We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite expensive for standard fare.”

The Earl of Spencer - Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 131 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Australian, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Here at the earl of spencer, we see ourselves as a family friendly venue. We have a large beer garden that is non smoking, kids play area, live music every saturday from 7pm & Sunday from 5pm and an all day snack menu. Lunch where nothing is over $20 for lighter lunches with an option for something a little more. We have 16 tap beers to choose from. We only sell local wines, which are all from the Great Southern Region. All of our meals area cooked to order, so our moto is, great food takes time.
Port Macquarie
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quite expensive for standard fare.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were left disappointed with our experience at this establishment. The food was ok, but for the cost did not meet our expectations. We could easily have gone to a pub & had the same meals for half the cost.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robjac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    100
    48
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
katanning
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

my inlaws took us here for lunch. it is quite out of the way from town, not a restaurant you would just stumble across. decor is old fashioned english pub style & food to match. our meal was fine, although the chips left alot to be desired. service was a tad off.

Helpful?
1 Thank tahlz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This pub made our trip to Australia awesome!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

While traveling through SW Australia last weekend we met some wonderful people in Denmark at the hotel there. They told us they were going to the Earl of Spencer to hear live music. We ended up staying a block away so we could walk there for lunch and dinner every day and night. The mushroom gravy made from lamb stock was heavenly. The chips were perfect every time. The staff poured pints perfectly and gave excellent advice on which ones to enjoy! My only regret is living on the opposite side of the Earth as I could make this my home forever. If you ever get within a 1000 miles of Albany,WA go to the Earl of Spencer! Andy and Camie Mahkovtz, Fort Myers Beach ,Florida.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank landru63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good times. ”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here today with a bunch of ladies and a few little ones. It was really nice. Great beer garden and tasty food. The bartender was really friendly and professional. Will be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Whiswhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over priced, poor food and poor service.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I came here on the advice of my friends and my mother for their 'Famous' Pie and Pint, after finally getting the menu we where shocked at the prices being told that it was $12 dollars the new owners had raised it to $29, so we got three of them and we got a seafood platter as well. After waiting for our food it finally got out the portion size was not worth the money and but I went with it thinking it must be a good pie, sure enough all three of the pies where bland all you could taste was gravy which I could honestly say a packet of Gravox and a kettle could easily beat. The seafood platter was even worse! Costing $32 we got 4 battered shrimp, 4 bland prawns, 4 pieces of cold and chewy salt and pepper squid, a little piece of fish which was the only decent bit on the plate yet still over cooked and a little bit of chips.

The waitress came and asked us if we would like our desserts immediately, apparently there definition of immediately is 40 minutes, anxious to move on but still waiting for desserts we went to the bar for drinks at which point we were greeted to a very rude bar tender who was very hostile, so we turned around and walked back to our table.

I would recommend any other place in Albany over this, you will get better service and food at KFC.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Earl of Spencer - Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to The Earl of Spencer - Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing