We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal and service”
Review of Curry Leaf

Curry Leaf
Ranked #6 of 133 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $37
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: It is a new Indian restaurant in Albany, which serves traditional food with a twist in flavor.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It is situated in a motel which is located by the Caravan Park. We did not have a booking but dropped in to see if there was room and as one party had just left they could fit us in. There was a good selection of dishes and the waiter offered advice on the dishes. Service was good but by then the other diners had been served. We shared the dishes around and some of our party were Malaysians who do like the Indian food, it meet with their approval.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hi,
Thank you for good review we are glad that the food was of everybody's approval on the table.
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 342 of 391 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We had such a lovely evening here! Great food, attentive service. Even when I tipped over the wine cooler! Lack of split billing no problem! It doesn't have to be an issue!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank oziMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hi,
Thank you for an excellent review, I hope nothing happened when you tipped over the wine cooler.
looking forward to see you again in near future.
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's hard to make a very average motel dining room attractive, but the proprietors here have done a reasonable job. On the night we were there, the room was full of large groups, including ours. We had heard good things about the restaurant and were keen to try it. With a show to get to by 8pm start, time was important. The service was attentive and pleasant, with one waiter using his considerable charm to persuade us to try a couple of things that really weren't as special as he had promised (chilli cola for example). Entrees and mains were generous in size, but not the best Indian food I have eaten. I enjoy saag dishes, but on this night the chicken saag was served in an unattractive oily sauce that lacked the usual appealing green - more black than green, but maybe that was the lighting. After the mains were given to believe that we would be offered a complimentary taste of dessert - more on that later.

At no time was it explained to us that the restaurant could not handle separate billing. By 7.30 we decided that we would skip the 'complimentary' dessert and proceeded to the register to pay. It was disconcerting to say the least to be shooed back to our table and told there would be a 'table bill' that we could divide between us. While we were waiting for this and looking at our watches the dessert arrived. Nice, but not special. I have bought gulab jamun in tins nicer than this one. Eventually the docket arrived - just a strip from the cash register and with time ticking, no possibility of checking its accuracy. We did notice however that we had been charged for the dessert. Conscious that we still had to travel a way and park before the show began, with an uneven number of people at the table and a total that was not easily divisible, and concern about lateness setting in, the easiest thing was for one of our number to use their credit card and the rest of us sort it uot later, Not what we were expecting to have to do at all. Please, if this is your policy please say so, and if you are going to present us with a strip of paper with a number at the end, please at least either provide a calculator or let us know what the table division works out to per head. We won't be back, so the question is academic for us, but it might help others. Not the most positive start to our evening. The show was good though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jayjay163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hi,
Thank you so much for your review.
First off let me apologize for your experience you had in our restaurant. We have changed our policies about split billing after this night and when you are in a time constraint it makes it even tough, but nevertheless that is not to justify what happened.
And the re-commendations made by the manager is not his own opinion it is based on the feedback what we receive from the patrons who dined in the restaurant before.
And before when we present the bill to the table it si triple checked to make sure there is no over or undercharge on the table, so if something was given complimentary to the table it would be definitely complimentary.
The dishes in question is chicken saag and gulab jamun the dessert, are among the best selling dishes and if you didn't enjoy them I am certainly sure that the Chef overlooked something on them and we really apologize again for the same.
We know the question is academic and that you wont return, the split billing policy for other patrons who are going to dine with us in future " We are more than happy to split the bill equally among the number of people on the table, but itemised billing wont be possible, and there would be a $1.00 surcharge if the guest decide to split the bill".
Now the good part of the review.....We are very happy that you enjoyed your show.
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Although this unassuming restaurant is attached to a motel, the food is very good ,service efficient and prices reasonable. It has a large and varied menu and you can either BYO (Bring Your Own alcohol) or purchase from their bar. As with most Aussie restaurants the attire is casual.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hi,
Thank you for the good review and we look forward to serving you again.
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I were invited to the Curry Leaf a few weeks ago with friends for a casual evening and we were impressed with the quality of food and good considerate service, so we decided then that we would visit again.
This time we went back with all our staff for a works doo and again the service was attentive and efficient. When bringing in our own drinks there was no fuss about corkage charges even though they have a wine licence.Champaigne glasses were made available and then Red wine glasses.
They made sure that we were all happy as the evening progressed and towards the end of our meal the chef appeared to ask us if we enjoyed our meal. Taking home an untouched bowl of rice etc was not a problem and although we were the last to leave we were not made to feel that we had over stayed our welcome. What a nice evening we had. Thank You Curry Leaf we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi,
Thank you very much for an excellent review and the time taken to write such a detailed review.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a good evening looking forward to seeing you again, and especially waiting for a visit from ICKY himself for "Where is Icky".
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Leaf also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Curry Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing