We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a short stay.”
Review of Sleepwell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleepwell Motel
Ranked #9 of 17 Albany B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It is a reasonable option for a short stay. I stayed for two nights and I found the service ambivalent. The place looks drab. Our room was also dated and it does need a good refurbishment. However the room was clean, had all the basics, and we got a good night sleep. It is rated as a three star motel and three stars is the most you will get. So with that in mind if you have a function or work commitment in Albany which you will be at all day and you have organised your meals to be at that function or at a friends place whilst visiting and you only need a place to sleep for a night or two then this place might be the place for you. So in the same way I found the service, my overall feeling about this place is ambivalence - "its OK I suppose, but I know there is better to be found in Albany".

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarkerBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 117 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

For budget accommodation, this place offers a reasonable option for a short stay. While clean, the room was dated and needed a good refurbishment. In particular, the queen bed was saggy and needed replacing.

Overall, the room has all the basic features you would look for and the air conditioning, while old style, works! Continental breakfast was included in our tariff and offered good value as part of the stay.

The motel is a little way out of the city centre, but most of the mid-range and budget accommodation seem to be on a 1 km stretch of the highway between 2-3 km from town. If I were to come through again, I'd look to stay closer to the city centre for convenience.

Room Tip: Room numbers in the high teens are further away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bratsche1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What to say, half interested staff on check in, room old and in need of a good clean. Restaurant was shut due to "staff holidays". I was informed by business contacts in Albany that the restaurant is lucky to be open. Checked into another hotel for the same price down the road and was a vast improvement over this place.

Better off trying one of the other hotels if your on a budget liek the Amity or Ace.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Given that this motel is cheap I can't criticise it simply because it's not a 4star! Definite 3 star. The standard rooms are small and although there is bedding for three, it would be very crowded unless the third person is a small child. Obviously built in the 60s and any improvements since then have been confined to covering the swimming pool, rather than redoing the rooms. It's on the highway, but most of the rooms and apartments are well enough away for noise not to be a problem
It has a restaurant (a simple continental breakfast is included in the tariff), but it wasn't open the night we were there. Chef was sick, they told us. Wifi is available for a fee

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very pleasant staff, nice spacious room, swimming pool available, plenty of parking and good value for money.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Toby_and_Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stay away from this dump! It's disgusting.
Dirty, old and uncomfortable.
The two owners are rude and behave in a very strange manner.


Horrible place. Looks like something out of a horror movie!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Niddy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Purchased from wotif due to price, but should have paid a little extra to stay elsewhere. Room was smelly, had strong damp, musty smell. Not overly clean with dead cockroach in bathroom. Returned from dinner at about 8pm to make coffee, to find an open milk container in fridge and reception closed and unable to replace.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retro_bogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Albany
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Clarence on Melville
0.2 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
1.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepwell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepwell Motel

Address: 270 Albany Hwy, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia (Formerly Sleep Inn Hospitality)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range: $58 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepwell Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular with couples and families alike looking for affordable Albany Western Australia accommodation, the 3 star Sleepwell Motel (formerly Metro Inn Albany) has an ideal location minutes from the Albany town centre, shops, golf course, beaches, national parks, scenic lookouts and Albany's tourist attractions. The motel is situated just a short drive from the town centre of Albany and only 10km from the Albany Airport. Sleepwell Motel offers a choice of standard and family rooms, plus 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Each of the 60 rooms and apartments feature a flatscreen LCD television with Foxtel (cable TV) and free in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply), air-conditioning/heating, private ensuite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, mini-fridge, toaster, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. The apartments in addition feature kitchenettes with cooking facilities. Baby cots and highchairs are available by request. Guest facilities include an indoor heated pool and spa, BBQs, children's playground, tennis court/basketball court, licensed restaurant and bar, meeting and function facilities, tour desk, photocopy and fax service, luggage storage, guest laundry and complimentary on-site car parking with ample space for 4WDs, caravans, buses and tour coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Sleepwell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing