We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton
Ranked #2 of 14 Busselton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
276 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our second visit to this place and we will not be returning. The last time was about two years ago. The location is great as we like to be amongst the trees, animals and birds but the owners need to rev it up a notch or three. We had the same room as last time and that was fine - it could do with a bit of a freshen up - it's small but dated. The bathroom lighting is dreadful (even given that the lights are of the new breed). For the price of this room, one would expect that fresh towels on a daily basis would be the norm. Especially in winter - when there are not heated towel rails on offer. Not so. Despite the fact that we had thrown them (and the VERY wet) bathmat on the floor!! Yukkkk When husband enquired the next day he was informed, rather sternly, that this was not the case and there were indeed two spare towels in the cupboard. We accepted this - not happily though. After our day out, we returned to find that these 'two towels from the cupboard' had been very unceremoniously placed on the closed lid of the loo! Ok - point taken!!! Clearly we should not have requested fresh towels!!! The mini bottles of shampoo etc were not replaced. Both of us wash our hair on a daily basis so one of these bottles doesn't last 3 nights. Yes, we do take our own but you certainly don't expect such minginess. The male owner's standard of dress is appalling. He would be better off in a neat polo shirt with their logo on it rather than shabby unironed shirt/shorts/trousers. Not a good look. Finally, running an establishment such as this requires that you have some idea of 'reading' people and not force conversation. A polite 'good morning - are you ready for your breakfast?' is all that is required rather than trite weak jokes. When I drew to his attention that we had some live animal (mouse?) in our wall a rather crude and very unfunny comment followed. We will not return - there are plenty of other options to try out in this neck of the woods. Best part - the sight of kangaroos bounding along the road next door and the abundant birdlife.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hartley5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheTuartsGuest, Owner at Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello again ‘Hartley’. We are both shocked and hurt by your review given that we received a lovely thank you card after your stay. We are mystified as to what we have done to you to deserve such direct vitriolic personal attack and criticism. We regret that we were unable to offer you a free upgrade to a bigger room as we were fully booked and that Peter didn’t recognise you from your last stay 2 ½ years and many guests ago. Being so busy, we weren’t able to spend as much time with you as before. You did, however, receive a friendly and warm welcome from me as I did remember you both. We had lovely chats at breakfast each day so again we are baffled as to what we have done to offend you so grievously.


We are sincerely disappointed that you chose to express your obvious anger in a public forum through TripAdvisor and not to us directly – we had thought that having stayed with us in the past, enjoyed our personal hospitality and you know us personally, you would have come to us directly to discuss your grievances and given us the opportunity make it right. We innocently believed that we were on familiar and friendly terms with you both. Instead you have chosen to express your anger in public in the harshest way you could without any concern for us. Of course, public or not, we take your comments very much to heart.


Given that you have listed errors on our part we feel we must address these to all reading this response so that a fair and reasonable two sided view is provided. With regards to the towels, you brought this to my attention and I personally made sure that we placed fresh towels in your room. In fact every room has 4 to start and we added another four. There were 2 in the bathroom, 4 extra in the cupboard and 2 were placed on the cleaned and sanitized toilet lid as there was no spare space left due to your possessions in the room and our cleaner did not want to place them on the floor and wanted to make sure that you didn’t miss them. It was me who your husband asked and I politely asked if you knew that there were spares in your cupboard – obviously not so I offered to check for you and make sure you had more. No problem with that – happy to do it. There were also extra toiletries in the vanity cupboard for your use and if you wanted more, you could have simply asked or used our guest request form on the front desk. We are not “mingy” as you assert and are happy to offer all and any extras that guests would like – just ask us and we are more than happy to oblige in any way we can. As you know, we often share our wine and cheese with our guests as a welcoming gesture.


At $129 a night for 2 with our generous chef prepared cooked breakfast (see our other reviews) we feel that we offer great value. You told us that you thoroughly enjoyed and loved your breakfast each day, something that you did not mention in your review. You chose our smallest room that you have stayed in before – as you know, most of our other studios and rooms are somewhat larger but we can offer rooms to suit all budgets.


We noted your comments regarding your room. This room like all others has been refreshed with new bed covers, lamps, pictures, cushions, bed runner and curtains. We have also added to our guest amenities a new 50m2 outdoor pavilion with BBQ, seating and outdoor kitchen, a large heated Jacuzzi, a pool/billiards table to the guest lounge with a log fire, painted the entire building inside and out, upgraded the front façade with a lit slatted balcony structure and added two new large studio rooms, one with disable facilities – well over $250,000 of improvements since you last stayed and we continue to upgrade and provide more guest facilities.


We don’t wear logo polo shirts as we are a family run business not an overseas owned international hotel chain. We offer a personal homely service where our guests are made to feel welcome and appreciated. We like to wear casual clothing like our guests – we want them to feel relaxed and “at home” where they don’t have to dress up to come to breakfast. Our more relaxed personal style seems to be appreciated by most.


But you do have a point; while most find Peter’s Basil Fawlty impersonations amusing and entertaining, I and our daughters can vouch that his “Dad Jokes” need serious work. But he does his best to make our guests feel relaxed and at home; as attested to in our guest reviews, most find him an affable chap who will bend over backwards to assist in any way he can to make your stay a pleasant and enjoyable one. Pete’s tours and tourism advice are well received and appreciated by most. Obviously you didn’t appreciate his humor or manner and all we can say is he did his best and did not intend to offend you in any way.


To our many other lovely guests and TripAdvisor fans, we hope that we have been able to provide a more balanced view of this review and assure you all that we will continue to offer personal service and friendly country hospitality to all those we welcome to our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    57
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
401
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed here with my partner for a surprise weekend away. We both work 2 jobs so he was looking for somewhere peaceful and relaxing. That he found indeed! I have never stayed at a B&B before but Peter and Suzanne make me want to never go back to the chain hotels ever again. They were ever so welcoming and lovely. They will do anything to make sure your stay is everything you want and more. They have the perfect location quiet amongst the beautiful wildlife but also not far at all from beautiful restuarants, wineries and beaches. We were never dissapointed with the recommendations provided. Peter and Suzanne defintely know their stuff. They also know how to cook, Breakfast was amazing everyday! All amenities were immaculately clean and wonderful we had a beautiful spacious room with a spa. There was also a shared pool, spa, suana, pool table and outdoor bbq area. You were never in need of anything here as Peter and Suzanne have thought of it all. I would highly recommend their place to anyone I spoke to. Next time I am in need of a getaway from the city I know where I will be headed. Thank you ever so much! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheTuartsGuest, Owner at Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello Zoey W, and thank you sincerely for such a comprehensive and informative review singing the praises not only of what we do but where we are and why busy city people like you would choose to stay. We get a surprising number of "big hotel refugees" seeking a more personalised nature-based experience appropriate to this diverse and fascinating region of WA's south west. My apologies for being so slow in responding to your review, we have been a tad busy. And yes, we do love to share our knowledge and passion for all that there is to offer around here, which is almost without limit, if you include wineries, boutique breweries, stunning coast, forests, foodie heaven, galleries and so much more. Just a note to others reading this, we have sadly had to decommission the spa in room 1 as it used 100,000l of water last year, which we can no longer sustain. The room will be converted to another of our popular semi self-contained studios in the near future, but meanwhile has been reduced in price to be in line with our other superior queen rooms. Thank you again for such a wonderful review, and of course for making the bold decision to escape from the big hotel chains and staying with us. We hope you can find the time for another escape before too long. All the best, Pete and Suzanne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed once again in April. Peter and Suzanne are very welcoming and accommodating. We stayed in the "Busselton" which is a suite built for disabled access. It is very comfortable and spacious includes your own microwave, sink and fridge.

Breakfast was really enjoyable, and we had the spa all to ourselves in the afternoon before we headed out at night. Love this place, love the people, and the environment.

Location wise, very handy to Busselton, no traffic, no noise, waking to the sound of nature... very appealing!

Room Tip: Speak to Peter and Suzanne, they will guide you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheTuartsGuest, Owner at Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Great review from you, Linda B, thank you very much. Particular thanks for the detail you've provided in it, about your room the Busselton Studio room 8, the breakfast, the spa and the location here Inn the Tuarts. We personally love this location for the fact that it is only 6 or 7 minutes drive into town, set amongst the unique tall Tuart trees, and away from busy roads and noise. In fact our favourite sounds are the wind in the trees and the abundant birdsong. I personally love the daily Magpie choir, the twitter of small birds like Wrens and Honeyeaters, while the Whistling Kites wheel gracefully overhead. We also love your room tip, because every room here is different, so cater to a variety of tastes, budgets and styles, even for the same people if you read Paul and Jenifer's review below this one. Having said that, the studios are proving to be such a hit, that we are now in the process of turning room 1 from a spa suite, into another semi-self contained studio, and reducing the price accordingly. It should be ready in a few weeks. Later in the year we hope to add room 9 upstairs, with a queen and separate single bed room, kitchenette, small lounge, large bathroom and balcony. Again, our sincere appreciation to you for staying with us again and for posting such a lovely review. Pete and Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was the 4th or 5th time we have stayed at Peter and Suzanne's guesthouse and we are always impressed at the quality of the accomodation as we have stayed in different rooms previously, and Suzanne's breakfasts which are always of a high standard.
They are the perfect hosts always smiling and obliging with helpful tips and ideas to make your stay more enjoyable.
Must also mention their new chef Tammy who has joined their team to provide the breakfasts to Suzanne's exacting standards and who has also started a choice of evening take-away meals.
We tried a couple of items and we thoroughly enjoyed it, as with the whole of our stay.
Paul and Jennifer Newsome

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheTuartsGuest, Owner at Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Once again a joy to welcome back old friends, thank you for staying with us again Paul and Jennifer, and thank you so much for your detailed and positive review posted here on Tripadvisor. Special appreciation to you too, for your feedback about Suzanne and Tammy's breakfast and in-room meals, coming from a (now retired) chef yourself, its high praise indeed. As for the smile, lovely, easy-going, friendly repeat stayers like you two make our job easy and worthwhile. Its interesting isn't it, just how much there is to see and do down here, when after your many visits both staying Inn the Tuarts and before, that there are still new things to discover - we are certainly still busy doing just that, and love to share our favourites with guests. One little snippet for others and for your next visit, is that the MR Cheese factory that burned down has been re-built and is now open, bigger and better than before. We're looking forward to trying it. All the very best to your both, Pete and Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night in April, and we had a fantastic time. You feel welcomed the moment you step into the reception area, and Peter and Suzan really put in the effort to make you feel at home.

The area in and around the lodging is clean and well maintained. Our rooms were comfortable and well furnished, with the usual facilities you would expect from a first class B&B. What we loved best about Inn the Tuarts is the wide spacious area around the house, with a herd of Kangaroos grazing just a few minutes walk away. This, the fresh air and great hospitality, coupled with the majestic tuart trees make this place a good choice for any traveler on holiday to the Busselton/Margaret River area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevenLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheTuartsGuest, Owner at Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Excellent review DevenLim from Singapore thank you very muchly! We have enjoyed a growing number of visitors from Singapore and at the risk of committing reverse discrimination, are amongst our favourite guests. Why? Well apart from the fact that pretty much every Singaporean we meet is friendly and polite, fun-loving but sensible too, it is how much you guys seem to enjoy and appreciate it here. We love Singapore too, having visited many times, so understand that you love the un-urban yet civilised and well-run way things are here. The roads are rarely ever too busy, and usually pretty empty, especially lots of the quiet country roads to the wineries, coast, forests, lighthouses, caves and so much more that this region has to offer. We have just heard that our government has just changed the rules to allow Singaporeans holding e-passports the same express entry through airports as Australian citizens. And talking of airports, we are waiting for government funding to extend the runway of Busselton Regional (BQB) to allow direct flights in from Singapore, KL, Sydney and the like, which we believe will make it much more attractive to visitors like you to travel direct. Bring it on! Thank you for deciding to stay with us, and for reviewing us so generously. The kangaroos liked your kind words about them as well :-) All the best, Pete and Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We just love this place so much that when a group of our friends wanted to spend a few days away we didn't hesitate to recommend Inn The Tuarts. There were 6 couples who thoroughly enjoyed the experience, very comfortable accommodation, friendly and very obliging hosts in Peter and Suzanne - and that breakfast - WOW! If you are looking for value for money this is the place to go! Not many places can accommodate a group of 12 but with the outside bbq/eating area and the large inviting lounge where we could all be together in the evenings - it just suited us so well. Busselton is a great place to base for the south west region - nothing is too far away - and the drives around the country roads are just lovely - it certainly was a refreshing change and we'll be doing it again!! I just hope that by recommending it so highly it won't mean they will be all booked up when we want to go again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheTuartsGuest, Owner at Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Even greater review, heartfelt appreciation to you Shirley L for posting such a positive and generous one on Tripadvisor. We have been enjoying quite a number of groups (Groups of people who love it most, are, like yourselves, here to enjoy, get together over a meal and a drink, have a chat, but don't expect it to be an all-night party house, which it isn't. Folks also appreciate the services like breakfast, daily room servicing, BBQ dishes washed up for you and so on) over the cooler months, ranging in size from 2 or 3 rooms, right up to 16 - 18 people in all the rooms. As you say the property is ideal for people to join together in one or more of the spacious guest areas like the wood fire heated guest lounge, indoor pool area, outdoor pavillion with BBQ and food prep kitchenette, and of course our gracious dining room with 6m ceilings for breakfast. We are very proud of the quality and presentation of the breakfasts which are prepared by Suzanne or Tammy, so thank you for your WOW! that's music to their hard-working ears. About your concern of us being booked out next time, of course there is the risk, when booking for a group of people in multiple rooms, of limited availability, so, like you did this time, try to book ahead, stay midweek and in the quieter times if possible. And call us, we'll always do our best to assist. However, trying to book multiple rooms at peak times, requires some serious advance planning, although the fact that apart from whole-of-lodge groups, we are an adult retreat, means that we often book out later than family-oriented accommodation. Lovely generous review, thank you again, Suzanne and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Recently six couples from our small club decided to spend three days enjoying a gourmet tour of the wineries and restaurants in the area. The decision to stay at Inn The Tuarts was a great recommendation by one of our members who had stayed on a previous occasion.
The reception we received was first rate and very friendly with our breakfast's, setting the standards for the day's activities. We were accommodated in Room 7, "The Naturalist" which afforded us the extra room to stretch out and well worth the small surcharge.
Our stay was greatly enjoyed by our group. Suzanne and Peter are to be congratulated for their contribution to our visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheTuartsGuest, Owner at Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Barry H, we hugely enjoyed the line-up in the car park of your Porsches and Mercedes Sports - beautiful cars. We also immensely enjoyed meeting and hosting the humans who arrived in them, as well :-) Actually your group were such a pleasure to host that we have decided not to retire, but keep doing this until they either carry us out recumbent, or someone makes us an irresistible buyout offer. Given the likelihood of the latter occurring, I'm thinking that our first option is the one most likely to occur, so we'll be looking forward to many more wonderful people coming to stay with us over the coming years. Thank you for your comment about the Naturaliste Studio, these are proving so popular, that we are right now in the process of converting the Reinscourt Room1 into another studio, and will add a 4th upstairs later this year. The combination of being semi self-contained within a full-service Hosted Accommodation property is a winner it seems. Thank you sincerely for staying with us, for your great review, and for your congratulations, which by the way, have just been echoed by Tripadvisor with our 4th Certificate of Excellence in a row. Best regards, Suzanne and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busselton hotels
8.1 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
8.3 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baudins of Busselton
Baudins of Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
8.4 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
6.4 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton

Property: Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton
Address: 19 Rushleigh Rd | Reinscourt, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SO MUCH BETTER THAN A B & B...... A MINI RESORT • 4 Star Forest Adult Boutique Bed & Breakfast Guest Lodge with 9 AIR CONDITIONED ensuite guest rooms and studios • FREE WI FI. 7km (5-6 minutes) into Busselton town • Indoor Pool • FREE WI FI • Heated Jacuzzi • Sauna • Pool Table • Guest Lounge with Cosy Log Fire in Winter • Chef Prepared FREE 2 - 3 Course Breakfast • Two BBQS (plates & cutlery provided) • Outdoor pavilion surrounded by shady lawns & tall Tuart trees • In House Chef Prepared Meals • Studios and Rooms all with private ensuites (disabled facilities room available) • Child Free accommodation (unless booking the whole lodge) RETREAT FOR RELAXATION & REJUVENATION You can soak in the tranquil natural environment, recharge yourself and replenish while enjoying the many activities, attractions, wineries and natural spectacular coastline with azure blue seas in peaceful bays. Enjoy the Margaret River Wine Region with personal recommendations, maps and advice from owners, Peter and Suzanne, to ensure that you get the best of the region. There is nowhere in the world like the Ludlow Tuart Forest - it is the last and the rarest on Earth. You can feel the serenity.... You are invited to stay a while and enjoy friendly country hospitality and accommodation in comfort and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing