We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Resort Busselton
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Wonderful family get together at the AQUA Resort. 9 members of the family could easily fit in the self contained accommodation. Wonderful facilities, plenty of bathrooms for all of us, great kitchen and facilities and super outdoor area. Gardens, pool and spa areas very clean. Great place for a family get together.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SPBookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Hi SPBookie

Thank you for your lovely review. Our houses are designed to be shared, with 4 to 5 bedroom houses and spacious living areas. Whether it's sharing with family or a group of friends. I hope your family took away very fond memories of their stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Resort Busselton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 395 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed at Aqua Resort a few weeks ago. The Resort has a grand entrance and a modern feel to it, but I have to say our group was disappointed there was no on site restaurant or food outlet. Yes we had booked a self catered apartment, but the 10 minute drive into Busselton meant that one of the group had to miss out and be the skipper.

The actual apartment was nicely furnished, but wear and tear has taken its toll on some aspects and we found the shower leaked throughout our stay and mould in the grout is never pleasant to look at! When you pay such high prices, you expect 5 star service and accommodation and the bedding, hard mattresses and various appliances that looked like they had seen better days did not match up to the promise.

We also found the check in process to be a ‘get them in, I need to go home’ affair. No information on the local area or facilities at the resort. Due to this we spent the first hour looking for the onsite café only to be told by other guests that they went for breakfast at the larger resort next door and drove into Busselton for food.

I also found it strange that even thought you pay for your own lap pool, you are ordered not to use it after sunset. With the winter sun setting at around 5.30pm this doesn’t give you long in the evening and we decided to go in anyway. As the resort was pretty empty, we didn’t disturb anyone. Maybe management should consider that the resort is all year round and not just for those who visit in the Summer.

Wifi was patchy to say the least and should really these days be free, especially if the service is no quicker than the internet you get on your phone.

It was an enjoyable experience due to the company, but next time we venture down South for Gourmet Escape, we certainly will be looking for a more rounded resort, rather than the self catered apartments found at Aqua.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank CrispyDuck14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hi Crispy duck14.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our website provides the information of what is on site and we make no representation of having a restaurant. There are 3 restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance.( no need to drive when you can walk)

I disagree with your comment that wear and tear has taken its toll. The accommodation is in very good condition.

I apoligise if there was mould in the grout. I have instructed house keeping to detail all wet areas.

The bedding is of a high standard so I guess you have an unusual sleep comfort. Generally we do not have any complaints about bedding. All our appliances are new and modern so I have to disagree with you on that as well.

We supply a large range of tourism brochures in reception including local maps.

It is a local government requirement that the plunge pools are not used after sunset.

Our WiFi is patchy at present as we await parts from overseas.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We came to Busselton for a short break and were looking forward to our stay after reading the reviews. After a busy day sightseeing, we checked in around 3.30 - friendly check-in but didn't give too much information such as the reception will be closing in another 30 minutes............. and in the room it said another 90minutes before reception closed.

The rooms themselves were very clean and spacious although as they were big the heaters struggled to keep the large spaces warm and that was with them all on full and the fire on (which is really hard to light - where was the remote? We have the same at home with a remote and gives out more heat!)

When we arrived we found there wasn't a single coat hanger, the phone didn't work and although we had booked wifi, they didn't give us the password when we checked in. This was when we found reception wasn't open as said in the information book - after we had walked down and seen 'closed' on the door and seen different times there. We called one of the mobile numbers listed on the door (would be nice to have these in information book) and got a not too friendly person on the other end.

Coathangers came shortly after (all 6 of them for 4 of us for several days!) but the phone wasn't even looked at the whole stay. As for internet - don't bother paying the $20 - that and nothing is much the same - a lot of things we couldn't even do or open it was so slow - worse than dial-up, if you can remember that far back!

The bathrooms were great but freezing cold! The wonderful shower in the ensuite wasn't enclosed so when used, rendered that toilet useless to anyone else unless they wanted wet feet.

The place has great potential but it's the little things and definitely the service and extras that make the average stay a 5 star place - such as toilet rolls (not thin and cheap), bathrobes and slippers etc Also strange it called itself a resort - to us, it would have at least a restaurant on -site.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkDiamondKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Hi PINK DIAMOND KT.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We do close reception at 4 pm on Sundays so I assume you arrived on a Sunday. I agree that the Guest Service Directory in the rooms states 5 pm. We are in the process of upgrading these directory's.

All our houses are quite large as depicted on our web site. I disagree that the heating is insufficient. The main living rooms and all bedrooms have reverse cycle air-conditioning and the lounge room a gas heater as well. The gas heaters can be hard to light and we are only to happy to light these for our guests on request. We do not light them prior to guest arrival for safety concerns with small children.

I was disappointed to hear that you had no coat hangers in your house. We do supply coat hangers in all wardrobes but for what ever reason (theft or damage) they were not there. I was pleased that when you requested some they were provided and had you asked for more we would have supplied them.

Our phones operate by voice over internet provider. We have thirteen access points within the resort. We have undertaken a major upgrade of our internet, phones and television. At present we do have two access points down and are awaiting parts to complete the upgrade.

The after hours phone number is in the guest service directory.

In relation to the shower it is a design fault. We have contemplated putting in a shower curtain or glass screen but this would render the area a bit small.

I have raised all your issues with our department heads and collectively we will continue to work hard at making The Aqua Resort the premiere accommodation destination within the region.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and spaciousness of the apartment. Absolutely fantastic. We particularly enjoyed the plunge pool which even in the dead of an inclement winter was still an enjoyable temperature for a swim.

Room Tip: Get one with a plunge pool.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waynetelevision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Hi Waynetelevision

Thank you for your review. Yes the houses with plunge pools are very popular even throughout winter as they are gas heated to 30 degrees. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you travel about 7km along the Bussel Highway from Queens Street which is like the main street of Busselton, you will arrive at Aqua Resort. It's after the Broadwater Shopping Centre, Sebel Resort and the Abbey Beach Resort. So along that stretch of hotels, it's the farthest away but the newest and most up-market. The compound is tight but well designed and landscaped such that each of the garden grove units were adequately private. The tennis court is right by the reception and the gym and swimming pool at the opposite end near the sea. These were unfortunately closed when we were there for renovations but we were informed in advanced which was really good of Aqua. Units A to G each had 2 floors with either the top floor or bottom floor separately rentable or can be rented together. The lower unit has 2 bedrooms and a heated plunge pool. The upper unit 3 bedrooms and more spacious. We had the upper floor in Apartment F. Everything was new, clean and tidy. Kitchen had good facilities and equipment. There was even a wine fridge. There was also a fireplace. We read somewhere on TA that it was difficult to start but we got the hang of it after a while. Everything is set-up luxuriously. We did have a couple of hiccups. Upon check-in, 2 of the bedrooms were locked and we were told we booked for only one bedroom. That was rectified quite quickly. We checked in at about 4.30pm and fortunately had enough time to bring this up to the receptionist before they closed at 5. We also had our card keys deactivated at 12 noon on check out day even though we paid the late check out fee of A$55 in advance. Internet was charged at A$20 per stay but the speed and coverage (can't get it in the bedroom) remains to be desired. Tennis courts were charged at A$20 per hour and that excludes rental of equipment so not surprised we didn't see anyone playing tennis during out stay. (How about lowering the fees?) Overall still had a good and relaxing holiday and would recommend this to people who just want to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrek-loves-Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you Shrek-loves-Fiona for your very detailed review. You could be a travel blogger. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to promptly rectify any minor issues you had. Just to clarify the tennis court is free to hire. There is a fee only for the hire of tennis court equipment if you did not remember to bring your own. Thank you for the photos. The views from the Upstairs apartment overlooking Geographe Bay are always memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We spent three nights in a one bedroom, beach facing apartment. The quality of the apartment was outstanding, spotlessly clean, great fireplace, balcony with BBQ, kitchen is fully equipped, comfortable beds. Great place to stay and drive down to Margaret River wineries. Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

HI Tanya 67. Thank you for a very lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We receive a lot of wonderful compliments about the beachfront apartments. Something about having an ocean view makes it very special. Kind Regards. Liz West - Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the resort for a few days for the Busselton 1/2 Iron man. The house was large, clean with everything we could have wanted or needed. The location and grounds were perfect. Could not fault,would highly recommend the resort,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude19582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Jude19582014

Thank you for your favorable review and high recommendation. We look forward to having you stay for next years Ironman Event.

Best Regards Team Aqua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
644 reviews
15.8 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.1 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#9 of 14 in Busselton
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
704 reviews
12.4 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Resort Busselton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Resort Busselton

Address: 605 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Price Range: $214 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aqua Resort Busselton 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Resort Busselton understated luxury accommodation on the shores of the pristine protected waters of Geographe Bay, in the beautiful South West of Western Australia. Nestled in eight and half acres of mature peppermint woodlands and complimented by beautifully landscaped grounds. Aqua Resort Busselton offers self-catering Beach House accommodation with uncompromising privacy and the best of contemporary indoor / outdoor living. Your holiday accommodation on the beach. With a choice from 1 bedroom to 5 bedroom luxury self-contained Houses, able to accommodate the largest of family gatherings to the most intimate of getaways. The Bay Beach Houses have expansive views overlooking Geographe Bay and Cape Naturaliste; while the Grove Beach Houses enjoy garden views with private lawned area. The Aqua Resorts world class Facilities include a beach front waterfall swimming pool, gynasium, sauna, spa and tennis court. Located a leisurely 2 and half hour's drive southwest of Perth, Western Australia through the coastal towns of Mandurah and Bunbury. The Aqua Resort is conveniently situated between the seaside towns of Busselton and Dunsborough; within the internationally acclaimed Margaret River Wine Region and all the Attractions the beautiful South West has to offer. Aqua - capturing the quintessential spirit of the Australian beach house holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Resort Busselton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing