We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updates needed!”
Review of Havana Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Havana Villas
Ranked #11 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

For a family of 5, paying $155 per night, this two bedroom self contained villa had no air con, one pedastool fan for the whole villa, no fly screen, a small bar fridge... we stayed here for 9 days and whilst Albany tempretures are supposed to be windy, we had a heat wave almost! So for the amount of money that we pay, there were little facilites, only bbq and wash facilities, no kids areas or playgrounds, whilst the other two parks that connect to Havana villas are jam packed with kid friendly parks, areas and things to do.
Alot of attention is required- unfortunately... we were really looking forward to our family holiday and were sadly disapointed with our accomodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troylonzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downunderAlbany, Owner at Havana Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

We are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and confused that you didn't allow us to address your concerns over the 9 days you stayed with us.

Diane, our helpful office manager, would have moved you to a deluxe unit if she knew you were unhappy with the budget chalet.

It is very rare for Albany to have hot days and being on the beachfront, we catch the afternoon sea breeze. The windows are fitted with fly screens to allow you to catch the breeze. Extra fans are always available from the office

I'm not sure how a 2 door fridge/freezer can be a "small bar fridge"

There is a large grassed area (with swings) that is ideal for ball games etc, and plenty of room between the chalets for kids to play. Our child guests usually quickly form new friendships and have a ball. We also have tennis courts, sand boards, body boards, scooters and bicycles for hire. The park next door welcomes others to play mini-golf etc

We are not a large caravan park and specialise in clean, affordable beachside chalet accommodation. We would have happily refunded so you could move to a park with your requested extras if we were asked.

Finally we think $155 per night for a family of 5 is extremely good value for beach side accommodation in Peak summer season for Albany and @ $100+ per night cheaper than other beachside parks. Especially as you were only charged for 3 people as per your booking request

We have plans for new accommodation units, however we will always cater for families on a budget and keep affordable chalets as requested by our regular guests

I'm am sorry we disappointed you

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 75 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Havana villas dec.16 2011... for 4 nights.It is as other reviewers have said excellent value for money. We paid $90 a night(off season) for chalet 17, far end of the site (,a little park for childrenjust 3 mins away from chalet) which was very clean, and consisted of a large lounge/dining room, fridge , cooker, good assortment of kitchen utensils, dvd, fan. heater, plenty of blankets, pillows all very clean, and beautiful white, yes white towels. There was a double bed, and on the other side of the lounge/dining room 4 single bunks...plenty of space for my husband and I.
What is wonderful about the Havana Villas is that it is just a 5 min. walk to the beach, beautiful for an early morning walk, and just 10 mins to Emu Point Cafe( also takeaway) for a delicious breakfast, a very good selection eg. fresh fruit, mueseli....be sure to book if it's on the weekend, as it is a very popular cafe. The beach at Emu Point is great for children, very safe swimming area, grassed area and barbeques.....a beautiful location...even if you're not into swimming it's a great place to relax on the beautiful grass area and look out to the ocean. For the energetic travellers there are bikes to hire at reception, a great bike ride along the coast to Middleton Beach...another great location. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, plenty of tourist brochures...and local info...a must is to visit the Whaling station 15 ks drive from Havana Villas...spend a day there, educational for all ages. great play areas for children..and a great little cafe with the most fabulous views ...if you see nothing else...please visit The Whaling Station. We would definitely stay at Havana Villas on our next trip to Albany..a little dated..yes...but very clean..and really... what great value for money as other reviewers have said ..for such a wonderful peaceful , relaxing location.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet 16 -18 far end of site...nearest to ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubyPerthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downunderAlbany, Owner at Havana Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Havana Villas and look forward to seeing you again.

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The lady on reception was very nice and helpful and the location is quiet and not too far from town but the villas are really quite grotty. They are old and I appreciate the owners have done what they can with them but our blankets smelt damp and I felt icky after sleeping in the bed.
The water tastes awful as its v limey (a filter jug would have been helpful) and the bathroom was v rundown looking. Glad we were only there a few nights.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GigglePops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downunderAlbany, Owner at Havana Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We do take our guest comments seriously and it does help us now how we are doing.

Thank you also for the compliments on the reception office staff. However, if you had mentioned any of your concerns at the time of your stay, we could have addresses them there and then on the spot. Diane, the lady you spoke to, would have gone out of her way to ensure you were happy with your chalet or offered you alternative accommodation.

I am completely baffled by your comments on the blanket as we only use pure wool on the beds. This is something I am very fussy about - and they are checked at each check-out and dry cleaned regularly. Plus there are at least 6-8 spare blankets in each chalet, plus 3 spare doonas

We would have happily replaced any blanket / doona you weren't happy with

We also have newer accommodation at Harbourside Motel that we could have offered you if we knew you were unhappy with the chalet.

Our chalets were built in the 70's but everything in them from linen to crockery is new and we keep them very clean. Our aim is to provide clean, affordable beach side accommodation for families and groups. Most of our guests appreciate this, plus the extra room and spacing between chalets.

Albany water.........only thing I can say about that is we do have a rainwater tank for those that request rainwater for drinking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

As a family with 2 young kids, it can be hard to find somewhere nice to stay that doesn't cost the earth. The off peak rate for our chalet was $130 per night for 4 of us and gave us the most comfortable queen bed and 4 single bunks. The kitchen/dining/lounge area is clean and has heaps of plates, cups, glasses etc, not just the 4 of each we have been given at other places. A good sized fridge/freezer, full oven and microwave allowed us to cook some of our meals instead of having to eat out all the time. The bathroom was spotless. Although the chalets are getting on a bit, they don't feel dingy and old and for $130 per night, were better than we were expecting! There were LOTS of blankets and pillows so we weren't having to ask for more when the temperature dropped and the heating took the chill off too.

The hosts were just fantastic and made us feel right at home. Nothing was too much bother and they made sure we had everything we needed. There were lots of bbqs and laundry facilities too.

The location is just stunning. We had great views from our chalet of the bay and have been told that you can see whales from the shore during whale watching season. Just magic. Only a 5 min trip into the town centre and the list of things to do including the prices was an added bonus and helped us with planning our days.

We were all very impressed with Havana Villas and will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the chalets with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suec5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

For what we paid, it is an excellent accommodation.
We paid pricier self contained in Fremantle/Perth with mediocre facilities.

The front desk manager was very friendly and helpful, made us feel welcome after a long drive.
The place was very clean. Location is very quiet (that was what we are looking for), and the atmosphere was really cool, magnificent south coast. Coming from the tropical country, we wanted something different from what we have back home, and we found it here. So peaceful. Perth and Fremantle were good, but far too commercial.

2 night stay was not enough. Hope to be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerbauKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

HV is in a great location, its near the beach and good for fishing and swimming outdoors type leisure. If you wanted to stay closer to Albany City this isnt the right accom for you, it is a good 10 - 15 mins away from the City Centre. The rooms are pretty basic, a couple of bunk style beds and 1 queen bed. The decor is dated but it isnt too bad. This is great if you are going in a group of 6+ people as the company is most important! Finally, bathrooms are adequate but nothing fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltedKaramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Emu Point is 3km from the Albany CBD Quiet spot overlooking Middleton Beach Whales came in close to shore in the evenings and hung around - better than doing a whale tour !

Cabin was roomy & comfortable (nothing flash) & staff friendly

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lost_youthBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
4.2 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Albany
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
4 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
BIG4 Emu Beach Holiday Park
3.8 mi away
1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Villas

Address: 16 Firth St, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Price Range: $90 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Havana Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kevan & Julie Wallis, invite you to stay in one of our 17 fully self-contained chalets. Escape the noisy traffic on the highway and come and fall asleep to the sounds of the ocean rolling in - we are only 80m from the beach. Situated in a peaceful garden setting, just 80m from magnificent Emu Beach and a comfortable stroll from the world-class Middleton Bay. The beautiful beachside cycle/walking path starts almost at our doorstep. A large range of bicycles are available for hire on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Havana Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing