We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
17
57
31
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
57
31
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvenient locationcomfortable bedtwin roomnew ownersper nightstayed here for one nighttwo nightsmotelshowerdesksimoneaustraliatoastercrockerybedding
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 119 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2016

After an exceptionally poor experience staying overnight in Augusta at a higher priced motel, we had our reservations about the quality of the Comfort Inn at Albany, especially with it being priced much cheaper than our Augusta motel. Well, on entering our room, we were very surprised with the furnishings, cleanliness, and amenities, and they even supplied tissues. Wow. We actually had air conditoning and we could even use the electric blanket safely at this motel. The bed was very comfortable. Only disappointment was having to contend with a flimsy shower curtain. Please, surely sliding shower doors are available, why not install them. We dined at Shell's Restaurant and both of us ordered Turf and Surf with mash and vegies. Our meal was cooked to perfection with a plentiful serve of food. The bar did not have a large range of spirits available. After our day spent on the road travelling and sight-seeing between Augusta and Albany, we were pleasantly surprised by the presentation of this motel. We both had a good nights rest and refreshed for the next day for exploring Albany before travelling back to Perth. Breakfast was a bit limited but then again, neither of us are big breakfast eaters early in the morning.

Room Tip: Our room only had an RAC but we did not it was overly noisy
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

For the price the room and facilities are very good.
Good size room even had a desk which is great when working away.
The restaurant was interesting. I had soup for starter which was fantastic thought the bread roll was tiny. The main was a different story. I had surf and turf with chips. It was priced as if it would be a quality dinner but it was extremely ordinary. Served on one of those small plates that you usually get at an all you can eat buffet. Small meal and I think the chips were from chicken treat next door, shame.
In summary I would stay here again but would not eat here even though it is convenient being so far out of town (walking if you are having a drink with dinner).
The staff were very helpful and friendly for both the room and restaurant just need to get a new chef.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
Thank Manweb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mother063, Front Office Manager at Best Western The Clarence on Melville, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2016

Thank you for your feed back. We have passed this information on to our chef and he has taken it on board. We would welcome you to try our restaurant again, we trust with a better result.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2016

Very friendly staff, nice room with all needed amenities, no cooking facilities e.g., microwave but got used to this in Australia. Was feeling unwell and restaurant brought meal to the room (I know it's called room service but they were very helpful). Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMCLongmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mother063, Front Office Manager at Best Western The Clarence on Melville, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2016

Thankyou for your feedback. Hope you enjoyed your holiday in Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016

the motel is located on a very busy road, and to drive into the city centre, one has to turn left and go to the next right turn and hope to be able to do a 'u' turn. The restaurant's menu wasnt that wonderful really, and the room service menu along with the breakfast menu was so little - we just didnt bother. The 'delux' room, was not delux - single and a queen bed, usually ensuite, electric jug, coffee cups, teaspoons, glasses, teatowel, & sachets of the usual hot drink stuff, in the fridge were al drinks, chocs, fizz, on shelf were 1 sm bag chips, wine in small bottle, 2x lollie bars - the usual - one had to pay for these, of course.The nightly price was $135.00 - guess we will have to look further a field when we visit Albany again. I guess for $135 per night - this is ok, but calling it a 'delux' room is mis-leading.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raewyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2016

We stayed just one night here. Pulling up we realised the motel was aging. Reception was very friendly (nice touch on giving you a carton of fresh milk to take to room). Yes the room was old, but very clean and undamaged. Working. In housekeeping myself I'm sure I'm more picky and scrutinise everything! But the room, linen and amenities were spotless!
Luckily we stayed a Friday night as they offer a $18 all you can eat buffet. The waitress was extremely welcoming, giving great wine recommendations and bringing us freshly baked garlic bread. But the food was amazing - so good we told the waitress, reception and even found the chef later in the night and told him too! Having been on the road for the past week and eating at some amazing places, this was the best food we had experienced all week!
The place was quiet, very easy to check in and out and would highly recommend! At the price per night we weren't expecting such an amazing experience! If you can look past dated furniture, you will enjoy it! 3 min drive into the heart of town too!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 31 and assume all rooms are this good
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews