We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Indian!”
Review of Curry Leaf

Curry Leaf
Ranked #4 of 130 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $37
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: It is a new Indian restaurant in Albany, which serves traditional food with a twist in flavor.
Dalby, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressive Indian!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Not usually a huge fan of Indian but being in Albany for business and due to the location of the restaurant and the reviews on Trip Advisor I thought I'd give it a try. The food was Excellent, all of the staff seemed more than obliging. I did have a young waiter, who I am fairly certain was very new and didn't know alot about the menu or Indian food in general so I went with the Beef Korma for familiarity. The menu was extensive but very well layed out and every dish I recieved far exceeded my expectations.

I was very impressed to see the chef/owner (assuming) going around to a number of tables throughout the hour I was dining and asking them how their meals were and if they were being looked after by his staff? He was very softly spoken and I was greatly impressed with his polite nature when doing his rounds.

This restaurant is a 9/10 for me. The only downfall to the whole experience is probably the atmosphere. It is quiet and comfy, but I would say a little dated and possibly does not quite do justice to the quality of the food or the service. Overall probably my best Indian experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank queenslandcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for your excellent review. I tend to do my rounds whenever I am not tied to my pans in the kitchen, just to make sure everybody is having an enjoyable experience. As our menu the review is very detailed and a very special thanks for taking that extra bit of time to let us know what could've been better, new staff training policies have been implemented.
On a light note = "staff didn't agree that the Chef is a soft spoken person, because they are the ones who have to deal with him inside the kitchen".
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan(Chef)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    91
    27
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top of the class and top of it's class”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This restaurant has excelled. The food is up there in the best for an Indian restaurant. The service is fantastic from the chef and his lovely wife to the waitresses: they are there to make your evening the best experience: caring, friedly, responsive and professional. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this Indian restaurant as the best in town and to not try it is miss out on the best. Thank you all at curry leaf

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mim2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hi,
Thank you very much for your excellent review for the recommendation. We are very satisfied to see detailed reviews written.
Regards,
Venkatesh Ranganathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Satisfaction”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Want somewhere cheap with excellent food, awesome atmosphere, lovely staff and a very sociable and interested chef for your evening meal? Then this is it!! Nothing is ever too much trouble for any of them - even when they are busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for your excellent review and for the time taken to write the review. Good value for money, awesome atmosphere, good service and food would do wonders. We are happy to hear that you had a good time and looking forward to see you again in near future.

Regards,

Venkatesh Ranganathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The nicest Indian food ever :)”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Came in on thursday night and the food was to die for. Also ur young girl waitress is a really nice, polite and excellent work. Her name is Sarah. Very nice and u should be proud of ur self and ur staff :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasonGalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hi Jason,
Thank you so much for an excellent review, Yes we are very proud about the food and service in our restaurant thanks again for emphasising that.
Regards,

Venkatesh Ranganathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Something for the vegetarians”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

In late 2011, we were in Albany for a project and found it very difficult to get vegetarian food in the evenings. With no cooking facilities in our motel room, we got pretty sick of the godawful takeaway available on the main street every night. On our last night we found The Curry Leaf thanks to TripAdvisor and had a delightful meal. Even as vegetarians, there were many choices available. The food was inexpensive and delicious - as good as any Indian food we've had anywhere in Australia. We're heading back to Albany again for projects a few times this year and I think we'll be eating here most nights we're there :)

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VJzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenkateshRanganathan, Owner at Curry Leaf, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi,

Thank you very much for the excellent review, It is very good to see reviews like these and with photos too. Looking forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Venaktesh Ranganathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Leaf also viewed

 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Curry Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing