We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - little disappointed”
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The staff were fantastic and very friendly are welcoming. Room in great condition and very comfortable. Were however disappointed at lack of Internet access from the room (room 227, in main building not far from reception). Also online advertisement indicate late checkout as part of the long weekend "deal" however upon checking, told we had to be out by 10am, hardly a late checkout! Restaurant was also a little disappointing food was ok, although the pie in the cafe was fantastic the following night,
A huge plus is the sound proofing, had baby daughter with us who kept us, and we were afraid everyone, up the first night with much loud screaming, but upon bumping into the couple in the room next to us the following day, they claim not to have heard a thing!
For such a great hotel, lack of high speed Internet was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lpasotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Dear Lpasotti, many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer the fastest internet speed available by the telco providers in the region, and do multiple event throughout the year with clients using the internet for conferences, Radio broadcasts etc, and it works fine for their usage. Your comment regarding a ‘late checkout’ baffles me. On normal weekends we do offer a package with a late checkout on a Sunday, however the ‘package’ needs to be booked this way, online, or via our reception. Over long weekends ( as in June 4 & 5) we do not offer this package due to the Resort being busy on all nights of a long weekend. If your comments relate to the L/W it was not available online nor advertised this way? Your comments contains valuable information and insights for future guests and help us strive to continue improving our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

Not really worth what we paid for it, the hotel looked a little tired and in need of some renovation. We will be returnin to Busselton , but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear AtlantanHaggis, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our experience suggests, our tariffs are highly competitive within the Region given the facilities we offer. Your comment about being ‘tired and in need of some renovation’ is upsetting. Maintenance and refurbishment is something we continuously do, and whilst we are not ‘modern’ with bright colours etc, we are classic & regal, in appearance, we have major apartment refurbishment planned for later this year. We hope to be able to encourage you back to Abbey Beach Resort sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The building looks stunning on arrival, the inside looks magnificent and well thought structures all over. Friendly staff and available amenities ideal for total relaxation for weekend getaway or long stay. In our case we chose Abbey Beach as our base and visited nearby other south-west landmarks. Our second visit to Abbey Beach Resort and would love to back when situation permits.

Room Tip: Room overlooking outdoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2011

Dear dewleigh, Many thanks for your comments, sounds like you did like so many others and got out and explored the fantastic region. Your room tip is a beauty, however its not always possible from the Resort side to allocate guests a pool view room, due to maintenance and occupancy levels for example, but we do try to accommodate guest requests. We will always continue to strive to keep improving our customer service, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd visit to the Region and Abbey Beach Resort, hopefully in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We had the misfortune of spending last saturday night at the resort . We arrived only to find we did not have a bed available not a worry the reception staff moved us to the room above the night club . All night thump thump we went to the bistro for coffeee sorry not available . The resort is worn out and out dated. We checked out at 0630 am and went home not happy

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2011

Dear Lee630, I am terrible disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am not sure about your comment relating to ‘no bed’ I assume you mean no reservation, which I am at a loss to figure out, its good to know we had a room available for you. In regards to the noise, we don’t have a ‘night club’ however the Leisure bar had a work / family function which finished with staff signing off at 11.00pm, so I imagine it finished about 10.30pm, hardly ‘all night’ as you say? I assume by the comment relating to the ‘bistro’ you mean the café, which did close at 10.00pm ,however the Bar and Brasserie Restaurant had staff in attendance until the function finished, it would have been great if you had spoken to a staff member, would have been happy to serve you in either of the 2 outlets? Your comment about being ‘worn out’ and dated is upsetting. Maintenance and refurbishment is something we continuously do, and whilst we are not ‘modern’ with bright colours etc, we are classic & regal, in appearance, we have major apartment refurbishment planned for later this year. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, perhaps you perception of what we can and do offer is different to what we actually do and can offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I had not been there for 9 years, and it was still very clean and tidy and very well kept. Alot of time and money has been put into room and general maintanence and it shows. It was not dated or old in any way.
Would recommend it to anyone wanting a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired5_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear retired5_2011, WOW 9 years since we have seen you, welcome back! Maintenance and refurbishment is something we work hard to maintain, there is major apartment refurbishment planned for later this year. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future, lets not make it another 9 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed at Abbey Beach Resort for a wkend in May with my husband on a business trip entertaining clients. From the moment we arrived to us leaving the resort all staff where super friendly with food, drink and the facilities great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeves100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear Reeves100, Many thanks for your comments, the weather in May was ‘fantastic’ so I hope you got out and explored the Region? Thanks for your comments regarding staff etc, I will certainly pass them on. We will always continue to strive to keep improving our customer service, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey Beach Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We concluded our three day business conference in Margaret River by having our families join us for a weekend at Abbey Beach. The facilities were excellent, staff assisting arranging a private function for us for the Saturday night with a young DJ, Jontie. He was brilliant and got all of us from toddlers through to adults up dancing the Zorba and Bus Stop. Food was sensational, except there was too much of it! Our cocktail waitress blended up the most wicked and delicious cocktails.
Many thanks to all staff who help make this an enjoyable and memorable weekend for us all.

Room Tip: 2bdm Apt perfect for family of 4 - great spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forddoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod_Hughes01, General Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear Forddoon, Sounds like you had a great time! So nice to hear your comments regarding staff, I will certainly pass them on. Your tip is a great one, families can have a great time in the apartments and enjoy using the Resort as a base to explore the Resort and the Region. Stay up to date with or fantastic deals and getaway ideas via our website or Social media pages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
658 reviews
16.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Address: Abbey Beach Resort 595 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range: $142 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary 100MB per 24 hours per person of Wi-Fi throughout the resort, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing