We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Absolutely loved staying at Abbey Beach Resort, the rooms are well appointed, the grounds are lovely and green, nice pools and right on the beach. Lots of bird life with the pond. Nice friendly staff too. Was there outside of school holidays so was nice and peaceful too. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest.

I am so pleased to hear you had a great stay. Here at Abbey Beach Resort we pride ourselves on our customer service & the value of providing our guests with a stay that will cherish for a long time & want to return again and again. So your comments on our friendly staff is great to hear.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    424
    194
    81
    59
See reviews for
401
603
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful trip to W.A. Abbey Beach resortt lovely Bussellton is just great. The grounds are meticulus and the proximity to the beach is amazing. We were lucky enough to experience those fabulously hot days with no wind and the water was like a mill pond. The apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. Wished we could have stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with outdoor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andlyn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest. What great comments, it sounds like you had a great trip!

Here at Abbey Beach Resort we are lucky to have a great team of gardeners who look after the vast grounds we have and do a great job. I am sure you will agree that when we have such great weather, there is no better place to stay than Abbey Beach Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenbrook, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I selected the Abbey Beach Resort for a Valentines weekend away thinking that we would be staying at high class hotel. From the moment we checked in my opinion of the place dropped dramatically. Directions and signage to get to our room were nearly nonexistant, then when we arrived at our room the flowers that were ordered for my wife for valentines day weren't in the room even though i booked 3 months in advance. Once we settled into our 1 bedroom appartment room we found that the bedroom had no cooling. To rectify this we went to the local Target store and purchased a fan for $14 which made it ok then we had to go back the next day to buy an extension cord as there were no other power points in the room except next to the bed. The cleanliness of the room was ok until we had our first shower then found snot on the wall which was still there when we left 3 days later. The decor is outdated and needs an upgrade. We booked dinner the first night at the resteraunt for Valentines which on arrival a glass of champagne was to be part of the meal. We had to remind the wait staff about this and didn't get it for 20 minutes after arrival. To go with our meal we ordered a bottle of wine but when the glasses were brought to the table one of them still had a lipstick mark on it. The meal was good but you do get what you pay for. The next day we decided to go for a swim in one of the outside pools but as there were no more than a dozen people at either pool we had to put our belongings on the pavement as there was no chairs or sunlounges left. I maybe a little critical but you would think with our climate there would be better ammenities around the swimming pools. If you are staying at the resort dont stay in room 115 as there is a lift that will keep you up during the night as it constantly goes up and down as the staff use it to take things down to the loading dock below. If you plan to have champagne to celebrate a special occasion take some glasses as you won't have any provided in the room. Another note about some of the service provided, the next day we did a trip around the wineries which was great but on getting back to our room we find that it had been made up but as we went to cook dinner we find that the bin hadn't been emptied. Overall i was very disappointed with the hotel as it had a reputation of being one of the best in the region but that may have been 10 years ago. The location is good but do your homework to find something else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest. I am disappointed to hear some of comments.

Unfortunately the flowers that you organised were not delivered by the Florist until later that day which was outside the Resort's control. We did contact the Florists in question but due to demand delivery times were delayed.

The air conditioners in all apartments and studios are designed to be larger than normal and therefore if left on will cool the space down effectively. We investigated the issue you raised re the shower (as you wrote up on your comment sheet) and found the problem to be a small amount of silicone / grout. I would like to apologise as this was left behind from maintenance done in the room a few days prior to your arrival.

Your comments regarding Valentines Day dinner are certainly a surprise. Overwhelming guests comments received on that night and on guests departures were that the service and food were excellent, did you speak to the Restaurant Manager regarding your issues? as I do not see them in the nightly report I receive from the department.

With regards the sun lounges, there are plenty of sun lounges and chairs around each pool. The Resort sleeps 600+ guests so it is impossible to have a chair or sun lounge for every guests should they wish to use the Resort pools at the one time.

You are correct that champagne glasses are not provided in the rooms, however if you had contacted reception we would have delivered them to your room without hesitation.

It is disappointing that you chose to write such a review after you have stayed and not mentioned anything to reception during your visit so that we could possible rectified the issues that you raise. We try our best to provide guests with the best customer experience possible & this includes rectifying any guest issues that may arise during their stay. It is near impossible to do this once the guest has left!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed two nights at the beautiful Abbey Beach resort. Had a great time, The staff were lovely and very helpful, The room was fantastic, the food was good and all the facilities were easily accessible. I would definately stay there again :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for great comments. We are so happy you had a great time at the resort and will be happy to welcome you back for longer stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stay here as often as we can. It is a beautiful place with great amenities and very friendly staff. A very short distance from the city and right on the beach so location is perfect. We would absolutely recommend this resort to all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockettmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review! There is nothing we like more here at Abbey Beach Resort then to welcome back return guests again & again! We are so lucky to have such a great location on the shores of Geographe Bay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back & thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nannup, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights. The accommodation side of the hotel was really good, as were the surroundings including the pools and close proximity to the beach. Unfortunately we found the food not up to par. We ate in the restaurant the first night, but found the food a little tasteless and did not reflect the high price charged. The breakfasts offered also did not come up to standard. Otherwise a lovely place to stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrabappleLaneWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very proud of how we maintain the Resort grounds and I am pleased you noted the accommodation as being 'really good'.

I can assure you I will be speaking to the Head Chef regarding your comments on both your Dinner & Breakfast food, so that we can provide the levels of service that we pride ourselves on.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed in the Studio Spa Room. Check in prompt and friendly. Room as always was very cleam and well maintained. Overall cleanliness of the complex was very high and is well maintained. Ate in the cafe on Saturday night and the meal was very tasty if not a bit highly priced. Clean pools and well maintained grounds. A great place for a peaceful and relaxing get away. Would high recommend this to anyone and we will be sure to stay here on furture visits to the region.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Studio Spa Room. Check in prompt and friendly. Room as always was very clean and well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLBPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for your comments, Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Great to hear you dined in one of the two Restaurants open on Saturday nights. Thanks for your comments re our food & Beverage pricing, however it is similar to many restaurants in the local area and Region, so very competitive with the added bonus of not having to drive anywhere. Comments such as yours contain valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
447 reviews
16.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
309 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Property: Abbey Beach Resort
Address: Abbey Beach Resort 595 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary Wi-Fi in the Atrium, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing