We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”
Review of Albany Discovery Inn - CLOSED

Albany Discovery Inn
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

never stayed here but called for breakfast a couple of times, food was great . ate in an inside courtyard, friendly couple who run the place, wanted to put a percentage on the bill because paying with credit card so paid by cash, the only thing they need to look at is the toilet situation, if your table is near the toilet block we could hear a guy having a leak while we were aeting , a bit off putting, they need to have self closing doors fitted to the toilet entrance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perthstevePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is good to have some positive feed back along with some feed back on areas we need to work on. So yes we are looking on Self Closers for the toilets.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stodgy food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I couldn't quite put my finger on what was wrong with the food here, but now it realise it was warmed up, pre-heated. I also had breakfast here as I was staying here, but after the first couple of days I went to the local cafe for brekky, much to the disapproval of the owners. There is far better food to be had at the cafes a short walk away - but try not to let the owners see you going there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BellePerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Came across this little 'gem' when we were looking for lunch at 2.30pm (when everywhere we went had stopped serving). This place was more than happy to cater for us and provided a great meal in comfortable surroundings. Very friendly service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
“Nice Casual Eating Restaurant”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed a couple of dinners & lunches while staying here. The food was Fresh, tasty and very nice. The courtyard was nice and casual and the surroundings restful - just what we were after. The staff were very friendly and we did not have to wait long. Good wholesome food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, this place is bad.”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

In no particular order:

1) The food was quite shocking and clearly premade elsewhere and warmed up.
2) The whole restaurant was unairconditioned.
3) An large elderly dog made numerous appearances in the dining area, and had to be shooed out (but not before giving the waiter's hands a good lick).
4) 2% charge for credit cards, totally unadvertised.
5) The tables were sticky
6) Service was very average

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emcgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albany Discovery Inn also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing