We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service”
Review of The Squid Shack

The Squid Shack
Ranked #30 of 131 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Bad Service”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We were staying in a bed and breakfast just a two minute walk from 'The Squid Shack' and had heard good things about the food there from the B & B owner. Upon entering the place 45 minutes prior to closing, we were yelled at by the workers saying 'No! No more! We're backed up! We won't cook for anymore people!" It took a while for us to even realise that we were being yelled at as we had just walked in, but most of the restaurant stopped to stare at us while we stood there trying to process it all. I realise that places get under pressure and busy, but this does not excuse the way we were yelled at from behind the counter when we had barely even walked in the door. If we had been told discretely once we had walked up to the counter would have been acceptable, but for a scene like that to have been caused when all we were trying to do was to get some takeaways and give the place some business was absolutely unacceptable.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    108
    41
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Albany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Is beautiful Spot, but sickly fatty”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I enjoyed the position and the vibe they have, but I must admit I felt a little ill after leaving. Too much oil I think. Good for family purhaps

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What can I say, the food at the squid shack is just fantastic, beautiful crispy batter, salt and pepper squid is to die for. You definitely get your money's worth the serves are huge. Staff ate very friendly and the environment is great, highly recommend the squid shack

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hogans48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You've got to be kidding me”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Seriously? I couldn't understand how this place could get a good review in the first place. The fish was so so (it seem to have an off flavour to it). The chips were awful. and we ordered pepper squid and it came out from the Pacific West box (which I could easily buy and fry it myself). Yes, I saw them taking the boxes out from the freezer (fyi I am a food scientist and have worked in the industry). I wonder why can't they make their own batter and fry it themselves? Obviously those who gave this place top rating have never tried Sweetlips, the best Fish and Chips in WA (and the squids are superb!). My only advice, stay away. A.W.F.U.L

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank PetalingJayaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

What a graet place to eat the best fish and chips in Albany. Fantastic outlook to fishing boat harbour, No better place to eat fish and chips on a sunny day

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swain_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Squid Shack also viewed

 
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to The Squid Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing