We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young families”
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abbey Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for young families”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

After research on Tripadvisor/internet chose to stay here with my husband, mother and 2yo toddler for 7 nights. Suited our family needs perfectly. Large, spacious apartment with all the amenities required. Plenty of room for our boy to run around/play. He also loved the playground just outside and the immaculately kept lawns. Heated indoor pool was perfect for that time of year and had a little toddler paddling area (plus they provide you beach towels). The beach was a 1 minute walk down the path and we loved watching the sunrise and then having the afternoon sun warm our lounge area/balcony. We went in off peak season, so pretty good rates and nice and quiet complex. Suite was nothing sophisticated but clean, well maintained and comfortable with well stocked kitchen. Just note - walls are quite thin, so we had our sleep disturbed a few nights by neighbours - 2 elderly ducks chatting (loudly) through the wee hours of the morning, or another running their spa (above our heads) late at night. Would still recommend on and come back with our #2 on the way!

Room Tip: Resort in a U shape, we chose at the tip end closest to beach on ground floor: roomy 2 br apt, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for your great comments, Its nice to hear you enjoyed the size and facilities the 2 bedroom apartments offer, they are perfect for a few of days R & R. Nice to also hear you enjoyed some of the Resort facilities which no doubt kept your toddler busy. Unfortunately noisy neighbours are something we try hard to deal with, and had you reported it to reception, we would have had the security staff attend immediately and deal with the noise. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    443
    198
    83
    60
See reviews for
416
625
31
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
QLD
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a very ordinary room in a lovely resort complex but after a dark wet drive from Perth airport we were glad to come inside out of the gale force weather event. We were even more grateful that we hadn't purchased take away out of desperation en-route because there was a nice eating area / restaurant under the same roof who were willing to accept a late order and served a tasty meal . We wandered the beautiful grounds down to the beach in the morning. Our room had only overlooked a driveway parking area and gave little indication that we were so close to the sea. The weather hadn't improved but the overall feel was that this was a big impersonal out of season holiday complex that probably has a better atmosphere when there are lots of people on sunny days in summer holidays. At the time of booking we were pleased to find somewhere willing to accept a single night booking. It did make a good base for an early morning start to travel further along the coast after a very ordinary overpriced breakfast at the jetty area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest, I am confused about your review. You suggest your room was ordinary, but don’t comment of what it was you were not happy about? Your other negative comment was about the size and seasonality of the Region. I am sorry you visited in our ‘winter’ season when guest numbers to the region are at their lowest, however your comment about staff being impersonal is incorrect, and disrespectful to staff. Your other comments all seem to suggest you were happy with the Resort, the ability to make a one night stay, a good base to explore the Region, the ability to get a tasty meal late etc yet you rate us poorly. We take all reviews seriously and I am concerned that reviews such as yours that make unfounded, incorrect points and comments about properties are allowed to be published.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

the hotel is a terrible place to try and navigate, got lost twice trying to find the cafe and restaurant. rooms are dated and the hairdryer was so powerful it couldnt even dry my husbands hair (and its shaved)
staff service is poor. 3 of us were staying for business and wanted a meal, the staff werent interested in our custom as they had a bus load of 45 people arriving in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest, I am disappointed to hear your comments. The Resort is a large complex, and reception staff give you a detailed description of how to get to your room etc on arrival and checking. I am not sure how we would overcome the hotel corridors with such a large complex. I am unclear as to how you could get lost, given you were aware of where reception is and from this point, the café and restaurant are easy to find. Our rooms, whilst not ‘modern’ with bright colours etc, are classic & regal, in appearance, certainly not dated. I am unclear about the hair dyer, I assume you means it was not powerful enough? They are standard hair dyers, and if turning on and working correctly are certainly capable of drying hair. If it was for some reason faulty, did you report it to reception, apon which a replacement would have been sent to your room immediately? Your comment about staff being poor, I assume relates to the café. I assume they were informing you a coach was about to arrive, so that you were aware there could be a delay in having your meals served. This I think would be good customer service, rather than have you sit, order and wonder why your meals might be taking time to be served. I am sorry stay was not up to your standard, and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a fantastic place for a getaway. The facilities, staff and food were amazing.
The experience of staying at Abbey Beach made our weekend getaway so much more pleasurable and really enjoyed the convenience of been able to take a stroll along the beach in the evening.
The room - well what can I say. The bed was so comfortable, room spacious and the private spa in the room made you feel like you were a millionaire.
Location was fantastic, with the ability to take trips into the surrounding area's and experience the south west lifestyle.
I can only highly recommend the Abbey Beach resort and looking to visiting again very soon

Room Tip: get the room with the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frats69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your comments. Its great to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the comments regarding the room, and location, we are lucky to be in an awesome part of the world!
Your comments contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future, hopefully for a longer stay in future. Thanks for the room tip. All our rooms have a spa, so everyone can enjoy a relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Have just returned from our annual week long visit to the South West and stay at Abbey Beach Resort. We have been making the annual pilgrimage to stay at the resort since it started taking guests and have always found it a wonderful, relaxing break. We usually stay during late Autumn and even winter as we enjoy the quieter times both in the Resort and the area generally. Usually catch some nice weather and this time was no exception - 5 beautiful sunny days ( only 1 overcast and a little rain ) to stroll along the extensive beach front walkway without competing with dozens of cyclists
.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and you can easily spend many hours just sitting on the balcony reading or just enjoying the views and total serenity of the place.
Over the many years we have been going to Abbey Beach Resort I have noticed continual attention to maintenance of the resort, painting, floor covering, upgrading of appliances and this year we discovered a complete new kitchen had been installed.

The staff and service were helpful, friendly and all did their job competently. Rooms were serviced unobtrusively and the ground staff continue to keep the gardens general look of the place picture perfect.

We will be back again next year and can recommend Abbey Beach Resort to anyone seeking a peaceful break from the busy everyday work life.
.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your comments. Its fantastic to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us. WOW, great to hear you are a regular and have been staying with us since we opened! We love hearing from all guests, but repat guests are special. Great to hear you enjoyed an apartment, they certainly have heaps of room to spread out and make yourselves at home. Our ongoing continual refurbishment program means that the Resort stays fresh and modern which helps guests feel great when they stay with us. Thanks for your comments about staff, I will certainly pass your comments onto them. Your comments contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to seeing you back next year to once again enjoy the Resort experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a one night stay with our daughter and son-in-law whilst on a brief visit to the area. Stayed in a two bedroom unit that had everything any one would require. It could easily be used as a longer tern stop over as it had a full kitchen, even with a dishwasher. Also a second bathroom cum laundry with washer and dryer, whilst the main bedroom also had a spa bath. Very clean and comfortable and we would have no hesitation in staying there again. All the units are strata titled and I even made enquiries about the availability for purchase, they were that good. The beach is an easy walk away and looked very safe for children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Hawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your comments. Its great to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us in a 2 bedroom fully self contained apartment. Thanks for the comments regarding the room, and the facilities the rooms offer, we are lucky to be in an awesome part of the world!
Your comments contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future, hopefully for a longer stay in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
932 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a one night stay at the Abbey Beach Reosrt, good location being right on the bay. The resort has all the facilities that you would expect. We had a one bedroon apartment which was very comfortable and roomy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your comments. Its great to hear you really enjoyed your short stay with us, shame you could only stay one night. Your comments contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future, hopefully for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
637 reviews
16.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton
2.0 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Property: Abbey Beach Resort
Address: Abbey Beach Resort 595 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary 100MB per 24 hours per person of Wi-Fi throughout the resort, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing