We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayview, it will do, just.”
Review of Albany Bayview YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albany Bayview YHA
Ranked #17 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Reviewed June 24, 2013

On a recent trip to Albany Three of us needed a bed for the night and checked in here, it being the cheapest place we could find. For the price, I guess it was OK. I personally, didn't sleep a wink. There seemed to be a nightclub directly under my bed. Due to there no rails on the top bunk (mine) I moved the mattress onto the floor. I got horizontal, but no sleep. The other two guys sharing the room, one was in and out all night getting beers from the cupboard and the other snored like a freight train. Look, you get what you pay for. It was better than sleeping in the car. The showers were clean and hot and the sheets clean. Even got YHA discount and I'm not a member. I would stay there again but I would take ear plugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one !
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Albany Bayview YHA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Not much heart or ambience;
the staff were offsite or away for the majority of the time; the showers were temperamental; there were lots of lodgers so there wasn't really a travelling environment; kitchen cleaning took place during meal times so we were asked to hurry and leave while we were cooking; dishes and utensils were old and worn and not very clean.

It's the complete opposite of 1849 where we stayed the night before.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

first of all, the staff is nice and ready to help. The backpacker has a pool room, a lounge (warm and cosy during this cold and rainy winter) but the kitchen is a little small. The place is quite clean but you only have 3 female and 3 male bathroom that is not enough (but they are clean). Internet is slow but free so it's ok and you have free tea and coffee. The ambience is good, a lot of friendly people live here because they're seasonal workers. We were in a 4 beds dorm, the room was good but the problem with the seasonal workers staying in is that their stuff is everywhere and you have to find out where to place your backpack. As always in dorms, if you have good roommates is ok, if not it could be bad (our came back totally drunk and was not so good). The location is very good, in a quiet street but close to the main street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grise13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great hostel, clean, homely and has a lovely atmosphere. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hostel itself is in a great location within the town.
Our room was a double room with a TV - very comfy and homely. The Kitchen is pretty big and due to the out of season time we stayed in the Albany, it was very quiet. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shootingstar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was in this hostel during 3 month with 3 other friends! Really good hostel, for me it's the best what i saw. Rooms, dorms, kitchen and bathrooms are cleaned EVERY DAYS!

If you are looking for a quiet place, close to the pub and the shopping center (around 10min by foot) this hostel is for you! If you are looking for a job, Stefanie and her staff will help you to find a job! For exemple i'm arrived on the 1st Jan 13' and i started a job in a meat factory on the 2nd!!!! But normally that take 10-15 days to find a job!

DORMS
I was in a 4-beds dorm. This dorm was little but enough for 4 peoples. You can find 1 locker per person and a shelf where you can some stuff!

KITCHEN
In this hostel you can find a good kitchen, enough for cooking what you want. Two oven, two stove and one microwave (i think that one ore two more microwave could be better).

LIVING ROOM
Wonderfull place with a lot of painting on the walls! Good dinner area with 2 big table (around 10 peoples per table), and you can find a huge tv screen where you can put your external hard disk or a DVD!

BATHROOM
There is 3 men shower and two men toilets / 3 female showerand two female toilets. Bathrooms and toilets are really clean.

GARDEN
Good garden area with a BBQ and 3 tables. I spent really good time between friends on this garden!

STAFF
Friendly staff, who try to help you everytime! Honest (yes it's possible in a hostel) and very respectful!

For conclude i spent 3 wonderfull months in this hostel and i earned a lot of money thanks to my job! So a huge THANK YOU to Stef, Jennie, Pete and Denna for everything!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyrl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

First stayed there in 2000 December. ... and been ther a couple of times since then. Current stay in 2013 should a much improved facility for the "Traveller" Kitchen much improved and our twin room upgraded to have a fridge and TV. Management and staff friendly as always. Thank you for a recent stay.

Room Tip: Thebtwin selection was good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjhtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Upon our arrival; the receptionist was most helpful - she went out of her way to get us into the same room. Excellent, friendly service! For backpacker accommodation the facilities were very good - large kitchen, some free food, tea, coffee, dining and tv areas were spacious. We decided to stay another night here.

Room Tip: One of the better places we have stayed, rooms were clean, no bugs/mozzies. No A/C in the rooms - al...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany
3.8 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
0.5 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
0.3 mi away
Six Degrees Hotel
Six Degrees Hotel
#20 of 38 in Albany
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Bayview YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Bayview YHA

Address: 49 Duke St, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Price Range: $47 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albany Bayview YHA 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning YHA hostel in the centre of Albany. Located on a leafy side street in the quiet historical district and still only 3 minutes to York St. The smallest hostel in Albany which makes us the boutique hostel with a friendly atmosphere. Huge stainless steel kitchen. Big 52' flat screen TV. Dorms have free lockers inside the rooms. Double, twin, single and family rooms have a fridge, flat screen TV and harbour views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albany Bayview YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing