We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat”
Review of Saltair B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saltair B & B
Ranked #5 of 18 Albany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We check out tommorrow, and will hate that we have to do it.
Saltair is the perfect place to come back to at the end of each busy day spent exploring the wonderland that is Albany & it's surrounds.
We stayed in suite 1, it is a spacious well provisioned and well finished. The bed is very comfortable, the bathroom stylish and functional and my wife enjoyed the spa bath.
The hosts are barely present yet clearly within reach if needed, the perfect arrangement.
We have enjoyed our breakfast each morning, left and the spent the day exploring to return to a freshly cleaned room, the perfect place to unwind.
We would and will highly recommend Saltair to any of our friends, as long as they have a car as it is well out of easy walking distance to town...
The only gripe I have is so easy to fix I don't know why it hasn't been done, the three units verandahs have some visibility of each other, less than ideal and something a $10 bamboo screen would fix with 10 minutes work.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank landth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 88 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights at Saltair on our first time in Albany. We're very happy with our choice as the hosts Carolyn and Mark unobtrusively run a very high standard place. No lack of thought on the little extras that matter....DVD/books/magazines, foxtel in room, access to laptop, quality breakfast with newspaper thrown in. Apartments are very clean and well appointed with nice views and located in a classy part of Albany at Middleton Beach. Only small negative comment is open showers are a pain with water going all over the floor!! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbourneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very well designed and executed accommodation with unobtrusive hosts. Didn't have the weather to make use of the bbq but enjoyed the ever-changing gourmet breakfasts. Access down a steep slope and the residential location apart, this an excellent B&B and strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at Saltair for the third time just before Easter. We just keep coming back, we love the view, the location, the layout, the ambiance and especially the breakfasts - which are a wonderful combination of fresh local produce, healthy offerings and a touch of gourmet. We especially like the host arrangement, where you know they are there if you need them, but they are not omnipresent. Our only very, very small gripes were that one of the other guests ran off with the menu to the restaurant we were interested in for the nights meal ( well, you can't control that can you) and if you don't feel like driving after a long day hiking in the magnificent hinterland, the places within walking distance can be shut, depending on the day of the week and/or rather pricey. It is however a lovely, relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Units 1 and 3 are probably the best, as they only have one adjoining wall. Unit 3 would be the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank poodlewars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a lovely comfortable stay. Caroline our hostess is extremely helpful and friendly. The room is beautiful, very elegant and private. Sitting on the outside balcony one can hear the ocean, birds twittering and just a lovely calm feel. Breakfast delivered to one's bedroom is such a treat. What a gem!

1  Thank TempusFugit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a lovely comfortable stay. Caroline our hostess is extremely helpful, friendly and very organised. The room is beautiful, very elegant and private. Sitting on the outside balcony one can hear the ocean, birds twittering and just a lovely calm feel. Breakfast delivered to one's bedroom is such a treat. Well furnished, quality fittings, neat and tidy, simple and elegant.
What a gem!

Room Tip: All three rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TempusFugit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We never saw our hosts here but we never needed to. Everything we organised immaculately and worked efficiently. Detailed instructions were left for our arrival and the room was beautiful. Balcony unusable due to the weather but great views. Our preselected breakfast choice arrived on schedule and it was even possible to watch TV from the bath via a sliding window - complete with glass of wine of course. Plenty of room and very comfortable surroundings. If you intend to be an absentee host (albeit providing contact information if required) this is the way to do it. Brilliant. The only difficulty we had was in finding the place. Better directions please from a strangers point of view

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianW0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzwilly, Owner at Saltair B & B, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hi Brian,
Thanks your for your lovely review, we are very pleased you had such an enjoyable experience. We are sorry you had trouble finding Saltair. We thought the written directions and accompanying map provided in the confirmation e-mail made it easy for people to find us. We are keen to hear any suggestions for improvement.
Regards
Carolyn and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.7 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 18 in Albany
410 reviews
2.8 mi away
HideAway Haven
HideAway Haven
#2 of 18 in Albany
217 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Albany Foreshore Guest House
3.1 mi away
Harbourside Motel
Harbourside Motel
#4 of 18 in Albany
37 reviews
1 mi away
Dunmoylen House
Dunmoylen House
#6 of 18 in Albany
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltair B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltair B & B

Address: 56 Wylie Crescent, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range: $124 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saltair is a 100% smoke free establishment.Saltair is set high on the side of Mount Clarence and affords spectacular views of Middleton Beach and surrounds. Luxury is afforded in all details of the three architecturally designed open plan suites, from underfloor heating to private balconies. Foxtel, wall mounted LCD TV and DVD CD players in each suite. Bose ipod dock in Suite 1. The suites have been designed as a retreat for our adult guests and as such children and infants cannot be accommodated. Our gourmet Saltair breakfasts will ensure your day starts in the best possible way. Pod coffee machines supplement complimentary tea, coffee & chocolate drinks. Our breakfasts showcase local produce and home cooking. Enjoy fresh juice, smoothies, home baked mueslies, conserves and breads, at your leisure and in the comfort of your suite. Suites are serviced daily.Approximately 3 kms from the CBD; an eight minute walk to Middleton Beach and a two minute walk to the Mounts Adelaide and Clarence walk trails. The National Anzac Centre is an 800 metre walk up the hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Saltair B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing