We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accommodation very little sleep”
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abbey Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights , the building is of cheap manufactured style so noise is received from all directions , above , below and in the corridors , if you are not a deep sleeper you will have a problem,
The one bedroom apartment we stayed in was outdated and equipped with poor standard and old fittings
The rooms are clean but really only average motel quality
During our stay there was tremendous noise from either a fan or industrial device starting up every 30 minutes from 11pm right through the night not easy to sleep

My wife advised on check out but half hearted apology given

If you are used to Meriton / crest / style quality apartments give this a miss

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weldge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Reviewer, I am disappointed to read your comments. Firstly I must comment that the building is not cheap manufactured style, unless you are suggesting brick and mortor, along with tilt slab construction is as you comment? Again your comment relating to outdated and poor quality fittings are sadly incorrect. Our Housekeeping staff do a tremendous job and overwhelmingly we receive fantastic comments relating to the cleanliness of the Resort and accommodation, so I am unclear as to what your comments refer to, however do note that during your stay you never contacted reception, or housekeeping to sort out any issues or problems? I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, perhaps you perception of what we can and do offer is different to what we actually do and can offer. I am concerned however that reviews such as yours that make untrue, incorrect statements are allowed to be published.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We love going to Busselton and always stay at Abbey Beach Resort, at least 3 times per year so we feel like regulars there now, its a very comfortable relaxed feeling that we know what it's going to be like and the staff are always so helpful. We've had studio spa rooms, perfect for just the 2 of us, and we've taken our kids and grandkids there in the 3 bedroom apartments around Xmas time it was so easy for a family holiday and so close to the perfect beach. When we booked for Mothers Day, we found chocolates and wine in the fridge unexpectedly. I also won movie tickets for 4 people in a facebook competition. They are always sending specials and incentives to stay in their email newsletter. I recommend it for price, location, friendliness and relaxation.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JannMark_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Fantastic to here you are regular visitors to the Resort. We love welcoming all visitors to the Resort, but those that visit regularly are special and sometimes deserve that little bit extra! Great to hear you won our facebook competition as well, competition was fearse so well done on winning, thanks also for your recommendations we really appreciate the feedback. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Absolutely loved staying at Abbey Beach Resort, the rooms are well appointed, the grounds are lovely and green, nice pools and right on the beach. Lots of bird life with the pond. Nice friendly staff too. Was there outside of school holidays so was nice and peaceful too. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest.

I am so pleased to hear you had a great stay. Here at Abbey Beach Resort we pride ourselves on our customer service & the value of providing our guests with a stay that will cherish for a long time & want to return again and again. So your comments on our friendly staff is great to hear.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful trip to W.A. Abbey Beach resortt lovely Bussellton is just great. The grounds are meticulus and the proximity to the beach is amazing. We were lucky enough to experience those fabulously hot days with no wind and the water was like a mill pond. The apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. Wished we could have stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with outdoor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andlyn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest. What great comments, it sounds like you had a great trip!

Here at Abbey Beach Resort we are lucky to have a great team of gardeners who look after the vast grounds we have and do a great job. I am sure you will agree that when we have such great weather, there is no better place to stay than Abbey Beach Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I selected the Abbey Beach Resort for a Valentines weekend away thinking that we would be staying at high class hotel. From the moment we checked in my opinion of the place dropped dramatically. Directions and signage to get to our room were nearly nonexistant, then when we arrived at our room the flowers that were ordered for my wife for valentines day weren't in the room even though i booked 3 months in advance. Once we settled into our 1 bedroom appartment room we found that the bedroom had no cooling. To rectify this we went to the local Target store and purchased a fan for $14 which made it ok then we had to go back the next day to buy an extension cord as there were no other power points in the room except next to the bed. The cleanliness of the room was ok until we had our first shower then found snot on the wall which was still there when we left 3 days later. The decor is outdated and needs an upgrade. We booked dinner the first night at the resteraunt for Valentines which on arrival a glass of champagne was to be part of the meal. We had to remind the wait staff about this and didn't get it for 20 minutes after arrival. To go with our meal we ordered a bottle of wine but when the glasses were brought to the table one of them still had a lipstick mark on it. The meal was good but you do get what you pay for. The next day we decided to go for a swim in one of the outside pools but as there were no more than a dozen people at either pool we had to put our belongings on the pavement as there was no chairs or sunlounges left. I maybe a little critical but you would think with our climate there would be better ammenities around the swimming pools. If you are staying at the resort dont stay in room 115 as there is a lift that will keep you up during the night as it constantly goes up and down as the staff use it to take things down to the loading dock below. If you plan to have champagne to celebrate a special occasion take some glasses as you won't have any provided in the room. Another note about some of the service provided, the next day we did a trip around the wineries which was great but on getting back to our room we find that it had been made up but as we went to cook dinner we find that the bin hadn't been emptied. Overall i was very disappointed with the hotel as it had a reputation of being one of the best in the region but that may have been 10 years ago. The location is good but do your homework to find something else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest. I am disappointed to hear some of comments.

Unfortunately the flowers that you organised were not delivered by the Florist until later that day which was outside the Resort's control. We did contact the Florists in question but due to demand delivery times were delayed.

The air conditioners in all apartments and studios are designed to be larger than normal and therefore if left on will cool the space down effectively. We investigated the issue you raised re the shower (as you wrote up on your comment sheet) and found the problem to be a small amount of silicone / grout. I would like to apologise as this was left behind from maintenance done in the room a few days prior to your arrival.

Your comments regarding Valentines Day dinner are certainly a surprise. Overwhelming guests comments received on that night and on guests departures were that the service and food were excellent, did you speak to the Restaurant Manager regarding your issues? as I do not see them in the nightly report I receive from the department.

With regards the sun lounges, there are plenty of sun lounges and chairs around each pool. The Resort sleeps 600+ guests so it is impossible to have a chair or sun lounge for every guests should they wish to use the Resort pools at the one time.

You are correct that champagne glasses are not provided in the rooms, however if you had contacted reception we would have delivered them to your room without hesitation.

It is disappointing that you chose to write such a review after you have stayed and not mentioned anything to reception during your visit so that we could possible rectified the issues that you raise. We try our best to provide guests with the best customer experience possible & this includes rectifying any guest issues that may arise during their stay. It is near impossible to do this once the guest has left!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed two nights at the beautiful Abbey Beach resort. Had a great time, The staff were lovely and very helpful, The room was fantastic, the food was good and all the facilities were easily accessible. I would definately stay there again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for great comments. We are so happy you had a great time at the resort and will be happy to welcome you back for longer stay next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stay here as often as we can. It is a beautiful place with great amenities and very friendly staff. A very short distance from the city and right on the beach so location is perfect. We would absolutely recommend this resort to all.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockettmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review! There is nothing we like more here at Abbey Beach Resort then to welcome back return guests again & again! We are so lucky to have such a great location on the shores of Geographe Bay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back & thank you for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
659 reviews
16 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Address: Abbey Beach Resort 595 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range: $141 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary 100MB per 24 hours per person of Wi-Fi throughout the resort, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing