk to the beach. There are many surrounding restaurants if you want to eat elsewhere and a very handy shopping centre closeby. The staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommend, looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the many facilities the resort has to offer. Our aim is to provide our guests with a environment where they can relax & enjoy their holidays within the surrounds of the resort. Our maintenance department also take great care with the resort grounds to make sure that it is in bloom where it be Winter or Summer!

We are also pleased to hear that you appreciated our spacios rooms that we provide. With a fully equipped kitchen our One Bedroom Apartments are ideal for a couple looking to stay for the weekend or on a longer break. At Abbey Beach Resort we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms with the belief that providing our guests with a daily service sets us apart from other resorts in the region.

Being on the shores of the beautiful Geographe Bay & with the Margaret River wine region & Busselton & Dunsborough only a short drive, we believe we are a perfect location for guests looking to explore the South West.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Abbey Beach Resort provides a very comfortable staying experience and rooms were cosy and nice. Travel with my family and all necessary equipments were provided and rooms were really clean and hygienic. Great resort

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WONG9883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your excellent comments on your recent stay with us. We are glad your stay was an enjoyable one.

I am glad that you enjoyed all the facilities that the resort has to offer. We believe the resort grounds provide our guests, whether in for a weekend or a longer stay with a safe & friendly environment to relax & enjoy their holidays!

I am also pleased to hear you appreciated the in-room amenities. We believe our fully equipped rooms provide our guests with ample space even for a large family.

At Abbey Beach Resort we also pride ourselves on providing our guests with a daily service. Something we believe sets us apart from other resorts in the regions. With all rooms being cleaned & inspected on a daily basis it is pleasing to hear that you found our rooms clean & hygenic.

We very much look forward to welcoming you & your family back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
16.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Property: Abbey Beach Resort
Address: Abbey Beach Resort 595 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary 100MB per 24 hours per person of Wi-Fi throughout the resort, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing