We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied-comfortable room, obliging hosts, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 18 Albany B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My friend and I were very satisfied with our experience at this B & B. The hosts were very hospitable, helpful and obliging. They even went to Emu Point to retrieve a lost cap for me and then mailed it to me at their own expense! I was extremely impressed with that-that's what I would call 'going the extra mile'.Those little personal touches are what you remember about a place.

Also the room was spacious and comfortable. The covered patio area was an enjoyable if unexpected feature and gave the feeling of extra 'roominess'

The lovely breakfast overlooking the harbour was also a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARGARET D, Owner at Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

These two ladies were an absolute joy to have. The hat was obviously an old favourite - no trouble at all to go and pick it up. We hope they come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 40 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

I see a few people found the owners unwelcoming. They were the rudest people I have ever met. It was an unpleasant experience from when we rang to say we were arriving at 7pm and were told that it didn't suit as that was when they had dinner. We rang them again to say we'd come at 9pm so as not to disturb their dinner.
The next day we saw on another website that they didn't take arrivals after 6pm. We had booked on wotif and paid $395 upfront (unrefundable) totally ignorant of their no after 6pm arrival rule in the fine print.
Why didn't they tell us when we rang from Perth at 3:30pm that they don't take after 6pm arrivals?
If they didn't want to be disturbed after 6pm why didn't they say 'We don't wish to be disturbed after 6pm. Thank-you for your upfront payment. We have left the key x, your room can be found x, please be quiet when you enter and we'll see you tomorrow-enjoy your stay.'
They also left a nasty phone message 15 minutes after our due arrival time because we were late. We were sorry we didn't answer. The only time we left our phone was after driving around the suburb for 15 minutes trying to find the location when we went back to the map outside the tourist information centre to check again where to go.
Thankfully we found lovely accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank unhappy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARGARET D, Owner at Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

As mentioned in the press recently accommodation operators do not have a leg to stand on when reviews such as this are printed it is very detrimental to your business and there are always 2 sides to any story. These people obviously had some domestic problems as she was out of control when she arrived at 9.45pm. She refused to get out of the car and jumped into the driving seat to try and take off. Her husband was very apologetic and tried to calm her down but to no avail. It was a most unpleasant experience and she did ring and apologise for her behaviour about half hour later. We have over 600 guests per year - 99% are very nice and considerate. Our policies on all travel sites do state that arrivals after 6.30pm must be arranged with owner and the latest time for arrival is 8pm. Wotif were advised of these problem guests next morning. We have a 48Hr. cancellation policy and I agreed to allow Wotif to refund them 1 night's accommodation. Incidently we do not get paid until December.
I would point out that they could not possibly show a review for our rooms as they did not enter the premises. I would not have these people back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Absolutely loved this B&B, it was exactly what a B&B should be like - friendly, personal and welcoming. Probably the best place we stayed in during a 2 weeks trip across the country.
First the rooms - we stayed in Suite 2 which is underneath the breakfast area. The room was warm, well furnished, clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed and we could have happily stayed here much longer.
The location - 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk into the central area of town - Had a wonderful dinner at Nonna's on York Street, we had found the menu in the guest compendium at the B&B and we were delighted to find out later on that it was a favourite restaurant of my in laws over 20 years ealier!
The hosts - Absolutely loved Margaret and Lew. They took the time to chat and get to know us a bit whilst they were checking us in, and told us all about themselves too. This makes a big difference when staying somewhere like this and we were delighted to be made to feel so welcome. In regards to the noise, yes there is some, as the hosts are making YOUR breakfast which is kindly included in the price of the room (And a marvellous breakfast it is too by the way) It didn't bother us at all as we were already up and about ... who wants to sleep in on holiday anyway? Get out there and enjoy I reckon!
Highly recommend this place for the personal touches and the warm welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you like a traditional B and B, you will love Albany View Street Lodge. We have been visiting Albany for over 10 years and would not stay anywhere else. All the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, with every amenity you could need. We love the tasty cooked brekfasts and that it is walking distance into Albany town. The owners, Margaret and Lew could not be more pleasant and helpful. For a relaxing break in Albany we would definately recomend Albany View Street Lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good but room 3 has garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I'm happy to report that despite being a light sleeper I didn't notice any unwelcome noise and the bed was truly comfortable! The ambience was quiet and peaceful throughout my stay. More importantly I was made to feel very welcome by my hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very nice and the room had everything in it that I needed. In my opinion, the convenient location and the value for money will far outweigh any issues people might have with personal decor tastes. Thank you Margaret and Lew.
Nick

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creativepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

stayed for 3 nights- rooms basic , dated and lacks the welcome feel but it was adequate. breakfast good , last sitting is 8.15am. Thats ok as you can't sleep-in anyway once the owners start moving around as they are right overhead the rooms, can start as early as 5.30am.
all 3 rooms are underneath the main living areas.

Room Tip: not sure if there is a better choice of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DolB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARGARET D, Owner at Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Again it is hard to respond unless we know a name and can work out which suite they stayed in. Comment "last sitting is at 8.15am" - If they read the breakfast menu form they are given that is the latest time for a "cooked breakfast" . We try to be extremely organised & stagger individual guest's breakfast times as we have an extensive menu and like to serve it to a top standard.
Cannot understand who it could be who travelled with family as we don't cater for families.
We do explain to guests that we are one level at road level and two at the rear and the 3 guest suites are on the lower level. Upstairs has wooden floors that are carpeted(but they do creak sometimes) and we make every endeavour to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum. Suite 1 is under the kitchen and as there is quite a bit of prep. work early morning then that suite would have the most noise.
The main point is guests are getting VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY as we keep our TARIFFS DOWN!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Albany View Street Lodge is located in an older part of Albany half way up a hill. Margaret ,one of the owners, is an artist with a gallery of colorful and creative paintings at the entrance of the accommodation. We stayed in Room 3 which was clean, light and functional. Outside the unit was a table and 2 chairs, many potplants and a well tended garden. Breakfasts were served by Lew and Margaret and there was plenty of choices of tasty food. The breakfast room is very tranquil with good views of Albany. The only negative about the whole stay is the noise from the dining room upstairs in the morning. Overall it was a very relaxing stay with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARGARET D, Owner at Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Comments noted but it would be handy to have a name in order to obtain more information as to how we can improve - we do our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.6 mi away
Albany Foreshore Guest House
3.2 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 18 in Albany
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Big Grove Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Three Chimneys B&B
Three Chimneys B&B
#4 of 18 in Albany
32 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saltair B & B
Saltair B & B
#5 of 18 in Albany
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 35 View St, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range: $101 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a Bed & Breakfast catering for a maximum of 6 adults. The guest suites are located on the lower level and each has its own entrance. At the present time guests come upstairs into the sunroom (with views of Albany's natural harbour) where they are served breakfast. Two of the guest suites have kitchenettes. Reception forms part of the owner's Art Studio & Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing