We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely brilliant!”
Review of El Gringo's Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Gringo's Mexican Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I love this place! Great meals, friendly service (& that's hard to get in Busselton!) and just an all round lovely eating experience. I eat here very often and I certantly don't mind the prices. I'll be visiting again very soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    7
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Big portions & high prices”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just had a meal at El Gringo's tonight. It's a Sunday. It took us a while to get over the shock of being charged El Gringo's $5 an adult surcharge. With a family of six (four adults) that is pretty hard to swallow. That's just price gauging in my opinion. Added to this was the high prices for their main meals (around $25). A few extra touches might make those prices more acceptable. Why not offer some complimentary chips and salsa while waiting for meals to arrive? Why not pour the water instead of just giving us a bottle of water? Why not put a little salad or a spoonful of Spanish rice on the plate with the meals (they were "main meals" after all). Little things like that would make a big difference. Other than the other high prices and the lack of extras you would expect elsewhere, the service was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was nice and we enjoyed the music. I just don't think we can afford to bring the family back a second time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maxnhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't take a cake”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had to wait for glasses for our margaritas ,had to ask for more corn chips (3 dips2corn chips) the food was average ,no separate bills ,and best of all $18 dollars to cut a cake for 9 people with a small dollop of cream ,but no spoon to eat it with .GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shocking welcome”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

As we walked in with a group of friends and our two small children we received an extremely rude reception. We had not even sat down and were told that we could not bring our childrens water bottles into the restaurant. The first waitress and then the owner were not polite to us at all. I can appreciate that it would not be appropriate to bring in our own juice (as this would be purchased) but water! As I explained that there would be water all over the table abd ground if my youngest had a cup the owner stated that she still did not allow water bottles. We would have left if it was just us.
(I do have to note the next waitress was very lovely in taking our order).

On the food side - it was nice but over priced.

Is this restaurant the standard to expect in Busselton?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok - nothing special”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A pretty average Mexican Restaurant, nothing to really recomend nor anything to dislike. There is a happy hour most nights and the cocktails aren't too bad.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ger08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gringo's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Busselton, Western Australia
Busselton, Western Australia
 
Busselton, Western Australia
Busselton, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing