We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Chinese!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Moon Restaurant - CLOSED

Shanghai Moon Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Stunning Chinese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

It's not often I would rave about the atmosphere of a Chinese Restaurant, but this place was an unexpected pleasure, with nice decorations and ambient lighting to complement the excellent food. Dare,I say, it was even romantic.
The food was a huge selection of typical Chinese fare, with a few odd unexpected dishes thrown in.
The Desert ( Chocolate Cheesecake ) was simply one of the best desserts I've eaten in a long time , which I shared with my wife.
Would love to visit again when I'm there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    2
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

A rather office-like front hides the delightful restaurant inside. Don't be put off by the autoplay dodgy music, the food is wonderful, tasty and fresh. Kids and adults alike were very pleased with all the selected dishes, particularly the broccoli with ginger and garlic. Service was not intrusive but helpful. Would highly recommend. Great to have a quality place to eat when in Albany.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good chinese food, well cooked, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

had a lovely meal for 9 (5 kids)- food is wel cooked, flavoured, lots of fresh vegs with mains, even broccolli OK with kids!. Service good-prompt, helpful. Overall a very pleasant experience in pleasant ambience (apart from the musak!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So disappointed - and we didn't even get to try the food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Tried to call to order a takeaway on Tuesday night during peak tourist season - could only get their ans machine! Tried 3 times btwn 7 & 8.30 and even left a message for them to call me, but to no avail. Ans machine message said they would be closed till 2 January... As it's the 7th, I have no idea why they weren't answering.
Given that a main takeaway is between $18 & $25 dollars, maybe they are making too much money to need to work at a busy time of the year?
If they are closed Tuesdays, their ans machine message should at least reflect this!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
51Francis, Owner at Shanghai Moon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I'm so sorry your first time was a dissapointment! Our opening times have ALWAYS been Wednesday to Sunday, with Monday & Tuesdays as rest days(despite being tourist season, I beieve in fatigue management for ALL our staff). Our times are clearly marked on our website, and under normal circumstances they are also mentioned on our answering machine. Unfortunately when the message was re-done for the xmas/new year peroid this info was ommitted.
Once again I apologise for the confusion, but there is a link to our website on tripadvisor, and perhaps a little investigation on your part may have resolved your confusion. I sincerely hope that you are not put off from trying us at some future point.
I would also like to point out that our prices for take away range from $13 to $19.50, we have kept these prices the same since opening. As we use only FRESH, LOCAL Asian vegetables (no cabbage, cauluflower like the other Asian restaurants in town) I think our prices are great value for an AUTHENTIC Asian meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My friends and I were in Albany over the weekend and were craving for some Asian/Chinese food. After driving around the city centre, we decided to dine here. Not only the food was great, the service was excellent. Will definitely be back!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassie2013581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Moon Restaurant also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing