We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The staff at Sandy Bay kindly trusted 8 young adults to stay over the weekend over Groove in the Moo although they may have been concerned with the outcome, this was greatly appreciated!

The chalet was in a great condition, we had absolutely no problems arise and the staff were helpful. Everything was in a clean condition when we arrived and the fire place was such a bonus (along with the wood brought to our door each day!)

The only fault we found was poor WiFi and phone signal but this was not a major issue at all.

We would happily stay again and plan to! Recommended for anyone wanting to visit bussleton and it's surrounds :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itslauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Good Afternoon Itslauren
We are always happy to accept young adults who respect their surroundings and other guests, and congratulations to you all. Yes having the fire provides a cozy warm chalet for your stay.
We hope you all enjoyed the concert in Bunbury? We look forward to see you all again.
Management, Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    165
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
171
151
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The cabins were clean, equipped with everything we needed, comfortable and warm.
Staff were also very friendly and helpful, they let me print out a ticket I needed using their computer.
Overall a very nice stay

Room Tip: I didn't realise there was a pool or fitness centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EdodoBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Good Afternoon EdodoBear
Our staff pride themselves in offering a helpful friendly service and we were more than happy to print tickets for you. We don't have a pool or fitness centre, but even better, and free, is the calm waters of Geographe Bay for a swim, the beach for a walk/run or workout and then even a bike ride along the cycleway that goes from Busselton to Dunsborough, right past our front door. The best workout is in the fresh air amongst nature.
Management, Sandy Bay Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Perfect for an overnighter catch up with friends after doing part of Cape to Cape Trek. Dated but very clean, great location for a leisurely wander along the beach - one friend had a quick dip with the jellyfish! Great rates for our needs. Quiet because not school hols!
Great to see such a beachside location still affordable for all.

Room Tip: Don't go on school/public holidays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mer5314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Good Afternoon Mer5314
We hope you enjoyed the natural wonders of the Cape to Cape track? Sandy Bay is a unique, affordable beachside park, small, quiet and a great location for visiting our picturesque South West. Our staff take pride in maintaining our park and providing our guests with a pleasant stay.
Hopefully we may see you again at Sandy Bay.
Management, Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Booked this place last minute and good thing is that they do single night stays. The Swiss Chalet is what we booked and is basically exactly like in the photos except that the photos make it look more private and secluded than it actually is. Reality is that it is right next to caravan homes and, depending on your neighbours, can actually get quite noisy.

It's not bad but it's not great either. Pre-stay, got a really friendly personal call stating that they had our booking and that they needed my email etc. for directions which was nice. But front staff was super rude when we checked in. Literally couldn't give two hoots. Didn't even look at us when she asked us for a credit card for deposit.

Having said all this would possibly stay here again as it's not bad for a bed at night when cruising the wineries and other stuff during the day anyway. Just wouldn't spend much time here and don't expect a "holiday park" by any means.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naweed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Good afternoon jgaweed,
We are very disappointed to hear that you weren't greeted by friendly helpful staff upon your arrival. We pride ourselves on offering all our guests personal friendly hospitality. We are not a large park but our location is perfect as the gateway to the amazing wonders of our South West.
We hope your experience didn't damped your visit and hope you can join us again soon where we are sure we can make amends.
Management, Sandy Bay Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of weeks in a tent. First of all the gardens were well maintained but the smell from the water was like a eggy smell after a couple of days this it made me want to be sick! First day the receptionist staff were friendly but I as soon as I had an issue the women (didn't get her name) was so rude! My problem left unresolved has made me not want to come back. A few of my personal items were ruined and she didn't care.

The beach close by is lovely but I wouldn't stay here if you don't have a vehicle.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Swill89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Good Morning Swill89
Thankyou for writing a review during your stay with us. Our staff take great pride and effort into maintaining our lush green shady gardens but as our bore water is so close to the beach we do get the odd days where the water has an 'eggy smell' this due to the seaweed build up within the water table. It was unfortunate that you had an issue with your washing. Our staff were quick to respond by offering some stain remover and then took items home and soaked them for you which resulted in an excellent outcome. Our washing machines are only 2 months old so we did consult with our provider who advised that the stains could not have been caused by the machines. We hope that this has not damped the rest of your holiday experience here in the picturesque South West of Western Australia.
Management, Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed one Sat night this month.2 couples in a 2BRM earth rammed cottage (which just looked like any other cottage in any other place).

Cottage has no Air Con which was okay during the afternoon but not so great in the evening once it had warmed up through the day. The second bedroom retained its heat during the night even with the window open which made it a little hard to get to sleep initially. There were 2 pedestal fans, one for each bedroom (look in master bedroom wardrobe) but we didn’t know about this until the morning when our friends found them after we’d already gone to bed).

The master bedroom is quite small but does have a big bed which my friends said was very comfortable.

The 2nd Bedroom had 2 sets of bunks; one was single bunks and the other was a double bed bunk at bottom with a single over the top. Hubby and I had the double and our adult son slept in the bottom single bunk across from us. Both rooms had wardrobes. All up this small cottage could sleep 7 in the 2 rooms.

One toilet which is separate to the bathroom (good).

One bathroom for all to share with large sized shower and one basin, good sized bench and mirror. No toiletries supplied other than soap. Towels nice and large and clean. There is room, and faucets, for a washing machine but it wasn’t provided however there are washing machines and dryers in a communal area for the caravan park which take $1 & $2 coins and this area looked quite large & tidy. Iron & iron board in room from memory (in one of the wardrobes).

The lounge is a small but functional area with 2 x 2 seater couches and all seats able to see the TV.

The kitchen is also small but functional with stovetop, oven, microwave, full fridge, etc. Table for 6 and chairs for 6. Outdoor setting outside sliding door of master bedroom was also a 6 seater.

Parking right outside door for car.

We had a car so it was easy to get around but if you had no car you may prefer staying closer to Busselton town. Nice, calm beach with lovely soft sand right across from caravan park and lots of bike and walking paths running parallel to the beach.

We didn’t need it but the caravan park did have a playground for children and a small shop.

All in all it fit the bill for us for the afternoon and night; I thought at almost $200AUD for one night it was a bit steep in price though especially with no AC nor toiletries. If we were in this area again wit a car & got it at a cheaper price we'd happily stay again (except in sweltering hot weather).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishtago...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Good afternoon Wishtago
Thankyou for taking the time to write an in-depth review of Sandy Bay. Our unique style Rammed Earth and Swiss Chalets are not air-conditioned but we do provide pedestal fans in each bedroom to help circulate air on those odd hot nights. Busselton has very few hot nights as we get the beautiful sea breeze that cools the chalets down through open windows. Our Mid Season prices are very reasonable between $148- $204 depending on the amount of guests staying. Hopefully next time you stay with us it is not too hot.
Management, Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We arrived at Sandy Bay with the intention of staying a night or two but ended up staying for 4. Finding a caravan park on the water in South West WA at a reasonable price is not easy so we were really pleased with this find. Right on the beach with local supermarket and a restaurant/bar within walking distance. Wifi was also cheap at $6 per day.

The facilities at the park are clean and tidy and it is not a noisy resort as there is no pool which is just what we were after. The campervan/caravan sites are nice and grassy as well which is also unusual as everything is sandy in WA.

The management and staff were very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. We can highly recommend.

The beach in front is beautiful, crystal clear blue water, shame there wasn't as many fish as we hoped for but if you want a feed of crabs they are easy to catch (as long as somebody doesn't steel your pots) but that's another story.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonFinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBayBusselton, Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Afternoon John and Sharon
We are so pleased to hear that you couldn't resist the lovely park grounds and helpful staff at Sandy Bay that you extended you stay so you could soak up more of the relaxed atmosphere. As we are located right on the calm waters of Geographe Bay you can swim, snorkel, fish, crab and beachcomb and it sounds like you have an interesting crabbing story to tell. We hope you can return soon and maybe catch a few fish!
Management, Sandy Bay Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busselton hotels
0.4 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Busselton Villas & Caravan Park
1.4 mi away
BIG4 Beachlands Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Bay Holiday Park

Property: Sandy Bay Holiday Park
Address: Sandy Bay Caravan Park 2 Norman Rd, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Bay Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Bay is a quiet, shady, grassed beachfront park located 4.5km west of Busselton town centre. It is seperated from the beach only by a cycleway which reaches past the towen centre, Busselton's famous 2km wooden Jetty and the Underwater Observatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandy Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing