We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the hospitality and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albany Bird Park and Marron Farm

Albany Bird Park and Marron Farm
Ranked #27 of 81 things to do in Albany
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in a great location amongst some of Albany's best beaches, rivers and national parks. The Old Marron Farm offers fine south-west dining and activities for the whole family. Nippers Cafe gives you the opportunity to sample farm fresh marron, yabbys and trout, home-made cakes and great coffee. All food tastes catered for, kids partys, sundowners. Take a walk and say hello to, and feed our friendly animals, wander through the huge flight aviary and hand-feed native and exotic birds. Looking for some real excitment?? Take a Segway Adventure Tour. After some training, you can glide through our bush track, open fields and then down to the quarry to test out your new skills. Take a 1 hour ride and each rider receives free animal park entry, and 15% off their total meal cost at Nippers Cafe. 1/2 hour fun tours also available.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the hospitality and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Visited this cafe after a visit to nearby Little Beach. It was a gloomy and wet day. We were the only customer at the cafe. We ordered the Farm Feast for two after reading so much of this platter from tripadvisor; and for the kids, we ordered Chicken Wedge. It was the first time we had marrons and yabbies; and both my wife and I agreed they were delicious and were cooked excellently. The seafood were really fresh. We enjoyed the meal and good service. My wife also mentioned the fries that came with the Chicken Wedge was unique and delicious. All in, the food was excellent and the same goes to the hospitality. We didn't visit the farm as it was still raining after our meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CalvinTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    8
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Farm tour good, cafe experience poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Visited with friends on recommendation from our B. & B. Very busy however cafe experience was pathetic to say the least. Well over an hour for our food, no advice in advance, no apologies for the wait and a split in meals delivery for the 4 of us. The marron platter @ $89 is poor value at best. This is NOT a place I would recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CDAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun afternoon for the Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

A peaceful location, beautiful setting and above all a well designed Animal park that allows the kids to get up close to the stunning birds in the Aviary and other animals around the park.
Café served a nice coffee and cake too which was a bonus.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Over the years we have been here several times with both friends and family. Whilst an occasional wait for food, it has usually been a pleasant experience. The main Marron platter is recommended. However this time we were extremely disappointed.

Easter is a busy time we appreciate which is why we booked for the Tuesday following Easter well in advance. We also specifically requested an inside table (inside the fly wire zone) as we had our elderly father with us. Inside is well protected from any weather. We also pre-booked the marron platter as we have heard of the venue running out of Marron before and it's a long way to come from Perth and miss out.

I also re confirmed the booking just prior to Easter to ensure we were inside.

We arrived to find the inside tables fully occupied. The young waitress acknowledged our booking in the book turned to view the full room and asked a senior staff member if she had put out the reserved signs.

There were 3 bookings in the book, the other two at 1 pm, ours at 12.30 pm today. Unfortunately it appears protocol had not been followed and no reserved signs were in place.

There was no apology, however there were balcony tables available (none suitable for an intimate group of 3). We waited a short time for a table to be cleared. Then sat to review our options. Then the senior lady came over and offered us glasses for our wine and when questioned could not confirm if Marron was available but believed the appropriate gent had gone up to get more from the dam (or some related storage area).

We sat and it was obvious the whole scenario had created a bitter experience. Trying to make good of the fine weather we decided to order. I ordered and paid for the 3 x share platter and casually asked the wait time for food. The young lady said she would find out and let me know. She came back within 5 minutes and advised a 40 minute wait.

Despite looking forward to the platter and wanting our father to enjoy some of the best of local produce our experience had been very much tainted by the poor reaction of staff. The staff were in no way rude, simply poorly trained in service.

I believe we would have stayed had the staff initiated some basic customer service which may have included an immediate apology and offer of perhaps the first available table inside.

We appreciate when venues are busy service can suffer, however, it is how it is dealt with that retains customers.

Whilst I hope we may return one day to this lovely venue, we won't rush back. And the excuse when we decided within minutes of being advised of the wait time to not stay and ask for a refund, that "we have been busy" and basically there was no time to apologise as they were "busy with service" reinforces the establishment needs to move from their current level to train their staff.

It's a great product, great out of town experience. We think it can deliver better service. The stress that I could hear from the kitchen unfortunately appeared to flow through to their staff output. We enjoyed a casual pub meal in town instead.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OngoingVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome day out, young or old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Highly recommend the Segway tour. Brilliant guide who trains you first. Had a brilliant time. Animal and bird park is great, can interact with the animals.
Food in the cafe is lovely

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmySarchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albany Bird Park and Marron Farm also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Albany Bird Park and Marron Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing