We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second stay after visiting Wave Rock/Hyden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany
Ranked #3 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great place, lovely people, FREE BBQ ;-) on sundays, everything you need, FREE WIFI is great!, highly recommended by me!! See you next time!!

Room Tip: My room was great - guess all others are the same!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanWeber9696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 266 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Surprised this place hasnt got more reviews. My boyfriend and I stayed for one night in a double room. Although the building may be old, this hostel is clean and great value for money. The staff here, especially Danny could not have been more welcoming. On arrival he gave us a tour of the whole place and was extremely helpful in informing us of the local attractions. Facilties are excellent such as free wifi and foxtel. Would definitely recommend. Definitely the most friendly hostel I have stayed in during my 2 years in Oz, as soon as you arrive ur made feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niamh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I hope you're having a superb time in Australia still! Safe travels, Danny and Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed here in 2010 when it was still under renno. I believe its fully
Furnished already by now as I saw some pics on their Facebook page. Rob is still running the place and he is very friendly :) I stayed in one of the 6 bedder room. The view from my room is gorgeous. Albany has this very country and vintage sort of feel which I don't get in a city like Singapore and 1849 backpackers blends in with its surroundings very well, it's not one of those tall modern looking buildings sticking out from nowhere. Loved it! My experience in Albany was awesome if not for these guys. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoyceL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

A nice place, clean rooms, fair price. Excellent bed and shower and exceptional service. Nothing to claim!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helderfarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I arrived off the Bibbulmun Track sore and tired and the staff really looked after me. The facilities were clean and well organised and the location was close to everything. I would highly recommend this backpacker to any bib trekker.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

stayed for 1 night in a double room, staff fantastic, room spotless, good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leenewst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Joaquín d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
0.4 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Six Degrees Hotel
Six Degrees Hotel
#20 of 38 in Albany
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#5 of 13 in Albany
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany

Address: 45 Peels Pl | (Gps Address: 49 Peels Place), Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Price Range: $24 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1849 Is WA's 5-Star Backpackers, the only Albany hostel featured in the latest Lonely Planet and winner of TripAdvisor's award for Excellence the last FOUR years. We'll provide the comfort and security in a beautifully looked after hotel, to ensure your stay with us is memorable. Unique features include FREE, fast, unlimited WiFi, FREE delicious unlimited pancakes made for you each morning, a grass four a side soccer pitch and volleyball court, games room, free bikes AND a theatre with stage, stage lighting, piano, guitars and percussion instruments for you to jam and practice with. Large screen TV in the lounge with FOXTEL and SETANTA, ensuring all matches in the European league season are available free to guests. 1849 Backpackers is also the perfect, comfortable start and finish point for the Bibbulmun Track and Munda Biddi Trail. Plenty of lock up bike space inside, a free cold drink to everyone coming off either of these tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing