We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located at the start of the jetty, good food and wide selection of beverages”

The Goose Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Busselton
Price range: $22 - $43
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfectly located at the start of the jetty, good food and wide selection of beverages”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited here after a walk on the jetty, so we were a bit peckish after the 3km round trip.

The menu isn't bad, but some things are overpriced for the servings, however all of the dishes they served up were good quality food.

We managed to secure a set outside looking over the beach. It was a 30 degree day and the shade kept the sun off us; nice and cool.

There are cheaper places around, so if you're looking for a quick, cheap bite to eat this probably isn't your thing. But if you've got some time (and money) then I'd recommend this place for lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimsyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    454
    177
    74
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“beautiful view but much to be desired...”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We are locals and reguarly come to the goose, however this last time the service was terrible, this restaurant has a lot going for them being on the beach front and having such a nice venue, however, poor service is enough to ruin an experience. Some of the staff were wearing sunglasses on their head while serving at the tills, talking to each other accross the way whilst serving customers, one waitress had a really dirty shirt being the beginning of the morning i would say came to work dressed this way. The food is good, reasonably priced and the view is spectacular, however, service and staff etiquette needs to be applied in great volume.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DemBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Goose was recommended to us by our hotel and we weren't disappointed. We had dinner on the verandah looking out over the water and it was lovely. The food was very good, we had steaks, ribs, calamari and the spinach and feta fritters - and they were all good. Service was also very good, even though it was super busy - the only downside was having to order drinks at the register while people were also ordering food - this slowed us down a fair bit and we would have drunk more and stayed longer if this wasn't the case. You can do a tab for the table for drinks, but as we were all paying separately that didn't seem like a good solution for us. Still absolutely recommend this place, it's a bit upmarket, but not stuffy and the ambience and the view were excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazy4travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

So very disappointed!! Off oyster, didn't get offered money back or anything!! Sirloin was a plate of Fat! Wine was nice. View amazing! Next time fish n chips on the beach though. We went elsewhere for dessert. Service was ok. Partners seafood chowder was good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Breakfast by the ocean”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had a breakfast with the family one morning at The Goose. The place was pretty busy but still had tables free.
Service was quick after ordering and the meals were pretty good too. Considering the competition around I would say that this is probably the best eatery on that foreshore. The prices were very reasonable, staff were friendly and the view was tremendous!

Only problem I had was I couldn't eat all my breakfast...what a dilemma!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goose Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Busselton, Western Australia
Busselton, Western Australia
 
Busselton, Western Australia
Busselton, Western Australia
 
Busselton, Western Australia
Busselton, Western Australia
 

Been to The Goose Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing