We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of Curry Leaf

Curry Leaf
Ranked #4 of 130 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $37
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: It is a new Indian restaurant in Albany, which serves traditional food with a twist in flavor.
Albany, Australia
1 review
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great food, great service and an ideal family friendly restaurant, popular with visitors and locals alike. Highly recommended. Jack

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for an excellent review, as you said it is the locals who keep us going and the support of them has been tremendous during the holiday season, thank you all so much for that.
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    92
    27
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The best Indian restaurant I've been to!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place is a hidden gem, the food is amazing and the service is great, all the staff are very friendly. The only thing I might comment on is that it is hard to find. We saw the sign but didn't realise it was located within the amity apartment building (reception entrance). So maybe they need to advertise their location a bit better. But other than that, simply amazing!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiancaN1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi,
Thank you very much for an excellent review, we are on the process of getting new signs to help guest to locate us easily we are glad that you enjoyed the meal.
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yes - It Is Fine Dining”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Curry Leaf on a recent trip to Albany. There were four adults and four children. We were seated by a polite staff member and the table had a sheet of construction paper in it which allowed the kids (and adults) to draw! The Resturant was very clean and tidy and the decoration was nice and not over the top. There was nice Indian music in the back ground. We were served a round of drinks that we ordered in a timely manner. The men had Kingfisher beer (on the menu as an indian beer although brewed under license in Australia) and the ladies had a lemon lime bitters which apparently had a special ingredient! We ordered a number of dishes and were able to share them buffet style on the table. Entrees were very tasty - spicy onion rings, samosas and chad paptil. this was a great way to start the meal. We had dishes that ranged from mild to medium and they included butter chicken, chicken korma,lentils and beans, cottage cheese in a spinach sauce, lamb dhal, as well as an assortment of naan bread and saffron rice and coconut rice. The dishes were brought out together and were nice and hot. Members of our group feel the meal was authentic and true to taste - I personally haven't eaten a lot of Indian food but did enjoy the butter chicken and the chicken korma. I found that to be my heat level!
The staff were friendly and personable, the toilets were clean, the Resturant was neat and not cluttered and the food delicious. All in all it was a lovely fine dining experience. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi,
Thank you very much for rating us as fine dining and for an excellent review. Such a detailed review and the with the and naming every dish in particular, we are very glad that you had a good time hope to see you again.
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganthan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Curry House in Albany”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lots of vegetarian options and great selection of meat choices.
The food is fresh, not too oily or fatty.
It was busy, which I was pleasantly surprised to see in winter,but TripAdviser must work.
The service was prompt and the employees were all happy to take care of us. They have a great menu for regular dining and we will definitely go back for that sometime. The atmosphere was bright and it was very clean. They have a nice beer and wine menu available.I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for an excellent review we at Curry leaf appreciate the time taken by you to let us know that you had a good time in the restaurant.
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Quite simple, if you go to Albany & do not go to Curry Leaf you lost best part of your Albany experience.
One of the best Indian foods I’ve had eaten since settling in Australia. Super friendly manager & stuff.
Real taste of Indian foods.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhayaderTreaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi,
Thank you very much for an excellent review, we are very glad that you have quoted that Curry leaf is a must to experience in Albany. And yes our manager is very nice and friendly thanks for mentioning it.
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Leaf also viewed

 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Curry Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing