We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watery panorama”
Review of Emu Point Cafe

Emu Point Cafe
Ranked #3 of 130 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Watery panorama”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Reasonable choice including vegetarian options, food rather pricey yet tasty and servings adequate (expected more considering price) Worth visiting for view....better places to eat, can't comment of coffee as we didn't try it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feelingr00vy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    146
    29
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Decent steak sandwich and fantastic location.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This cafe has an amazing location, right on Emu Point with views of Oyster Harbour and the channel. We went for lunch on a cold winter's day and it was a good choice. I shared a steak sandwich and it was ample for 2 people. It was a decent steak sandwich (not as good as the one at Whale World, but still good). My daughter had the burger which was huge. Their seasoned chips are delicious and their coffee is pretty good. We had to ask the staff to clean the table before we sat down, but the service was friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Staff issues ... still”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

There is nothing inherently wrong with the food or drinks here, but you need to train your staff. If there are two people ordering at the counter, the staff should care enough to question that they have only taken an order for one. This is not the first time this has happened here.

At the very least - repeat the order back to the customer, at least that way we will know you've got it wrong.

We'll probably leave it another 12 months before we can be bothered trying again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wombatrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good food & cosy on a winters day”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just back from a very nice lunch at Emu Point Cafe on a dreary winters day.
The food was very good & plentiful although on the higher priced side compared to other eateries of this type in Albany. I have been attending this establishment for nearly 20 years & since new owners took it over a few years ago it has flourished.
The cafe took over the space once occupied by a Japanese restaurant in the same building & this has allowed them to provide more seating within the old restaurant as well as being able to provide al fresco dining on the veranda,(although today it was very wet & patrons mostly preferred to dine inside.)
The location of this cafe is probably the best in Albany, being sited adjacent to a treed, grassy picnic area on the edge of the water. In summer this area is teeming with locals & visitors alike, & the cafe provides take away food & drinks to cater for those who prefer to enjoy the beach atmosphere. In winter the take away part is usually closed which is a shame because there are many elderly locals who used to visit this establishment who can no longer afford the prices charged, even though the food is probably as cheap as most eateries in the larger cities.
As a comparison, I had a hamburger in this cafe today which cost $21.50. I then paid another $5.30 for a cappucino.
In another franchised cafe (Dome) in town yesterday I purchased basically the same & the total came to $21 being $16.50 for a burger & chips plus a cappucino. I will admit that the difference between the burgers was considerable but my only criticism of the burger today was the presentation which was spectacular but totally unnecessary, given that it was served on a breadboard & not a plate. The burger was loaded with all the nice goodies but I was faced with the problem of how to eat it without it spreading all over the table (see picture )
I have found this pretentiousness invading most of the eateries in Albany in recent years. I assume it is a direct result of the cooking shows on TV & it seems that we are being manipulated into paying big bucks for 'fluff'
Having said that, I have no hesitation in recommending this cafe to visitors to our town because of its location, ambiance & quality of its food. I would also like to advise the owners that the signage on the gable wall is very old & faded & not really in keeping with the image they are trying to project.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougFromAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view and even better food! ”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here to have breakfast. Coffee was good, and meals very delicious and filling! You get your money's worth! Service was notably fast- although it was early on a Friday morning. I hope to come here again!!

Helpful?
Thank Sarahkverreault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emu Point Cafe also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Emu Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing