We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morrison Cottage, Albany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
My Place Colonial Accommodation
Ranked #5 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Morrison Cottage, Albany”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Morrison Cottage was just right for a 'cool' family Christmas break from Perth. Sort of home away from home (without a dishwasher). Gorgeous little garden, very well maintained. Hours spent reading and socialising on the balcony - walking distance to town, driving distance to many other attractions including Middleton Beach, Emu Point, Bibbulmun Track. Yes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    76
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
73
120
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This boutique hotel is located a short walk from the main drag in Albany, WA. We (my parents and I) had a very good stay, with no major complaints. It was quiet (even on New Years Eve) and well appointed with kitchenette. We stayed in one really lovely room, but had to move to a second room as the first was booked after our first night. The second room was a little more pokey, but cheaper, and quite hot (it was December). We only had a fan in the second room, which simply circulated hot air around. Overall, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went to Albany for a break after the Christmas rush. Stayed in a two bedroom apartment at the back of the property. It was very well setout with two seperate bathrooms and bedrooms. the kitchen and living area being in the middle and a small deck outside.
It was very clean well furnished.
It was within walking distance to the town centre. Very relaxing and well worth a visit. again I will visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a quaint little place. Very convenient to walk to the main street and shops and there is parking on the premises in front of the building, but if four large cars were parked at the front I think it would be very difficult to exit! Our room was at the front of the building - not a lot of privacy if you chose to leave the main entry sliding door open. Our room included a very squeaky and noisy old bed, and small dining table with chairs, and kitchen, all in the one area. Quite a cramped area by the time suitcases are included. The separate bathroom was located via a separate door and storage cupboard area ...yes, very quaint. The TV was tiny. There is wifi available with a password code given by the receptionist.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZIAS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyPlaceColonial, Owner at My Place Colonial Accommodation, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review as feedback is always welcome. I have endeavoured to fix the squeak in the bed by tightening up the nuts which had worked a bit loose. It is very frustrating as it was an extremely expensive reproduction bedframe made to look antique, I am glad that most of our beds are ensembles. The privacy issue with this studio is something that we have tried to address by installing the lace privacy curtain, but I do agree that it isn't as private as our other apartments. As it is a small unit we opted for a smaller flat screen television, but again I agree with you that we could have definately selected a bigger
model.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Went to Albany for work. Shared a two bedroom apartment at the back of this property, which was extremely well resourced. Kitchen, cooking utensils, cultlery, crockery.

Decorations kept in Colonial style, which is not really my taste, but it was very functional for my visit. I could also see it as a good family holiday base.

Located on Grey St east, very close to main street and restaurants.

Another colleague stayed in a smaller room, also very good, and it was available even for early check in.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartment at the back has a great terrace overlooking lawned bbq area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DE1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyPlaceColonial, Owner at My Place Colonial Accommodation, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review, feed back is always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Morrison Cottage again this year and loved it. We have stayed there for the last four years. It's really welcoming with a 'holiday house' feel. Everything is clean and tidy and the property is convenient to town and Albany's many attractions.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eleanor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyPlaceColonial, Manager at My Place Colonial Accommodation, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It is always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay at Morrison Cottage, as it certainly a unique property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I wanted to catch up with friends near Albany. We selected My Place with some apprehension, but it turned out to be ideal. Situated within walking distance of the centre of Albany enabled us to enjoy this historic town without any traffic hastles. Even the studio we stayed in had a dedicated parking spot. The studio itself had everything we needed and more, right down to milk and biscuits for a coffee and tea after the travelling. The host was very welcoming and the studio was presented in very clean condition. A small amount of noise from a neighbouring room was the only detraction.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnedayJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyPlaceColonial, Manager at My Place Colonial Accommodation, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is always wonderful to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
0.2 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
3.4 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany
1.2 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
1.7 mi away
BIG4 Middleton Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Place Colonial Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place Colonial Accommodation

Property: My Place Colonial Accommodation
Address: 47-61 Grey St E, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — My Place Colonial Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Place offers old world charm self contained and catering accommodation in the heart of Albany, Western Australia, with most of the building dating back to the 1900's. Each room is unique in character and all units have modern conveniences.You are invited to relax at "My Place" as you enjoy the beautiful surrounds of Albany. My Place is conveniently located just a 2 minutes stroll to the Albany town centre where you can find cafes, specialty shops, restaurants,banks, post office, supermarkets, bus stop and visitors centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your My Place Colonial Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing