We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average rooms.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleepwell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleepwell Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Albany B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average rooms.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in the family room for 3 nights. The rooms are very dated and the double bed was very uncomfortable. The taps leak and there is no fan in the toilet. Hand rail in the bathroom for hand towels are needed.
The tv in the kitchen is a very bad idea. Very uncomfortable watching tv on kitchen chairs. Noisy next to Albany Highway could hear the cars most of the night.
The staff were friendly.
For a family holiday I would recommend somewhere closer to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawley28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
37
33
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

It is a reasonable option for a short stay. I stayed for two nights and I found the service ambivalent. The place looks drab. Our room was also dated and it does need a good refurbishment. However the room was clean, had all the basics, and we got a good night sleep. It is rated as a three star motel and three stars is the most you will get. So with that in mind if you have a function or work commitment in Albany which you will be at all day and you have organised your meals to be at that function or at a friends place whilst visiting and you only need a place to sleep for a night or two then this place might be the place for you. So in the same way I found the service, my overall feeling about this place is ambivalence - "its OK I suppose, but I know there is better to be found in Albany".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarkerBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

For budget accommodation, this place offers a reasonable option for a short stay. While clean, the room was dated and needed a good refurbishment. In particular, the queen bed was saggy and needed replacing.

Overall, the room has all the basic features you would look for and the air conditioning, while old style, works! Continental breakfast was included in our tariff and offered good value as part of the stay.

The motel is a little way out of the city centre, but most of the mid-range and budget accommodation seem to be on a 1 km stretch of the highway between 2-3 km from town. If I were to come through again, I'd look to stay closer to the city centre for convenience.

Room Tip: Room numbers in the high teens are further away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bratsche1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

What to say, half interested staff on check in, room old and in need of a good clean. Restaurant was shut due to "staff holidays". I was informed by business contacts in Albany that the restaurant is lucky to be open. Checked into another hotel for the same price down the road and was a vast improvement over this place.

Better off trying one of the other hotels if your on a budget liek the Amity or Ace.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albany hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Given that this motel is cheap I can't criticise it simply because it's not a 4star! Definite 3 star. The standard rooms are small and although there is bedding for three, it would be very crowded unless the third person is a small child. Obviously built in the 60s and any improvements since then have been confined to covering the swimming pool, rather than redoing the rooms. It's on the highway, but most of the rooms and apartments are well enough away for noise not to be a problem
It has a restaurant (a simple continental breakfast is included in the tariff), but it wasn't open the night we were there. Chef was sick, they told us. Wifi is available for a fee

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very pleasant staff, nice spacious room, swimming pool available, plenty of parking and good value for money.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toby_and_Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stay away from this dump! It's disgusting.
Dirty, old and uncomfortable.
The two owners are rude and behave in a very strange manner.


Horrible place. Looks like something out of a horror movie!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Niddy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Albany
Comfort Inn Albany
#9 of 13 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#4 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepwell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepwell Motel

Property: Sleepwell Motel
Address: 270 Albany Hwy, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia (Formerly Sleep Inn Hospitality)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepwell Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular with couples and families alike looking for affordable Albany, Western Australia motel accommodation, the 3 star Sleepwell Motel (formerly Metro Inn Albany) has an ideal location minutes from the Albany CBD, shops, golf course, beaches, national parks, scenic lookouts and Albany's tourist attractions. Sleepwell Motel is situated just a short drive from the city centre of Albany and only 10km from the Albany Airport.Sleepwell Motel offers a choice of standard and family rooms, plus 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Each of the 60 rooms and apartments feature a flatscreen LCD television with Foxtel (cable TV) and free in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply), air-conditioning/heating, private ensuite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, mini-fridge, toaster, tea and coffee making facilities, STD/IDD telephone and a daily housekeeping service. The apartments in addition feature kitchenettes with cooking facilities. Guest facilities include an indoor heated pool and spa, BBQs, children's playground, tennis court/basketball court, licensed restaurant and bar, room service (limited), meeting and function facilities, tour desk, photocopy and fax service, luggage storage, guest laundry and complimentary on-site car parking with ample space for 4WD's, caravans, buses and tour coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleepwell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing