We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but management rude”
Review of Havana Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Havana Villas
Ranked #13 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great location! Chalets OK , whilst they are not luxurious they are clean and comfortable and well equipped. The stay was let down by the staff and management being rude and not helpful. What a shame!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller123959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downunderAlbany, Owner at Havana Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience with our staff while I was away as it is very unusual. I will be following this up as a friendly greeting and helpfulness is so important. Many guests comment on how helpful our front office staff are so I was very surprised to read this comment

I am glad you were able to enjoy the location and hope you enjoyed your stay in Albany

Best Regards

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is chalet style accommodation and it has everything you need.
I stayed in a chalet with sea view and literally two minutes walk from the beach.
It's location is near Emu Point just outside Albany.
The chalets are not luxurious but they are comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartjeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downunderAlbany, Owner at Havana Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our chalets. You have described our chalets exactly as they are, not luxurious, but clean and comfortable

Hope to see you again some day

Best Regards

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Have just stayed for a few days, and it's always a gamble when you take a chance on accommodation, especially when it's definitely not budget priced, but which from the internet looks like it could be budget!!! We were pleasantly surprised from the moment we arrived. The chalets are very clean and comfortable without being luxurious! I'm a very light sleeper and as the chalets have lots of lights for security, but only vertical blinds at the windows, I knew I wouldn't sleep, so my husband covered the windows with blankets and towels (I know I'm weird!). I spoke to the staff the next morning just to ask for something bigger to cover the window, and they immediately went straight out and purchased curtain rods and block-out curtains for us....excellent service which we weren't expecting. There are heaps of barbecues, (some better than others admittedly) and places to sit outdoors too which is lovely as the location is excellent, right near the beach. The undercover cooking area, as well as being a pleasant place to relax, is well stocked with things such as foil, cling wrap, paper plates and towel, most of which I usually pack, but not everyone does! We enjoyed our stay very much, and would highly recommend it. Albany's a great place at any time of the year so well worth checking out the value in the off-peak season when prices are very much cheaper too.

Room Tip: Ocean view chalets are more private and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWanderer009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downunderAlbany, Owner at Havana Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I was more than happy to provide the block-out curtains so you could get a good night's sleep.

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The villas are built independently of others units so you have total privacy. Its very well equipped with utensils, cutlery, bath towels, blankets etc. Just pack your bag and cook your own meals. Beds are very comfortable and blankets are sufficiently warm in cold weather. The entire place is quiet, staffs are wonderful and will provide all the helps you need. Villa is just less than 2 minutes walk to the beach. Only downside is that there is only one bathrooom/shower for one villa, so you have to share with up to 6 person.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_leong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downunderAlbany, Owner at Havana Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for the feedback you have provided for us on your stay at Havana Villas.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

These self contained villas have everthing ud find at home.Its a great location by the beach,only a short 10 minute drive to town.Staff are friendly and helpful.Value for money is excellent and the site is clean and very comfortable, a perfect place to relax. The only thing that i can have a little whine about is the old bbqs, need to be upgraded. Overall i would rate Havanas as excellent, id definatly stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandoraperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downunderAlbany, Owner at Havana Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again.


We have recently replaced most of the BBQs, but I will check myself and see what others need replacing. Thank you for bringing it to my attention

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

For a family of 5, paying $155 per night, this two bedroom self contained villa had no air con, one pedastool fan for the whole villa, no fly screen, a small bar fridge... we stayed here for 9 days and whilst Albany tempretures are supposed to be windy, we had a heat wave almost! So for the amount of money that we pay, there were little facilites, only bbq and wash facilities, no kids areas or playgrounds, whilst the other two parks that connect to Havana villas are jam packed with kid friendly parks, areas and things to do.
Alot of attention is required- unfortunately... we were really looking forward to our family holiday and were sadly disapointed with our accomodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troylonzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downunderAlbany, Owner at Havana Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

We are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and confused that you didn't allow us to address your concerns over the 9 days you stayed with us.

Diane, our helpful office manager, would have moved you to a deluxe unit if she knew you were unhappy with the budget chalet.

It is very rare for Albany to have hot days and being on the beachfront, we catch the afternoon sea breeze. The windows are fitted with fly screens to allow you to catch the breeze. Extra fans are always available from the office

I'm not sure how a 2 door fridge/freezer can be a "small bar fridge"

There is a large grassed area (with swings) that is ideal for ball games etc, and plenty of room between the chalets for kids to play. Our child guests usually quickly form new friendships and have a ball. We also have tennis courts, sand boards, body boards, scooters and bicycles for hire. The park next door welcomes others to play mini-golf etc

We are not a large caravan park and specialise in clean, affordable beachside chalet accommodation. We would have happily refunded so you could move to a park with your requested extras if we were asked.

Finally we think $155 per night for a family of 5 is extremely good value for beach side accommodation in Peak summer season for Albany and @ $100+ per night cheaper than other beachside parks. Especially as you were only charged for 3 people as per your booking request

We have plans for new accommodation units, however we will always cater for families on a budget and keep affordable chalets as requested by our regular guests

I'm am sorry we disappointed you

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Havana villas dec.16 2011... for 4 nights.It is as other reviewers have said excellent value for money. We paid $90 a night(off season) for chalet 17, far end of the site (,a little park for childrenjust 3 mins away from chalet) which was very clean, and consisted of a large lounge/dining room, fridge , cooker, good assortment of kitchen utensils, dvd, fan. heater, plenty of blankets, pillows all very clean, and beautiful white, yes white towels. There was a double bed, and on the other side of the lounge/dining room 4 single bunks...plenty of space for my husband and I.
What is wonderful about the Havana Villas is that it is just a 5 min. walk to the beach, beautiful for an early morning walk, and just 10 mins to Emu Point Cafe( also takeaway) for a delicious breakfast, a very good selection eg. fresh fruit, mueseli....be sure to book if it's on the weekend, as it is a very popular cafe. The beach at Emu Point is great for children, very safe swimming area, grassed area and barbeques.....a beautiful location...even if you're not into swimming it's a great place to relax on the beautiful grass area and look out to the ocean. For the energetic travellers there are bikes to hire at reception, a great bike ride along the coast to Middleton Beach...another great location. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, plenty of tourist brochures...and local info...a must is to visit the Whaling station 15 ks drive from Havana Villas...spend a day there, educational for all ages. great play areas for children..and a great little cafe with the most fabulous views ...if you see nothing else...please visit The Whaling Station. We would definitely stay at Havana Villas on our next trip to Albany..a little dated..yes...but very clean..and really... what great value for money as other reviewers have said ..for such a wonderful peaceful , relaxing location.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet 16 -18 far end of site...nearest to ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubyPerthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downunderAlbany, Owner at Havana Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Havana Villas and look forward to seeing you again.

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
4.2 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Albany
231 reviews
4 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
0.2 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
BIG4 Emu Beach Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Pelicans Albany
Pelicans Albany
#7 of 39 in Albany
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Villas

Address: 16 Firth St, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Price Range: $95 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Havana Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kevan & Julie Wallis, invite you to stay in one of our 17 fully self-contained chalets. Escape the noisy traffic on the highway and come and fall asleep to the sounds of the ocean rolling in - we are only 80m from the beach. Situated in a peaceful garden setting, just 80m from magnificent Emu Beach and a comfortable stroll from the world-class Middleton Bay. The beautiful beachside cycle/walking path starts almost at our doorstep. A large range of bicycles are available for hire on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Havana Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing