We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never let's us down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never let's us down”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming to Mandalay for the annual family holiday for over five years now (sometimes twice a year) and our kids won't stay anywhere else. What keeps us coming back is the quality of facilities for kids (the boys love the addition of the new water slides), cleanliness of the park, family activities (movie nights, cricket games, twilight market on the oval), respect that everyone shows by keeping to noise curfews (no late night parties keeping you awake) and general friendliness of everyone else who stays here. If I have a gripe (and its a small one) its that the bbq's aren't the hottest around and tend to stew your food so I end up using my own (I'd rather use the shared ones and save the cleaning) but you can't have everything! The owners never seem to rest on their laurels or let the standards slip, and I suspect we'll be coming here for many more years to come.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PerthRedfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalayResort, Owner at Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of Mandalay, it’s lovely to hear that you keep returning and plan to continue to do so. All of the staff at the park work very hard to keep the facilities and the grounds well maintained so that guests can make the most of them. In saying this, we do appreciate hearing if there are problems with the amenities so they can be seen to as soon as possible. Thank you again for your feedback and we trust that we’ll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    59
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
223
46
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for the third christmas in a row. Most relaxing holiday ever, mainly because the kids have so much to do and can, to a certain degree, be left in peace to make new friends and catch up with old ones from previous visits. The site is very well equipped, with all equipment and facilities properly maintained and the whole business is extremely well run.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalayResort, Owner at Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of Mandalay, it’s good to hear you keep coming back. We’re proud to be considered as a great park for families as all the staff at Mandalay work hard to keep it well maintained, safe and secure. We endeavour to provide good facilities and activities for the kids- as we know that parents need their relaxation time! Thank you again and we’re looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a nice park with good facilities but there is a downside. Our experience on our latest holiday here after several years here was very unpleasant after we had several complaints about our 18 month old son who had a tantrum during the day. We were informed that we were no longer able to stay at the site where we had stayed for 3 to 4 years due to the fact that our neighbours in the 1st week thought our 4 children were too noisy. Our children were havng a nice ime as all the children in the park and were not doing anything untoward. What would prompt people staying at a family campiste to complain about a young toddler unable to control his emotions at 11am? It was never during the night. We had no support from management only told we could only come back if there happened to be a space right on the other side of the park. We had no call this year. We are disgusted with the way we have been treated at this park. All we want, as to most people, is to come away from the hassles of home for a relaxing fortnight not to come home even more stressed after being invalidated by the people you have shown respect for. After this encounter were were afraid to let our children have fun, and panicked when our son started crying at 10pm due to sand in his eye. I urge you to bear this is mind prior to a new booking here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalayResort, Owner at Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of Mandalay Holiday Resort. It is a shame to hear that your stay with us was negatively affected by the way we dealt with the aforementioned situation. While we understand that children sometimes can’t be completely controlled, we also need to deal with grievances accordingly. During the school holidays we accommodate up to 175 families in the park and when there are numerous complaints being made, it is up to management to make decisions in the interest of the majority our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in a powered ensuite campsite in October for 4 days to celebrate our 10th Anniversary with our 2 children.The park is outstanding.The last time I was at Mandalay was when I was in my teens and it has come a long way.We were so impressed with everything that on check out we decided to rebook for Easter and convince some friends and family also to book and come share in the wonderful Resort with us which we are all really looking forward too.When we were there in october they were in the process of building the new slide and pool and although the pool area at the time was a little kaos with features missing we were happy to overlook this as everything else was Great and it was due to improvements for the future.We would not bother going to any other places in Busselton in the future as I think we've found our favourite place.The staff are all very friendly ,the grounds are beautiful and well kept ,amenities are fantastic ,everything is new and clean and fresh .There are Plenty of parks for the kids and jumpy pillow is great fun,can't wait to try out new pool and slide in March.I could not rave enough when we came home from our october holiday to family and friends about our wonderful time.We also enjoyed watching the possums even when the woke us up at that crack of dawn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalayResort, Owner at Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Mandalay. We have certainly had many changes around the park since you stayed with us last! It’s great to hear that your kids enjoyed the facilities and that you found our facilities and grounds tidy and well maintained- all the staff work very hard to keep it so. Our waterslide is now up and running which you and your kids will be able to enjoy using during your next stay. We’re looking forward to seeing you over Easter and thank you for spreading the Mandalay word to your friends and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have stayed in many different parks around Australia. Just last week we crossed the Nullabor to holiday with family at Busselton. Our daughter's family stayed in a 3 bedroom cabin and we had a powered site for our camper trailer. This is the best park ever - facilities, attention to detail by staff, cleanliness, pools, camp kitchen, catering for children's interests and so beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalayResort, Owner at Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of Mandalay, we always love to hear what a lovely time our guests had while staying with us. All of the staff at Mandalay strive to keep our park well maintained, tidy, safe and secure and we’re pleased to hear you found it to be so. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly park with good kids facilities and activities. We’re delighted you enjoyed your trip to Busselton and we hope you’ll return to Mandalay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We travelled around Australia, and this was the best maintained, park with the best facilities in Australia. The quality of the toilets, great camp kitchen area, a choice of facilities for the kids, and grassy / shady sites. Ticks all the boxes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuH702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalayResort, Owner at Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your extremely kind response. We value our guest’s feedback highly and are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit so much. All of our staff at Mandalay work hard to keep the park beautifully maintained, secure and safe. We pride ourselves on being a great family park with fantastic facilities for the kids and it’s wonderful to hear that you concur. We hope you will recommend us to others who are travelling to our region and trust that we’ll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is beautifully maintained! The lawns are beautiful, the playgrounds are great and the cabin was impeccably clean. But we would never stay there again due to all the petty rules. Where ever one looked there was a notice saying 'Don't do this or don't do that' I think breathing was allowed but I am not certain! Our 18 month old grandson had to wear a wrist tag, as did anyone under twenty one. What if someone under twenty one gets married? Are they still treated as a minor? Due to all the rules we did not feel welcome. No one is allowed to check in until 3pm. At that time a mad house exists at reception where the parking is inadequate.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look onto sweeping lawns and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalayResort, Owner at Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your reply. We pride ourselves on the maintenance of the park, our housekeepers and grounds staff work hard to keep it spotless and we’re glad you found it to be so. We have rules in place as it is a family park and we value the safety of our guests- sometimes some people aren’t as sensible as you’d hope them to be. We have found our wristband policy to be effective; in the cast of a lost child they have proven to be a good initiative. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busselton hotels
1.0 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BIG4 Beachlands Holiday Park
2.8 mi away
RAC Busselton Holiday Park
RAC Busselton Holiday Park
#3 of 19 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park

Property: Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park
Address: 652 Geographe Bay Rd, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mandalay Holiday Resort and Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing